Canadian Cyclist


August 18/99 7:10 am - Mississauga Results, Maritime Races, Development Program, Euro Results

Posted by Editor on 08/18/99

Mississauga Midweek Novice Series

Event #16 August 16 1999

17 Laps- 1 Team lap, 1 Warm-up lap
Avg Speed 38.2 kph
22 Starters, 21 Finishers

Sweeper: Drew Harvie
Rabbit: Pierre & friend
Helpers: Peter Hurley & son (not Brendan), Lorne Thompson & son Dan
Team Organizer: Geoff Archbold
Registration & Timekeeping: Tina Mayberry

Apologies for missed places- but everyone was asked to speak up to help verify the finish order!

#24 Benjamin, Wilbert
#44 Pasiak, Gordon
#14 ??

#86 Dave Pinder
# 7 ???
# 9 ???

Position # Team Name
1 24 Red Wilbert Benjamin
2 27 Red Amit Ghosh
3 91 Black Mustaphe Jamal
4 30 Red Ryan De Boer
5 11 Black Pat Malavi
***These positions have been confirmed; 6-10 are sketchy∑

6? 86 Red Dave Pinder
7? 12 Black Derek Parsons
8? 19 Black Gary Hirsch
9 ???????
10 ???????

NB Provincial MTB Championships
(courtesy Dave Macfarlane)

The New Brunswick Provincial Mountain Bike Championships will take place at Rookwood Park in Saint John on Sunday August 22, 1999. We are anticipating a good turnout for this big event presented by Team Alternatives. The event will also be race # 8 in the nine event 1999 NB Tel Mobility Mountain Bike Series. Full race details can be found on the Velo NB web site (

Dave Macfarlane
Velo NB

Nova Scotia MTB Race
(courtesy Craig Crocker)

This Sunday Aug.22 The Swashbuckler Classic Mountain Bike Race will take place at MARC, Dayspring, Nova Scotia. For more information contact Al Heubach (902) 634-3426 This will be the 5th event of a 7 event race series with the best 4 of 7 events counting towards overall Provincial Points Standings.

PacificSport Junior Women Take Nationals
(courtesy Joanna Fox)

Victoria, BC - Victoria1s most famous female mountain biker, Alison Sydor, may have side stepped the Tim Hortons 1999 National Mountain Bike Championships, but three young women kept Victoria very much on the map this past weekend claiming the top spots in the junior women1s category.

Clair Hall-Patch, Erica Drew and Erinne Willock finished 1-2-3 respectively as they led the field from the start in the 21 km race, held at the Camp Fortune ski resort in Old Chelsea, Quebec, August 15. And all three kept Canada Cup champion, Quebec1s Julie Saunders, out of the medal haul.

"Their performances were awesome, especially since none has had much national experience," says Steve Lund, Assistant Coach of the PacificSport National Cycling Centre. "All three have come through the centre1s Regional Development Program - this was their big test and they came through with flying colours."

While the development program has been in place for two years, all three have only been involved for the past year. And to further illustrate their brief history as competitive mountain bikers, Hall-Patch and Willock raced on borrowed bikes as their own bikes "would have probably hampered their performances", says Lund.

Their successes may have earned them spots on Canada's World Championship team, which travels to Åre, Sweden , September 15-19. The team is expected to be announced by the Canadian Cycling Association in the next few days.

Two other riders from the PacificSport National Cycling Centre Regional Development Program also made their mark in the women's elite category. Linda Robichaud and Claire Townsend, came in ninth and 10th respectively.

The PacificSport Group is comprised of multi-sport athlete training centres throughout BC, including the National Sport Centres in Greater Victoria and Greater Vancouver. Regional Sport Centres are located in Abbotsford, Kamloops, Nanaimo and Victoria, and Prince George, covering the Fraser Valley, interior, Vancouver Island, and the north respectively. Featured as part of the PacificSport Group is the PacificSport National Cycling Centre which is anchored at the National Sport Centre in Greater Victoria.

The regional training program, developed by PacificSport National Cycling Centre Assistant Coach Steve Lund, serves Victoria1s top young cyclists, clubs and school race series riders. These young cyclists benefit from programs like weekend workshops involving members of "Kids on the Shore", a North Vancouver-based high school and community club mountain biking program developed by national team members Lesley Tomlinson, Bruce Spicer and Alison Sydor and clinics run by Victoria's resident elite cyclists.

Grande Boucle Feminine, France

Stage 10 Vaujany to Rive de Giers 135.5 km

1. Bogumila Matusiak (Rus) Mazza 3:57:04
2. Catherine Marsal (Fra) Edil Savino at 1:39
3. Diana Ziliute (Lit) Acca Due O Lorena 2:13
4. Mirjam Melchers (Ned) Netherlands
5. Rasa Polikievicute (Lit) Panevezys-Casteljaloux

16. Sandy Espeseth (Can) Canada all s.t.
53. Alison Sydor (Can) Canada 12:43
60. Stacey Spencer (Can) Canada s.t.
76. Heather Cole (Can) Canada 23:35
77. Leah Goldstein (Can) Canada s.t.
86. Amy Jarvis (Can) Canada 30:23


1. Diana Ziliute (Lit) Acca Due O Lorena 30:51:02
2. Valentina Polkhanova (Rus) Russian Team at 0:52
3. Edita Pucinskaite (Lit) Acca Due O Lorena 3:51
4. Daniela Veronesi (Sma) Alfa Lum William Aurora 5:19
5. Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus) Alfa Lum William Aurora 5:44

26. Sandy Espeseth (Can) Canada 37:55
46. Alison Sydor (Can) Canada 1:09:34
72. Heather Cole (Can) Canada 2:06:47
78. Leah Goldstein (Can) Canada 2:37:26
79. Stacey Spencer (Can) Canada 2:37:52
88. Amy Jarvis (Can) Canada 3:08:21

Tour of Burgos, Spain

Stage 3 - Briviesca to Miranda de Ebro 182 km

1. Sergei Smetanine (Rus) Vitalicio Seguros 4:23:28
2. Laurent Dufaux (Swi) Saeco-Cannondale at 0.02
3. Abraham Olano (Esp) ONCE-Deutsche Bank s.t.
4. Dario Frigo (Ita) Saeco-Cannondale 0:04
5. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis s.t.


1. Abraham Olano (Esp) ONCE-Deutsche Bank 8:33:59
2. Dario Frigo (Ita) Saeco-Cannondale at 0:23
3. Laurent Dufaux (Swi) Saeco-Cannondale 0:25
4. Angel Casero (Esp) Vitalicio Seguros 0:29
5. Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar 0:31


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.