Canadian Cyclist


July 9/10 15:02 pm - CCA Names Teams for Junior Worlds - Track and Road

Posted by Editoress on 07/9/10

Canada's Top Junior Cyclists Ready for World Road and Track Championships

2010 UCI World Junior Championships to be in Italy in August

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) is pleased to announce the athletes selected to represent Canada for the 2010 UCI Road World Junior Championships in Offida, Italy and for the 2010 UCI Track World Junior Championships in Montichiari, Italy.

“The main objective of this selection was to put our best cyclists on the start lines. These cyclists have demonstrated through results that they are Canada’s best and will ride for podium results at this world-class event,” said Jacques Landry, Chief Technical Officer of the Canadian Cycling Association.

A total of 10 road cyclists from seven different provinces have been selected to represent Canada at the 2010 UCI Road World Junior Championships. The Canadian delegation will be represented by four women and six men. Four track cyclists from three provinces will represent Canada at the 2010 UCI Track World Junior Championships.

“The teams led by Luc Arseneau (Dieppe, NB) in the Road events and Rob Good (Waterloo, ON) in Track events will be competitive. It is our hope that we can provide a professional environment around our junior teams in order to maximize their unique experience,” added Landry.

The 2010 UCI Road World Junior championships will be held August 6-8 in Offida (ITA), while the 2010 UCI Track World Junior championships will be held August 11-15 in Montichiari (ITA).

The Road team will be headlined by all four 2010 Canadian Junior Champions. Julia Garnet (Saskatoon, SK) and Stuart Wight (Moncton, NB) are Canadian Junior Champions in the Individual Time Trial and Véronique Drapeau-Zgoralski (Montreal, QC) and Ryan MacDonald (Greenhill, NS) won the Junior Road Race. The events were held in Devon, AB, earlier in July.

In the track events, Florence Laplante-Lamarche (Ottawa, ON) and Scott Mulder (Vancouver, BC) both attended the 2009 Track World Junior Championships.

Junior Women - Road
Julia Garnet (Saskatoon, SK)
Véronique Drapeau-Zgoralski (Montreal, QC)
Annie Ewart (Brentwood Bay, BC)
Laura Bietola (Greenwood, ON)

Junior Women - Track
Allison Beveridge (Calgary, AB)
Florence Laplante-Lamarche (Ottawa, ON)

Junior Men - Road
Stuart Wight (Riverview, NB)
Ryan MacDonald (Greenhill, NS)
Kris Dahl (Calgary, AB)
Craig Logan (North Saanich, BC)
Jean-Samuel Deshaies (Amos, QC)
Frédéric Poisson (Trois-Rivières, QC)

Junior Men - Track
Alex Cataford (Ottawa, ON)
Scott Mulder (Vancouver, BC)

Support Staff - Road
Luc Arseneau – Head Coach (Dieppe, NB)
Nathaniel Faulkner – Assistant Coach (Bracebridge, ON)
Matthew Knight – Team Manager (Ottawa, ON)

Support Staff - Track
Rob Good – Head Coach (Waterloo, ON)
Jeff Ain – Assistant Coach (Vancouver, BC)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.