Canadian Cyclist


August 8/10 15:58 pm - Tour of Denmark - Stage 6 & Final GC

Posted by Editoress on 08/8/10

Results of the final stage of the Tour of Denmark.


HTC-Columbia's Hayden Roulston took out the last stage of the Tour of Denmark in style on Sunday. On the final straight of next year's World Championships course in Copenhagen, Roulston flew uphill to take the win out of the last of many breaks that occurred during the stage.

"Hayden rode like he had diamonds in his legs today," said Sport Director Brian Holm. "He was amazing when he went up the final 800m straight."

"It was a very, very hard stage today," added Holm. "It was raining and it fast all day. At 120km everything was still together so there were constant attacks."

Just before the race hit the final laps a break with Mark Renshaw looked like it might stay away.

"[Tyler] Farrar was also in the break and it looked like it might work but Renshaw punctured and came back to the peloton so then we started to chase. When we caught the break the next one went with Roulston in it."

"I'm really happy with the race today. We had someone in every break. All in all it was a good week for us. Three wins with three different riders so I'm happy. [Rasmus] Guldhammer also won the white jersey and came in sixth overall so it was a very good race for him also."

HTC-Columbia press release


Stage 6 - Høng to Rudersdal 185 km
1 Hayden Roulston (NZl) Team Columbia-HTC 4:03:17
2 Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo Bank at 0:02
3 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
4 Maxim Belkov (Ukr) ISD - Neri
5 Clinton Avery (NZl) Team Radioshack
6 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Transitions
7 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Team Columbia-HTC
8 Bert De Backer (Bel) Skil - Shimano
9 Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil
10 Theo Bos (Ned) Cervélo Test Team
37 Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin - Transitions s.t.
Final GC
1 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Team Saxo Bank 19:03:38
2 Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin - Transitions at 0:27
3 Matthew Busche (USA) Team Radioshack 1:35
4 Martin Mortensen (Den) Vacansoleil 1:38
5 Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo Bank 1:39
6 Rasmus Guldhmmer (Den) Team Columbia-HTC 1:45
7 Sergey Firsanov (Rus) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water s.t.
8 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Team Columbia-HTC 1:48
9 Maxim Belkov (Ukr) ISD - Neri 1:51
10 Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil 1:59
Sprint Classification
1 Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo Bank 48 pts
2 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Team Columbia-HTC 38
3 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Team Columbia-HTC 35
9 Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin - Transitions 19
Team GC
1 Team Saxo Bank 57:12:20
2 Vacansoleil at 2:23
3 Garmin - Transitions 2:37


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.