Canadian Cyclist


August 21/10 13:43 pm - GP de Plouay: Women's World Cup, Willock 8th

Posted by Editoress on 08/21/10

Pooley wins GP de Plouay as Team captures World Cup


Canada's Erinne Willock 8th


Photos  by CJ Farquharson,


After a great victory last year in Plouay, Emma Pooley (GBR) came back to France with the best memories and took her second win in a row in the French World Cup race. The two-time Olympic Time Trial Champion claimed the victory on a challenging six lap circuit (each 19.1 km), with more than a minute lead ahead of Marianne Vos (NED) and Emma Johansson from Sweden. Cervélo's Charlotte Becker (GER) also made it into the top 10 in sixth place. The podium this year is exactly the same as the 2009 edition of the race.

With today's ninth and the last World Cup race of the 2010 season the women of Cervélo TestTeam have now clinched the World Cup Team ranking with five victories to their credit.

"It is just amazing this victory. Actually I didn't expect that but the course and terrain of western France seems to fit me," said the double winner Pooley. "We were a group of four riders coming into the final lap. As I am not so strong in sprints I tried my luck at the Côte de Kerihuel and attacked but Marianne Vos was still on my wheels on the top. So I attacked again at Ty Marrec and this time I was able get away and pushed hard on the final kilometers for the victory. It is great to win here in Plouay again."

"The GP de Plouay is always a challenge," commented Egon van Kessel, Sports Director of Cervélo TestTeam. "Our tactic was to make the race hard with a lot of attacks and the team worked it perfectly. We were in several breaks during the race with Lizzie Armitstead (GBR), Sharon Laws (GBR), Charlotte Becker and finally Emma Pooley. Pooley caught the final break with Marianne Vos, Judith Arndt (GER) and Emma Johansson. That group had a gap of four minutes heading into the final lap. Emma performed magnificently with a strong attack that gave her the solo win. I'm really happy with today's victory and also wish to congratulate all our riders for the overall win of the Team World Cup ranking."

Cervelo Test Team press release



114.6 km
1 Emma Pooley (GBr) Cervelo Test Team 3:12:37
2 Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit at 1:14
3 Emma Johansson (Swe) Rsc
4 Judith Arndt (Ger) Htc Columbia Women both s.t
5 Evelyn Stevens (USA) Htc Columbia Women 2:35
6 Charlotte Becker (Ger) Cervelo Test Team 3:33
7 Natalia Boyarskaya (Rus) Fenixs - Petrogradets 3:37
8 Erinne Willock, (Can) Canadian National Team 5:49
9 Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus) Safi - Pasta Zara s.t.
10 Rasa Leleivyte (Ltu) Safi - Pasta Zara 5:57
11 Chantal Blaak (Ned) Dutch National Team
12 Martine Bras (Ned) Dutch National Team
13 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
14 Andréa Bosman (Ned) Dutch National Team
15 Sophie Creux (Fra) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion
16 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Dutch National Team
17 Grete Treier (Est) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox
18 Anne Samplonuis (Can) Canadian National Team
19 Catherine Williamson (GBr) British National Team
20 Svetlana Bubnenkova (Rus) Fenixs - Petrogradets
21 Adrie Visser (Ned) Htc Columbia Women
22 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
23 Grace Verbeke (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team
24 Carla Swart (RSA) Mtn
25 Sylwia Kapusta-Szydlak (Pol) Safi - Pasta Zara
26 Belen Lopez Morales (Esp) Esp
27 Oxana Kozonchuk (Rus) Safi - Pasta Zara
28 Edwige Pitel (Fra) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox
29 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team
30 Robyn De Groot (RSA) Mtn
31 Sara Mustonen (Swe) Hitec Products Uck
32 Katie Colclough (GBr) British National Team
33 Noortje Tabak (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
34 Lise Nöstvold (Nor) Hitec Products Uck
35 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Cervelo Test Team
36 Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team
37 Cherise Taylor (RSA) Mtn
38 Eivgenia Vysotska (Ukr) Team Valdarno
39 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Dutch National Team
40 Ashleigh Moolman (RSA) Lotto Ladies Team
41 Béatrice Thomas (Fra) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion
42 Nina Ovcharenko (Ukr) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox
43 Emilie Blanquefort (Fra) French National Team
44 Elena Berlato (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo
45 Sigrid Corneo (Slo) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo
46 Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products Uck
47 Sharon Laws (GBr) Cervelo Test Team
48 Eleonora Patuzzo (Ita) Safi - Pasta Zara
49 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Cervelo Test Team
50 Noemi Cantele (Ita) Htc Columbia Women all s.t.
51 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team 6:23
52 Polona Batagelj (Slo) Bizkaia - Durango 6:29
53 Aude Biannic (Fra) French National Team 7:41
54 Petra Dijkman (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team 8:27
55 Cristina Alcalde Huertanos (Esp) Bizkaia - Durango 8:31
OTL Claudia Häusler (Ger) Cervelo Test Team 11:06
OTL Kimberly Anderson (USA) Htc Columbia Women
OTL Luise Keller (Ger) Htc Columbia Women
OTL Veronica Andreason (Swe) Lotto Ladies Team
OTL Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team
OTL Mélodie Leseur (Fra) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion
OTL Christine Majerus (Lux) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion
OTL Julie Beveridge (Can) Vienne Futuroscope
OTL Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Vienne Futuroscope
OTL Emmanuelle Merlot (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
OTL Ana Belen Garcia Antequera ()
OTL Marissa Van Der Merwe (RSA) Mtn
OTL Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Fenixs - Petrogradets
OTL Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) Safi - Pasta Zara
OTL Laura Bozzolo (Ita) Team Valdarno
OTL Joëlle Numainville (Can) Canadian National Team
OTL Katarzyna Sosna (Ltu) Vaiano Solaristech
OTL Rosa Maria Bravo Soba (Esp) Spanish National Team
OTL Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Esp) Spanish National Team all s.t.
OTL Laure Werner (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team 20:10
OTL Lylanie Lauwrens (RSA) Mtn
OTL Karin Aune (Swe) Mtn
OTL Marion Azam ()
OTL Denise Ramsden (Can) Canadian National Team
OTL Leah Guloien (Can) Canadian National Team
OTL Heather Logan-Sprenger (Can) Canadian National Team all s.t.
OTL Ludivine Loze (Fra) French National Team 24:08
DNF Valentina Carretta
DNF Jennifer Fiori
DNF Gloria Presti
DNF Serena Danesi
DNF Nicole Cooke
DNF Lucy Martin
DNF Emma Trott
DNF Nikki Harris
DNF Kim Schoonbaert
DNF Emma Silversides
DNF Eugénie Mermillod
DNF Elodie Hegoburu
DNF Audrey Cordon
DNF Pascale Jeuland
DNF Dorleta Zorrilla Braceras
DNF Ariadna Tudel Cuberes
DNF Loes Gunnewijk
DNF Janneke Kanis
DNF Liesbet De Vocht
DNF Suzie Godart
DNF Line Foss
DNF Lisa Brennaeur
DNF Jacqueline Hahn
DNF Martina Ruzickova
DNF Emma Skjerstad
DNF Giulia Lazzerini
DNF Amy Pieters
DNF Monia Baccaille
DNF Chiara Bortolus
DNF Amélie Rivat
DNF Aurore Verhoeven
DNF Simona Frapporti
DNF Simona Martini
DNF Irene Falorni
DNF Corinna Mari
DNF Chiara Vanni
DNF Mireia Epelde Bikendi
DNF Leticia Gil Parra
DNF Lucia Gonzalez Blanco


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.