Canadian Cyclist


June 6/10 15:27 pm - Philadelphia Liberty Classic: report and full results

Posted by Editoress on 06/6/10

HTC-Columbia women won the Philadelphia Liberty Classic on Sunday with Ina-Yoko Teutenberg sprinting to victory. Teutenberg's teammates controlled a full day of attacks by the other teams who wished to prevent the race ending in a sprint, to lead their sprinter to her fourth victory in this race.

"It was really hot today but other than that it was very similar to last year really," said Teutenberg. "There were a lot of attacks but my teammates did a great job to control the race and keep it together for a sprint.

"Evie [Stevens] was always there on the Manyunk Wall to cover the attacks and Kim [Anderson], Linda [Villumsen] and Emilia [Fahlin] did a great job covering everything else. People attacked constantly and on the last lap I was expecting them to really hammer up the climb but I think by that stage they were all a bit tired because of the heat. I started to feel sorry for the guys having to race for another four hours or so.

Coming into the last lap Erinne Willock from Webcor was still ahead of the field and HTC-Columbia steadily reeled her in and were ready to cover attacks on the way back to town. Finally they set Teutenberg up for the sprint with a great lead out around the final roundabout.

"In the end I only just won the sprint as Shelly [Evans] made a very well timed attack on the finishing straight and it took me until 15 meters to go to catch her.

"I'm really happy to win here again. It's one of my favourite races and I look forward to coming her every year."

Team HTC-Columbia report


92.68 km
1 Ina Teutenberg (Ger) HTC-Columbia 2:31:39
2 Shelly Evans (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12
3 Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA) Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team
4 Brooke Miller (USA) TIBCO - To The Top
5 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Noris Cycling Team
6 Joelle Numainville (Can) Webcor Builders
7 Ruth Corset (Aus) TIBCO - To The Top
8 Carla Swart (RSA) Team Vera Bradley Foundation
9 Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) TIBCO - To The Top
10 Anna McLoon (USA) Team Kenda
11 Lauren Tamayo (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12
12 Meredith Miller (USA) TIBCO - To The Top
13 Denise Ramsden (Can) Team Kenda
14 Catherine Cheatley (NZl) Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team
15 Jeannie Longo (Fra) Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo
16 Alison Powers (USA) Team Vera Bradley Foundation
17 Mara Abbott (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12
18 Amber Neben (USA) Webcor Builders
19 Anne Samplonius (Can) Team Vera Bradley Foundation
20 Kimberly Anderson (USA) HTC-Columbia
21 Evelyn Stevens (USA) HTC-Columbia
22 Kirsty Broun (Aus) Verducci Breakaway Racing all s.t.
23 Angela Hennig (Ger) Noris Cycling Team 1:25
24 Joanie Caron (Can) Team Nanoblur-Gears
25 Sinead Miller (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12
26 Marlen Jöhrend (Ger) Noris Cycling Team
27 Kate Veronneau (USA) HumanZoom p/b PBR
28 Anna Barensfeld (USA) Specialized D4W p/b Bicycle Haus
29 Emma Mackie (Aus) TIBCO - To The Top
30 Veronique Bilodeau (Can) Equipe Cascades - ABC Cycles
31 Ainhoa Perez (USA) Performance Bicycle Racing
32 Alex Carle (Aus) Verducci Breakaway Racing
33 Oliva Dillon (Irl) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12
34 Mary Zider (USA) Specialized Mazda Samson Conseil
35 Émilie Roy (Can) Equipe du Quebec
36 Myriam Gaudreault (Can) Equipe du Quebec
37 Veronique Labonte (Can) Team Nanoblur-Gears
38 Melissa Sanborn (USA) MVP Healthcare Cycling
39 Bronwyn Ryan (Aus) Verducci Breakaway Racing
40 Kathleen Billington (USA) BMW Bianchi
41 Robin Farina (USA) Team Vera Bradley Foundation
42 Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team
43 Andrea Graus (Aut) Webcor Builders
44 Sally Annis (USA) NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental
45 Janel Holcomb (USA) Specialized D4W p/b Bicycle Haus
46 Erinne Willock (Can) Webcor Builders
47 Katheryn Mattis (USA) Webcor Builders
48 Kathryn Donovan (USA) Specialized D4W p/b Bicycle Haus
49 Linda Villumsen (NZl) HTC-Columbia
50 Madeleine Sandig (Ger) Noris Cycling Team all s.t.
51 Carrie Cartmill (Can) Team Nanoblur-Gears 2:01
52 Kacey Manderfield (USA) HumanZoom p/b PBR 2:11
53 Amy Dearden (Can) Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo
54 Genevieve Whitson (NZl) MVP Healthcare Cycling
55 Jane Despas (USA) MVP Healthcare Cycling
56 Patricia Buerkle (USA) Fruit 66/Artemis
57 Angela Mcglure (Aus) Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo
58 Melanie Meyers (USA) Team Colleen p/b Summit Velo
59 Melissa Ross (USA) Team Kenda
60 Krystal Jeffs (Can) Team Nanoblur-Gears all s.t.
61 Kelly Benjamin (USA) Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team 2:16
62 Katharine Carroll (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 2:33
63 Elle Anderson (USA) NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental 3:04
64 Jen Rasmusson (USA) Team Kenda s.t.
65 Julie Bellerose (Can) Equipe Cascades - ABC Cycles 3:11
66 Rebecca Wellons (USA) BMW Bianchi
67 Johanne Cyr (Can) Equipe du Quebec both s.t.
68 Audrey Lemieux (Can) Equipe du Quebec 3:22
69 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) HTC-Columbia
70 Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team both s.t.
71 Rebecca Much (USA) TIBCO - To The Top 7:22
72 Erin Silliman (USA) Fruit 66/Artemis 7:31
73 Andrea Luebbe (USA) HumanZoom p/b PBR
74 Kristine Church (USA) HumanZoom p/b PBR
75 Sarah Iepson (USA) CAWES Cycling
76 Mary Costelloe (Irl) Verducci Breakaway Racing
77 Arley Kemmerer (USA) CAWES Cycling
78 Natalie Stoll (USA) MVP Healthcare Cycling
79 Julie Kuliecza (USA) Fruit 66/Artemis
80 Thea Parent (USA) HumanZoom p/b PBR all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.