Canadian Cyclist


September 16/10 16:15 pm - CCA Unveils Canadian Road Worlds Squad

Posted by Editoress on 09/16/10

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) is proud to unveil the list of 13 Canadian cyclists who will represent Canada at the 2010 UCI Road World Championships in Melbourne, Australia, from September 29th to October 3rd.

The Canadian Women's team will be headlined by Joëlle Numainville (Montreal, QC) in the road race and Tara Whitten (Edmonton, AB) in the time trial.

Numainville will be one of the Canadian cyclists with a chance of a podium finish at these championships. Numainville, the 2010 Road Canadian Champion, won several races this season with her powerful sprinting abilities, including the Grand Prix Cycliste de Gatineau and the Tour of White Rock.

Tara Whitten (Edmonton, AB) is a favourite Canadian for the time trial race, an event in which she posted the top Canadian result at 2009 World Championships, in eighth position.

Whitten, a double world title winner at the 2010 Track World Championships in the spring, and winner of five titles at the 2010 Canadian Track Championships, will seek to add more hardware to her collection for the 2010 campaign. Whitten took the second place in the road race at the Canadian Championships, and third place in the Time Trials.

In the Men's category, the team will be highlighted by Dominique Rollin (Boucherville, QC), Svein Tuft (Langley, BC) and Christian Meier (Sussex, NB), three cyclists who race on the international stage.

Svein Tuft is the current Canadian Champion in the time trial race, and will be a strong contender for a Canadian medal in the race. Tuft, a ProTour rider with Garmin-Transitions, finished fifth overall at the UCI ProTour stage race in Eneco Tour, and second at the Tour of Denmark. At the 2008 World Championships, Tuft scored an impressive silver medal in the time trial event, and seventh at the Olympic Games.

Rollin has proven his strength and abilities this summer on the international scene, finishing the season with strong results. Rollin was part of the Canadian National Team at the recent UCI ProTour races in Québec and Montréal, and is a strong competitor on courses similar to the World Championship course, which features a short power climb and the potential for a bunch finish.

Four cyclists will be entered in the U23 category, including David Boily (Québec, QC) and Guillaume Boivin (Longueuil, QC), who represented Canada at the recent Grand Prix Cycliste UCI ProTour races in Québec and Montréal.

Canadian road Cycling Team Head Coach Vincent Jourdain will be at the helm of the team, assisted by Denise Kelly for the women's squad.

Karol-Ann Canuel (Amos, QC) - Road Race
Joëlle Numainville (Montréal, QC) - Road Race
Denise Ramsden (Yellowknife, NT) - Road Race
Anne Samplonius (Montréal, QC) - Road Race, Time Trial
Tara Whitten (Edmonton, AB) - Road Race, Time Trial
Erinne Willock (Vancouver, BC) - Road Race

Elite Men
Christian Meier (Sussex, NB) - Road Race
Dominique Rollin (Boucherville, QC) - Road Race
Svein Tuft (Langley, BC) - Road Race, Time Trial

U23 Men
David Boily (Québec, QC) (U23) - Road Race, Time Trial
Guillaume Boivin (Longueuil, QC) (U23) - Road Race
Hugo Houle (Sainte-Perpétue, QC) (U23) - Road Race, Time Trial
Arnaud Papillon (Longueuil, QC) (U23) - Road Race

Team Manager: Matthew Knight
Head Coach: Vincent Jourdain
Women's coach: Denise Kelly
Mechanics: Dave Drumm, Sean Kelly
Soigneurs: Michel L'Hoest, Kelly Linaker


CCA press release


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.