Canadian Cyclist


June 16/10 0:05 am - Iron Lung XC: report, results and photos

Posted by Editoress on 06/16/10

Iron Lung XC hosted by Cyclemeisters/ Bow Cycle Team on June 12th

This past weekend saw the 3rd edition of Team Cyclemeister's Iron Lung XC at the magnificent Canmore Nordic Center. Over the 2 days more than 600 racers took advantage of the sun and spectacular weather. New for this year was the introduction of the RMCC Little Lung kids race and the Organ Grinder 5hr Enduro on the Sunday following Saturday's XC.

Photos  by
Carlos Bonilla  and Craig Douce

Along with the the new races we also debuted the Nordic Center's incredible new trail network. Laid out and cut by none other than Matt Hadley, this trail network was intended to be a race course from the get go. Racers were treated to a course that required every bit of technical skill and fitness that a they could muster. The reward for their intense efforts were flowy trails that could be ridden by anyone, but only ridden fast by those with skill. Giant grins were the order of the day on both day's and although the courses were extremely demanding they were just plain fun ... goofy fun! Everyone was definitely ready for the fun to come back to MTB racing it seemed.

I won't go on, but "best ever course" is a pretty bold statement when you're at the Nordic Center, but that is what was being said by old and new racers alike ... perhaps another Canmore classic has been born!!

Team Cyclemeisters press release

Elite Women, 24 km
1 Catherine Vipond (Norco Factory Team) 1:32:11.1
2 Kate Aardal (Hardcore Cycling Club) at 12:48.6
3 Trish Grajczyk (Deadgoat Racing) 13:45.9
4 Bridget Linder (Hardcore Cycling Club) 14:10.4
5 Alana Heise (Terrascape Racing) 15:47.6
6 Pepper Harlton (Juventus) 16:46.6
7 Shantel Koenig (Redbike) 16:51.1
8 Krystyn Ong (River Valley Cycle) 17:03.9
9 Erica Musyj (BCW) 28:31.6
10 Anna Schappert (Team Manitoba) 29:26.4
DNF Samantha Grover (Peadhead Racing)
Elite Men, 30 km
1 Stefan Widmer (Rocky Mountain Factory Team) 1:38:26.3
2 Matthew Hadley (XPREZO - Borsac) at 2:07.3
3 Cody Canning (ERTC/Revolution) 5:14.8
4 Shawn Bunnin (bicisport) 8:38.3
5 Brian Bain (Specialized/CMC/Bowcycle) 10:49.1
6 David Gonda (CMC/Bow Cycle) 10:57.1
7 David Roberts (Hardcore Cycling Club) 12:38.1
8 Cory Zetterstrom (BCW) 13:55.6
9 Cory Wallace (Kona Factory) 14:09.9
10 Matthew Krahn (redbike) 14:28.9
11 Mike Blennerhassett (Hardcore Cycling Club) 14:39.6
12 Gabor Csonka (CMC/Bow Cycle) 15:10.1
13 Devin Erfle (Deadgoat Racing) 15:53.1
14 Jeff Neilson (Terrascape Racing) 16:24.8
15 Bailey McKnight (Synergy) 17:29.3
16 Justin Middleton (ERTC/Revolution) 19:55.3
17 Andre Sutton (Hardcore Cycling Club) 21:34.5
18 Cameron McKnight (ERTC / Revolution) 22:11.8
19 Peter Yez (Mud, Sweat and Gears) 23:56.2
20 Peter Lawrence (Team H&R Block) 24:33.3
21 Ryan Hopping (Redbike) 26:49.5
DNF Jonathan Benskin (Hardcore Cycling Club)
DNF Mike Sarnecki (Intact Racing)
DNF Simon Tremblay (Pedal Your World)
DNS Brian Robinson (CMC/Bow Cycle)

Full results are available at

More Photo's at

Rider race reports ...


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.