Canadian Cyclist


August 13/10 21:17 pm - BC Cup Finals

Posted by Editoress on 08/13/10

BC Cup Finals a Success!


August 8th, Whistler BC


Team Whistler congratulates the participants in the BC Cup Finals hosted this past weekend in Lost Lake Park (Whistler). While there was great participation in all events for the Ken Quon 'Ride On' event, the fastest people of the day were Colin Kerr and Brandi Heisterman winning the BC Cup Finals in the Elite categories. Top Team Whistler results went to Keith Ray winning his age category while Trevor Hopkins was second in his.

In the RE/MAX Corridor Cup the defending champion, Dwayne Kress teamed up with a new partner (Colin Kerr) to win again this year in the Open Men division. Open Women was won by Brandi Heisterman and Cathy Zeglinski, Open Mixed by Ryan Newsom and Jean Ann McCurdy while the Open over 80 was won by Team Whistler's Trevor Hopkins and Keith Ray.

Final accounting is still underway but it appears that almost $9,000 was raised this weekend bringing the total raised this year alone to over $10,000. All proceeds from the events support the community - helping to purchase emergency equipment in the name of Ken Quon. For complete results please click here.


One Monday night five years ago, Ken Quon suddenly felt ill while riding with a group on the Lost Lake Trails. Feeling embarrassed that he was holding up the group, Ken’s last words were “Ride On”: Ken died of a heart attack. Committed to helping this cause, organizers have since held the Ken Quon Family ride and the Corridor Cup race which has raised $50,000 for local medical equipment. This year Team Whistler and the Ken Quon Ride On Organizers have added the BC Cup XC Finals to the day and all proceeds will be donated to purchase medical equipment for the Sea-to-Sky corridor.

Elite Women
1 Brandi Heisterman (Northlands Medical Clinic) 1:59:05
2 Joanna Harrington (Fineline) 2:00:58
3 Jean Ann McKirdy (Local Ride Women's MTB) 2:01:03
4 Katherine Short (Norco) 2:08:31
5 Karen Trueman (Oak Bay Bicycles) 2:10:06
6 Andrea Bunnin (Devo) 2:13:22
7 Linda Robichaud (Ind) 2:26:38
DNF Megan Rose (John Henry Bikes)
DNF Joele Guynup (Island Racing Club p/b Robert C)
Elite Men
1 Colin Kerr (Rocky Mtn Diff Bikes) 1:44:46
2 Kevin Calhoun (Rocky Mountain-Different Bikes) 1:45:02
3 Sullivan Reed (Cycle Logic - Prince George Cycli) 1:45:08
4 Drew MacKenzie (Island Racing Club p/b Robert C) 1:46:49
5 Dwayne Kress (West Coast Racing) 1:47:34
6 Thomas Skinner (AVIAWEST - BLUE COMPETITION) 1:47:42
7 Greg Day (Rocky Mountain/Different Bikes) 1:52:35
8 Codey May (Ind) 1:53:28
9 Robert Whishaw (Obsession Bikes) 1:55:40
DNF Norrie Henderson (Kelowna Cycle)
Junior Men
1 Max Houtzager (Whole Athlete) 1:51:41
2 Jereomy Pelletier (Team Squamish) 2:02:46
3 Nicholas Bruce (Team Squamish) 2:15:22
4 Philippe Janicki (Avia West / VAC) 2:16:07
5 Sebastian Sleep (Sunshine Coast Cycling) 2:23:38
Junior Women
1 Lauren Rosser (Ind) 1:27:35
2 Jessica Marquis (Sunshine Coast Cycling) 1:45:37
DNF Amanda Wakeling (Trail Bicycles Eatmore Sprouts)

full results


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.