Canadian Cyclist


May 19/10 11:31 am - Comox Valley Cycle Club News

Posted by Editoress on 05/19/10

The Comox Valley Cycle Club kicked off the 2010 Race Season with sunny skies on the Tsolum River Road race course this past Sunday, May 16th.

Local and out of town riders made up a total of 39 riders.After an attack filled 72.5km road race for the Cat A's including; breakaways, solo's, and counterattacks, local cyclist John Van der Vliet (Simon Cycle's/Airport Service Station) sprinted to the win.   He was followed by Aaron Dusseault (Russ-Hays) and then Tom Malcylski in a time of 1.53.05. After the race John Van der Vliet was heard saying he was surprised by his win over Dusseault due to just getting over Bronchitis.

In the B category - another attacked filled race of 51.8km,  last year's C series winner, and John Van der Vliets son, Jake Van der Vliet (Simon Cycle's/Airport Service Station) took the win with a sprint finish followed closely by Sig Isaac and Paul Sidlick.

Perhaps it should be the Van der Blurs?


In the C category race of 31.1km did new club racers Mike Brown, Aaron Prain, James Grant, and brother Mark Grant went for the win followed by fellow learn to race clinic riders Rurik Hubner, Leslie Dargie, Crystal Dargie, and Kip Keylock. The clubs first paracyclist, Simon Harrington finished the race after Kip followed closely by young junior Brodie Hay.

Category A
1 John Van der Vliet, 1:53:05
2 Aaron Dusseault
3 Tom Malcylski
4 Jordan Duncan
5 Simon Crowley
6 Doug Merrick
7 Nigel Ellsay
8 Alex Hui
9 Nigel Hutcheson
10 Jeff Matell
11 Ray Wagner
12 Andy Everson
13 Warren Muir
14 Kent Duncan
15 Mort Allingham
16 Dave Nowak
17 Ian Hay

Category B
1 Jake Van der Vliet, 1:26:41
2 Sig Isaac
3 Paul Sidlick
4 Richard Ellsay
5 Andy Briytan
6 Thomas Andrew
7 Trevor Pritoula
8 Gord Giesbrecht
9 Steve Grant
10 Gavin MacPhail
11 Andrew Grant
12 Charles Sinclair DNF

Category C
1 Mike Brown 0:59:30
2 Aaron Prain
3 James Grant
4 mark Grant
5 Rurik Hubner
6 Leslie Dargie
7 Crystal Dargie
8 Kip Keylock
9 Simon Harrington
10 Brodie Hay

Courtesy Doug Merrick, CVCC Race Organizer


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.