Canadian Cyclist


March 16/10 9:26 am - Escape Velocity's dEVo Spring Series Weekend 2

Posted by Editoress on 03/16/10

dEVo Spring Series Weekend #2, March 13 & 14 in Langley BC

Saturday: Zero & 232nd


Although the weather was grim in Vancouver, not a single drop of rain fell on the rolling and winding South Langley course.  150 riders over five categories showed up to test their mettle against the best in the Pacific Northwest.

The Novice group was the largest ever recorded for a Spring Series race with close to thirty riders, with over half pinning on a number for the first time in their cycling careers.  Team Coastal’s Jin Kim took the win over U17 racer and dEVo recruit Jonathan Harrison and Bevan Moss.  Shin Kin and Mauro Gazzola rounded out the top 5.  Starting shortly after the Novice was the Youth race led by coach (and father) Tobin Copley.  Smiles and sprints were aplenty as Kevin Um took the win.  10 year-old Margaret Ovenell nudged by her father by a 24” tire to take second place.  Well done Youth riders!

The C group was a fast-paced affair ending in a gruelling uphill bunch sprint to the finish with Escape Velocity’s own John Livingstone winning convincingly over Prince George Cycling Club’s Matt Thomson and Dave Richardson.  Stephen Andrichuk (Cycle Meisters) and Ken den Braber (Ride4Life) rounded out the top five, with Andrichuk taking top honours in the “loudest cycling kit design” category.

The B group was aggressive from the start with constant attacks and counter-attacks.  Team Coastal racers asserted their dominance with an excellent team performance and a repeat win for Scott Inman over dEVo rouleur and overall strongman Fergus Lavelle, and young gun Kyle Buckosky (Team Coastal).  Jason Kilmartin (Balance Point Racing) and another young gun Graham Laurie (Phoenix Velo) rounded out the top five.

The A group was dominated by a break from the gun that dangled in front of the main pack often being driven by Andrew Pinfold (United Healthcare Kuota) and changed composition more than once.  One name that factored in every move was Garneau Evolution’s Andrew Kyle who eventually took a thrilling sprint over the young veteran Marsh Cooper (Trek Red Truck).  The splintered group behind was led by Rory McAdams (Glotman Simpson), with Shane Savage and Basse Clement (Mighty Rider’s) rounding out the top five.

Sunday: Armstrong


Once again the dry weather remained for the infamous Armstrong course.  This 7.5km circuit features an arduous 2km climb up Armstrong Road that punishes the weak without remorse and rewards the strong.

The C group was animated with a superb solo attack from two laps out by dEVo’s own Jordan Maynard, who finished over two minutes ahead of the sprint for second won by Kerry White (Team Coastal) over Stephen Andrichuk (Cycle Meisters).  Dan Bedard (Pronce George CC) and Jonathan Harrison (dEVo) rounded out the top five.

The B group was aggressive again with Team Coastal looking to make it 3-for-3.  Young gun and climber-extraordinaire Kyle Buckosky did not disappoint and came out with the win.  Remember that name as you’ll be seeing much more of this talented rider in the future.  Stephen Ushy (balance Point Racing) was second, followed by another young gun Devan McClelland (Trek Red Truck).  Rusty Dodge (Fanatik Bike Co.) and Richard Machhein rounded out the top five.

The Armstrong climb scared many A racers away, and the start list had only 25 signatures.  There was nowhere to hide and the aggressors were rewarded with Total Restoration rider and Canadian National Track Team member Tim Shertobitoff taking the win solo over a chasing Tyler Trace (Trek Red Truck).  Young veteran Marsh Cooper (Trek Red Truck) capped off a solid weekend with third, followed by Cyrus Kangarloo (Total Restoration) and Sebastian Salas (H&R Block).

Thanks to all the volunteers who made the races happen this weekend.  This coming weekend sees a somewhat new course at Aldergrove Lake on Saturday followed by the constantly rolling Bradner course on Sunday.

Team Escape Velocity press release


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.