Canadian Cyclist


July 15/10 11:05 am - OBB Wheelers Club News

Posted by Editoress on 07/15/10

OBB Wheelers La Z Boy Criterium, July 14th in Nanaimo BC

Three women showed up this evening for the first ladies criterium. In order to get them used to fast pack riding in a safe environment, they started with the men and rode five neutral laps, with an abundance of advice coming from the male riders. Once the race proper started, they continued on their own but soon spread out due to inexperience. Glenda Harling, NBC, immediately pulled away from the other girls and, despite Charlene Stewart's determined efforts to catch her, stayed away and won the 25 minute race by ten seconds. New rider, Rhea Hewitson, was quickly dropped by the other two but rode steadily to finish a lap down.

In the men's event, the pack stayed pretty much together until the last lap of the 45 minute event despite NBC's Mike Sevcov making numerous abortive jumps of the front. As the group entered the final circuit, everyone was still together but on the last but one corner Paul Thompson, OBC, took a flyer from the back and stole a valuable three seconds which he kept till the line. Tony Winter, OBC, let Derek Brain lead out and then just slipped by the Everti rider to take second place with Warren Muir, OBB hird.

Thanks to Dave Kenny for helping set up the course and to all the riders who stacked the cones.

Women, 25 min+ 1 lap
1 Glenda Harling (NBC) 0:27:40
2 Charlene Stewart (Ind.) @ 0:10
3 Rhea Hewitson (Ind.) @ one lap
Men, 30km
1 Paul Thompson (OBB) 0:45:30
2 Tony Winter (OBB) @ 0:03
3 Warren Muir (OBB)  
4 Derek Brain (Everti) both s.t.
5 Mike Sevcov (NBC) 0:11
6 Shepherd Stewart (OBB) s.t.

Peter McCaffery


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.