Canadian Cyclist


May 13/10 10:00 am - Pan American Championships: Track Day 2 results

Posted by Editoress on 05/13/10

Day 2 results at the Pan American Championships at the Velodromo Bicentenario de Aguascalientes, in Mexico


Dotsie Bausch, Sarah Hammer and Lauren Tamayo set an unofficial new world record in the three-kilometer team pursuit on their way to winning the gold medal in women’s event at the Pan American Championships in Aguascalientes, Mexico on May 12th. Their time of 3:19.569 is nearly two seconds faster than the previous record of 3:22.552 set by New Zealand's Rushlee Buchanan, Lauren Ellis and Alison Shanks at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships on March 25th of this year. With that time, the newly formed American women's team pursuit became the first to break the renowned 3:20 mark.

"There are fantastic team pursuit programs all around the world and it’s an honor to be considered one of the best," said USA Cycling Coach Benjamin Sharp. "Our qualifying ride was a little shaky but we knew we could go faster. Of course it was a disappointment to be so close to the world record in the qualifying round but, it was also confirmation to be so close with a less-than-perfect performance. I am immensely proud of this team. The riders, the coaches and the staff should all be very proud of what they have done over the past eight months."

Official word on the status of the record is pending from the sport’s international governing body, the UCI, but as a continental championship run under UCI rules confirmation is expected. 

The trio's podium appearance marks the seventh medal and fourth gold for the USA Cycling squad at the Pan American Continental Championships. Also in today's competition, Cody O'Reilly (Santa Barbara, Calif./Echelon) won the silver in the men's scratch race.

USA cycling press release


Women's Team Pursuit
Ride for Gold and Silver
1 United States (Lauren Tamayo/Dotsie Bausch/Sarah Hammer) 3:19.569 WR
2 Cuba (Dalila Rodriguez/Yudelmis Dominguez/Yumari Gonzalez) 3:26.466
Ride for Bronze
3 Colombia (Maria Luisa Calle/Lorena Vargas/Leidy Muñoz) 3:26.003
4 Canada (Steph Roorda/Laura Brown/Monique Sullivan) 3:29.232
Men's Keirin
1 Hersony Canelon (Venezuela)
2 Barry Forde (Barbados)
3 Leonardo Narvaez (Colombia)
4 Njisane Philly (Trinidad and Tobago)
5 Juan Telmo Fernandez (Argentina)
6 Christian Tamayo (Colombia)
Men's Scratch Race
1 Carlos Ospina (Colombia) +2 laps
2 Cody O'reilly (USA) +1 lap
3 Luis Mansilla (Chile) +1 lap
4 Maximo Rojas (Venezuela) +1 lap
5 Euris Vidal (Dominican Republic) +1 lap
6 Pablo Seisdedos (Chile) +1 lap
7 Ramon L. Martin (Cuba) +1 lap
8 Segundo Navarrete (Ecuador) +1 lap
9 Luis Pulido (Mexico) +1 lap
10 Danny Morales (Guatemala) +1 lap
11 Pedro Salazar (Ecuador) +1 lap
12 Yosvangs Rojas (Venezuela) +1 lap
13 Carlos Uran (Colombia)
14 Darren Matthews (Barbados)
15 Remi Pelletier-Roy (Canada)
16 Adam Alexander (Trinidad and Tobago)
17 Eduardo Colon (Puerto Rico)
18 Oscarelli Salazar (Costa Rica)
19 Anthony Seppy (Puerto Rico)
20 Mark Macdonald (Canada)
21 Marco Gullen (Costa Rica)
22 Jose Sochon (Guatemala)
23 Mario Contreras (Mexico)
24 Deivi Capellan (Dominican Republic)
25 Marcos Crespo (Argentina)
DNF Josue Moyano (Argentina)
DNF Yans Carlos (Cuba)
DNS Haseem Mclean (Trinidad and Tobago)
Women's Team Sprint
Ride for Gold and Silver
1 Cuba (Lisandra Guerra/Arianna Herrera) 34.075
2 Colombia (Diana Garcia/Juliana Gaviria) 34.383
Ride for Bronze
3 Mexico (Nancy Contreras/Daniela Gaxiola) 35.21
4 Chile (Macarena Lopez/Irene Aravena) 37.712
Men's Individual Pursuit
Ride for Gold and Silver
1 Juan Pablo Suarez (Colombia)
2 Juan Esteban Aranjo (Colombia) caught
Ride for Bronze
3 Eduardo Sepulveda (Venezuela) 4:28.928
4 Reldys Perez (Cuba) 4:30.008


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.