Canadian Cyclist


June 13/10 17:02 pm - Grand Prix Gatineau report and full results

Posted by Editoress on 06/13/10

Joelle Numainville (Webcor Builders) won the first edition of the Grand Prix Gatineau on Sunday in a crash-filled sprint.  Numainville avoided the crash in the final 500 metres and held off late efforts by Jo Kiesanowski (TIBCO) and Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Colavita Baci) to win the UCI 1.1 race in her home province.

The 99.4 kilometre race saw the riders make eight laps of a 12.4 kilometre course.  Incorporating  the start and finish of the previous day's time trial, riders also went through part of the Gatineau national park, with one small climb.  Although the circuit did not feature any significant climbs, strong winds in the open sections and temperatures approaching 30 Celcius took their toll on the field.

The wind quickly discouraged most breakaway efforts, and any effort approaching a 20 second lead was chased down by either TIBCO, HTC-Columbia or Webcor Builders, if the composition did not suit them.

Shortly before the start of the final lap, track world champion Tara Whitten (Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil) tried a solo effort, but both TIBCO and HTC-Columbia went to the front to reel back this dangerous rider.

The finish saw the peloton head up one side of a divided boulevard, then go counterclockwise 180 degrees around a roundabout before the last 350 metres to the line.  Heading into that roundabout, the Australian national team was at the front, but hit the curve too fast, taking down a number of their riders, plus Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil's Jenny Trew.  Numainville was on the inside and slipped past the crash, exiting the final corner in the lead, which she held to the line.

"Riders were going down beside me and behind me, but I was okay," explained Numainville.  "It was a lot harder out there than we thought it would be, because there were many attacks and there was not much chance to rest.  This is a really big win, to win this, the biggest race in Canada is pretty special."

Race Notes

- Kudos to John Large, Remi Berube and the rest of the group that pulled this weekend of racing together in less than five months.  The organizers are already talking about next year, and CCA Chief Technical Officer Jacques Landry says that the CCA will support them as much as possible.

- Before the start of the women's road race, a men's criterium was held.  SpiderTech p/b Planet Energy went one-two, with Eric Boily winning and Charly Vives finishing second.  The pair broke away from the field with Shaun Adamson (Scott Racing) and Osmond Bakker (La Bicicletta) at approximately eight laps to go.  Boily and Vives then took turns attacking until Boily went clear with three laps remaining and hung on for the win.


- Special thanks to Ross Knight who was the moto driver during the women's race for CC editor/photographer Rob Jones today


99.4 km
1 Joelle Numainville (Can) Webcor Builders Cycling Team 2:26:44
2 Jo Kiesanowski (NZl) TIBCO/To the Top
3 Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Colavita Baci Pro Cycling Team
4 Alison Testroete (Can) Team Canada
5 Isabelle Soderberg (Swe) Hitec Products UCK – Norway all s.t.
6 Leah Kirchman (Can) Team Canada 2:26:48
7 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) HTC-Columbia
8 Kelly Benjamin (USA) Colavita Baci Pro Cycling Team
9 Tara Whitten (Can) Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil all s.t.
10 Heather Logan-Sprenger (Can) Colavita Baci Pro Cycling Team 2:26:51
11 Andrea Graus (Aut) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
12 Ruth Corset (Aus) TIBCO/To the Top
13 Amber Neben (USA) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
14 Carmen Small (USA) Colavita Baci Pro Cycling Team
15 Jacqueline Hahn (Aut) Hitec Products UCK – Norway
16 Audrey Lemieux (Can) Nanoblur Gears
17 Denise Ramsden (Can) Team Canada
18 Sarah Coney (Can) Stevens p/b the Cyclery
19 Lex Albrecht (Can) Equipe Cascades
20 Veronique Bilodeau (Can) Equipe Cascades
21 Carrie Cartmill (Can) Nanoblur Gears
22 Megan Guarnier (USA) TIBCO/To the Top
23 Jennifer Stephenson (Can) 7th Groove/Reform Body Clinic
24 Leah Guloien (Can) Team Canada
25 Kathleen Billington (USA) BMW – Bianchi
26 Michelle Gauthier (Can) 7th Groove/Reform Body Clinic
27 Laura Brown (Can) Team Canada
28 Valerie Crete (Can) Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil
29 Michelle Paiement (Can) Stevens p/b the Cyclery
30 Julia Bradley (Can) Stevens p/b the Cyclery
31 Alexandra Carle (Aus) Australian National Team
32 Virginie Gauthier (Can) Equipe Cascades
33 Maria Grandt Petersen (Den) Hitec Products UCK – Norway
34 Cinthia Lehner (USA) BMW – Bianchi
35 Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) Colavita Baci Pro Cycling Team all s.t.
36 Anne Samplonius (Can) Eat-Clean Diet Women's Cycling Team 2:26:59
37 Krista Ruby (Can) Eat-Clean Diet Women's Cycling Team
38 Rebecca Much (USA ) TIBCO/To the Top
39 Katheryn Mattis (USA) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
40 Bromwyn Ryan (Aus) Australian National Team
41 Rachel O'Reilly (Can) Stevens p/b the Cyclery
42 Leigh Bianco (Can) Stevens p/b the Cyclery
43 Adriane Provost (Can) Team Canada all s.t.
44 Evelyn Stevens (USA) HTC-Columbia 2:27:10
45 Linda Villumsen (NZl) HTC-Columbia
46 Jessica Phillips (USA) Colavita Baci Pro Cycling Team both s.t.
47 Joanie Caron (Can) Nanoblur Gears 2:27:19
48 Kim Anderson (USA) HTC-Columbia s.t.
49 Chloe Hosking (Aus) HTC-Columbia 2:27:55
50 Alison Starnes (USA) TIBCO/To the Top 2:28:04
51 Rachel Warner (USA) BMW – Bianchi 2:28:16
52 Jenny Trew (Can) Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil 2:28:33
53 Kirsty Brouin (Aus) Australian National Team 2:29:59
54 Miriam Gaudreault (Can) Team Quebec 2:30:19
55 Cynthia Wilson (Can) Eat-Clean Diet Women's Cycling Team 2:30:24
56 Allison Lampi (Can) 7th Groove/Reform Body Clinic 2:32:50
57 Veronique Labonte (Can) Nanoblur Gears s.t.
58 Julia Farell (Can) 7th Groove/Reform Body Clinic lapped
59 Paula Powell (Can) 7th Groove/Reform Body Clinic lapped
60 Ariane Larocque- Patenaude (Can) Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil lapped
61 Kyla Rollinson (Can) Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil lapped
62 Jessica Joly (Can) Equipe Cascades lapped
63 Emma Peterson (NZl) 7th Groove/Reform Body Clinic lapped
64 Leigh Hargrove (Can) Eat-Clean Diet Women's Cycling Team lapped
DNF Clair Michel (Can) BMW – Bianchi
DNF Erinne Willock (Can) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
DNF Evelyn Gagnon (Can) Team Quebec
DNF Jessie Maclean (Aus) Australian National Team
DNF Johanne Cyr (Can) Team Quebec
DNF Krystal Jeffs (Can) Nanoblur Gears
DNF Leigh Hobson (Can) Nanoblur Gears
DNF Martine Amundsen (Nor) Hitec Products UCK – Norway
DNF Sophie Matte (Can) Stevens p/b the Cyclery


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.