Canadian Cyclist


September 3/10 11:41 am - CCA Announces Men's Long List for Road Worlds

Posted by Editoress on 09/3/10

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) announced today the long list of elite men for the Road Worlds, to be held in Geelong, Australia at the end of the month.  Eight riders were selected, of which the final three will be chosen on September 14th (after the Canadian ProTour events).

The road race long list consists of:  Ryder Hesjedal, Michael Barry, Svein Tuft, Dominique Rollin, Ryan Roth, Will Routley, Keven Lacombe and Christian Meier.  For the time trial Canada has two entries:  Hesjedal and Tuft have been selected.

The course is expected to favour sprinters, so expect to see Rollin and Lacombe favoured for the road race selection.

The official announcement is below:

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) is pleased to unveil the eight Elite men cyclists nominated to the pool of athletes seeking selection to the Road Canadian Cycling Team participating at the 2010 UCI Road World Championships in Melbourne, Australia.

The 2010 UCI Road World Championships, held September 29th to October 3rd, will feature the road race as well as the individual time trial events.

The selected riders will be formally announced on September 14, 2010. Canada can select up to three cyclists for the road race and two racers for the time trial.

The list includes Ryder Hesjedal (Victoria, BC / Garmin-Transitions), who is currently the Top Canadian in the UCI ProTour rankings and ended the 2010 Tour de France in seventh place overall, the best Canadian performance in the prestigious race in over 20 years.

Michael Barry (Toronto, ON/Team Sky), who competed at the 2010 Tour de France, will also have a crack at making the team.  A regular cyclist on the UCI ProTour, Barry finished 18th in the road race at the 2009 UCI Road World Championships.

Will Routley (Whistler, BC/Jelly Belly Cycling Team), the 2010 Road Race Canadian Champion has also been named to the selection pool, in company of Svein Tuft, the 2010 Individual Time Trial Canadian Champion, who recently placed 5th overall at the Enoco Tour de Benelux, a UCI ProTour stage race.

The list also includes great Canadian cyclists such as Dominique Rollin (Boucherville, QC/ Cervélo TestTeam), Christian Meier (Sussex, NB/Garmin-Transitions), Ryan Roth (Cambridge, ON/SpiderTech) and Keven Lacombe (Montréal, QC/SpiderTech).

Michael Barry, Svein Tuft and Ryder Hesjedal represented Canada at the 2009 UCI Road World Championships in Mendrisio, Switzerland.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.