Canadian Cyclist


June 6/10 10:33 am - Women's World Cup #6: GP Ciudad da Valladoli results and photos

Posted by Editoress on 06/6/10

Charlotte Becker (GER) won the GP Ciudad da Valladolid, the sixth round of the 2010 UCI Women's World Cup in Spain today. It was Becker’s first World Cup victory and successfully completed the team’s plan to increase their points for their World Cup ranking. Judith Arndt (GER-HTC Columbia Women) placed second, just ahead of Annemiek van Vleuten (NED-Nederland Bloeit).


Photos by CJ Farquharson,


“With 30 km to go, four riders attacked, and I went with them. Later on two lost contact with our group and then I was with left with Judith Arndt and Annemiek van Vleuten,” explained Charlotte Becker after the race. “The gap was getting bigger and I know that I’ve been fast in the sprints in the last couple of weeks so I was thinking positively. I knew that van Vleuten is really fast, especially since she had not been riding full gas as her teammate Marianne Vos (NED) was in the group behind us. I lead my group into the final and never gave the front position away, I went full gas as well and the two where not able to pass me.”

“I am really happy about my first World Cup win, and that I got the chance from the team to go for my own success today. The plan for us was to have somebody in the final break away and everything went according to plan.”

“At the beginning today, it was not such a hard race. Not too windy, flat and a little bit hilly,” said Egon van Kessel, Sports Director. “But after about 2 hours of racing it got a little windier, not too much but enough to make it harder. Then we had a climb and we attacked there. Then the bunch broke into several parts. But at the end before the final started there was a bunch of 50 to 60 riders and there were several attacks. On the last attack there was a break with three riders with Charlotte Becker from our team, Annemiek van Vleuten and Judith Arndt, and these three riders made it to the end of the race. There was a sprint and Charlotte won her first World Cup race, and our second World Cup win, this year.

“We were fairly happy but also surprised because it’s not that easy to win a World Cup especially when we are not here with our fastest sprinters. But in small groups I know we can win the race and it happened today. It was a very good result and we’re very happy with it.”


Cervelo TestTeam report


GP Ciudad de Valladolid, 122.9 km
1 Charlotte Becker (Ger) Cervelo Test Team 3:02:09
2 Judith Arndt (Ger) HTC Columbia Women
3 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit both s.t.
4 Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit 1:06
5 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu
6 Emma Johansson (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team
7 Monia Baccaille (Ita) Team Valdarno
8 Nicole Cooke (GBr) British National Team A
9 Oxana Kozonchuk (Rus) Safi-Pasta Zara
10 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
11 Chloe Hosking (Aus) HTC Columbia Women
12 Grace Verbeke (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team
13 Christel Ferrier (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
14 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Dutch National Team
15 Martine Bras (Ned) Gauss RDZ Ormu
16 Lucy Martin (GBr) British National Team A
17 Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team
18 Denise Zuckermandel (Ger) German National Team
19 Alona Andruk (Ukr) Safi-Pasta Zara
20 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
21 Janneke Kanis (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
22 Elena Berlato (Ita) Top G. F. Bortolo-Gh A
23 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Cervelo Test Team
24 Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) HTC Columbia Women
25 Carly Hibberd (Aus) S.C. Michela Fanini
26 Giade Borgato (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu
27 Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara
28 Adrie Visser (Ned) HTC Columbia Women
29 Liesbeth De Vocht (Bel) Nederland Bloeit
30 Cristina Alcalde (Esp) Bizkaia-Durango
31 Kateherine Williamson (GBr) British National Team A all s.t.
32 Marta Vilajosana (Esp) Team Valdarno 1:20
33 Vilija Sereikaite (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara
34 Gloria Presti (Ita) Top G. F. Bortolo-Gh A
35 Lieselot Decroix (Bel) Cervelo Test Team
36 Eleonora Patuzzo (Ita) Safi-Pasta Zara
37 Anne M. Schmitt (Lux) Lointek
38 Rosa M. Bravo (Esp) Spanish National Team
39 Emilie Aubry (Sui) Cervelo Test Team
40 Anna Van Den Breggen (Ned) Dutch National Team
41 Sigrid Corneo (Slo) Top G. F. Bortolo-Gh A
42 Ana Garcia (Esp) Bizkaia-Durango
43 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) German National Team
44 Nina Ovcharenko (Ukr) S.C. Michela Fanini
45 Jennie Stenerhag (Swe) Alriksson Go:Green
46 Ausrine Trebaite (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara
47 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Australian National Team A
48 Madeleine Olsson (Swe) Alriksson Go:Green
49 Carlee Taylor (Aus) Australian National Team A
50 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Australian National Team A
51 Noemi Cantele (Ita) HTC Columbia Women
52 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Vienne Futuroscope
53 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team
54 Claudia Häusler (Ger) Cervelo Test Team all s.t.
55 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu) Gauss RDZ Ormu 1:36
56 Chantal Black (Ned) Dutch National Team
57 Ariadna Tudel (And) Bizkaia-Durango
58 Elena Kuchinskaya (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu
59 Veronika Andreasson (Swe) Lotto Ladies Team
60 Belen Lopez (Esp) Lointek all s.t.
61 Paulina Brzezna (Pol) Redsun Cycling Team 1:58
62 Katie Colclongh (GBr) British National Team A s.t.
63 Nikki Harris (GBr) British National Team A 2:30
64 Julie Beveridge (Can) Vienne Futuroscope 3:52
65 Andrea Vosman (Ned) Dutch National Team 3:52
66 Leire Olaberria (Esp) Spanish National Team 4:16
67 Rachel Neylan (Aus) Australian National Team A
68 Anna Schnitzmeir (Ger) German National Team
69 Xin Liu (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
70 Fan Li Shen (HKg) Giant Pro Cycling
71 Ami Pieters (Ned) Dutch National Team
72 Ashleigh Moolman (RSA) Lotto Ladies Team
73 Lisa Jacobs (Aus) Australian National Team A
74 Laura Dittmann (Ger) German National Team
75 Dorleta Zorrilla (Esp) Bizkaia-Durango
76 Josephine Tomic (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team
77 Emma Silversides (GBr) Redsun Cycling Team
78 Alice Marmorini (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini
79 Giulia Lazzerini (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini
80 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Top G. F. Bortolo-Gh A
81 Martina Ruzickova (Cze) S.C. Michela Fanini all s.t.
82 Mª J. Gomez (Esp) Spanish National Team 5:46
83 Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team 8:03
84 Petra Dijkman (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team
85 Patricia Schwager (Sui) Cervelo Test Team
86 Tania Belvederesi (Ita) Team Valdarno
87 Franciska Merten (Ger) German National Team
88 Martina Corazza (Ita) Team Valdarno
89 Luise Keller (Ger) HTC Columbia Women
90 Alessia Massaccesi (Ita) Team Valdarno
91 Leticia Gil (Esp) Lointek
92 Jennifer Fiori (Ita) Top G. F. Bortolo-Gh A
93 Lynette Burger (RSA) Lotto Ladies Team
94 Loes Markerink (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
95 Sara Ortiz (Esp) Bizkaia-Durango
96 Lucia Gonzalez (Esp) Lointek
97 Ane Santesteban (Esp) Debabarrena-Kirolgi
98 Debora Galvez (Esp) Lointek all s.t.
99 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Dutch National Team 9:05


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.