Canadian Cyclist


September 27/10 10:29 am - USGP Planet Bike Cup: Day 2

Posted by Editoress on 09/27/10

Johnson Turns the Tables; Compton Repeats in Wisconsin, September 26th in Sunprairie Wisconsin


Tim Johnson (Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld) scored one of the most impressive victories of his storied career today, taking the overall lead in the Greenware® US Gran Prix of Cyclocross Planet Bike Cup at the expense of a star-studded international field. Katie Compton (Planet Bike) repeated in similar fashion with a commanding solo victory over Georgia Gould (Luna) and a surprisingly strong Sue Butler (HUDZ Subaru). The women's race also saw a promising display of skill and power by several young riders, with four riders under age 24 in the top 12.

Butler opened with a strong first lap that pressed Compton back to eighth place. When the series leader finally pressed to the front, only Gould and Butler could respond. This grit would earn Butler honors as the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider. But Compton eventually pulled away from both and finished solo.

The announcing of new names in this field proved most impressive. Sally Annis ( scored sixth, ahead of 23-year-old phenom Amy Dombroski (Luna). The ride of 20-year old Ashley James (Kenda) to seventh, 24-year-old Teale Stetson Lee (California Giant/Specialized) in ninth, and 18-year-old Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale/ in 12th shocked many established elite women. (Antonneau had won two collegiate national track titles the day prior.)

The men's race saw another shocking confirmation of the arrival of U.S. 'cross. After an opening salvo by series leader Jeremy Powers (Cannondale/, a massive group formed at the front that included stars from France, Switzerland, Italy and Canada. From that bunch fired Johnson, who rapidly opened a gap as much a result of his offense as Powers' defense. The full-contact racing sparked some pushing, shoving and even some post-race words from Jonathan Page (Planet Bike), frustrated in front of his sponsors.

Eventually Powers' blocking allowed him a chance to escape on his own to finish second.

Farther back a savage battle erupted with Page, Swiss star Christian Heule (Champion Systems), France's Francis Mourey (FDJ), Canada's Geoff Kabush (Maxxis), Todd Wells (Specialized), Tristan Schouten (Planet Bike), Ryan Trebon (Kona), and the surprisingly strong Italians Davide Frattini (Hudtz Subaru) and Luca Damiani (Kenda). Damiani's early attacks and strong finish would earn him honors as the SRAM Most Aggressive rider. Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld star Jamey Driscoll, showed mettle in his recovery from a brilliant 'Cross Vegas result, dangling on the tail of the group but unable to provide assistance to his teammates.


USGP press release


1 Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike 0:43:29
2 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Pro Team 0:43:41
3 Susan Butler (USA) Hudz Subaru 0:44:10
4 Kathy Sherwin (USA) HUDZ Subaru 0:44:40
5 Meredith Miller (USA) 0:44:41
6 Sally Annis (USA) p/b JRA Cycles 0:44:42
7 Ashley James (USA) Team Kenda 0:44:51
8 Amy Dombroski (USA) Luna Pro Team 0:45:04
9 Teal Stetson-Lee (USA) California Giant/Specialized 0:45:05
10 Maureen Bruno-Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill 0:45:35
11 Andrea Smith (USA) LadiesFirst Racing 0:45:55
12 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale/ 0:46:15
13 Devon Haskell (USA) Bike Station Aptos 0:46:57
14 Carrie Cash-Wootten (USA) Team Vera Bradley Foundation 0:47:34
15 Linda Sone (USA) Planet Bike 0:47:34
16 Holly Klug (USA) Pony Shoop 0:47:38
17 Kimberly Flynn (USA) Grace Law-Trek p/b Vantaggio 0:48:13
18 Anne Schwartz (USA) Flying Rhino cycling club 0:48:28
19 Robin Williams (USA) Mercy-Specialized 0:48:37
20 Nicole Borem (USA) DRT Racing 0:48:53
21 Meghan Korol (USA) 0:48:56
22 Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) Team Plan C 0:49:44
DNF Emma Bast (USA) Team Plan C
1 Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale/ 1:01:19
2 Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/ 1:01:52
3 Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ 1:01:58
4 Christian Heule (Sui) Champion System 1:01:59
5 Tristan Schouten (USA) 1:02:00
6 Davide Frattini (Ita) HUDZ Subaru 1:02:01
7 Luca Damiani (Ita) Kenda Pro Cycling 1:02:02
8 Todd Wells (USA) Specialized 1:02:05
9 Ryan Trebon (USA) KONA 1:02:07
10 Jamey Driscoll (USA) Cannondale/ 1:02:10
11 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike 1:02:20
12 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis / Rocky Mountain 1:03:18
13 Sean Babcock (USA) KONA 1:03:28
14 Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder 1:03:31
15 Barry Wicks (USA) KONA 1:03:34
16 Adam Mcgrath (USA) Thule/Van Dessel Cyclocross 1:03:34
17 Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Van Goethem - Prorace 1:04:04
18 Ryan Knapp (USA) 1:04:18
19 Luke Keough (USA) Champion System p/b Keough Cycles 1:04:18
20 Mark Lalonde (USA) Specialized 1:04:33
21 Molly Cameron (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio 1:04:34
22 Jonathan Baker (USA) HUDZ Subaru 1:04:36
23 Mitchell Kersting (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Focus Bikes 1:04:37
24 Jeremy Ferguson (USA) California Giant/Specialized 1:04:44
25 Christopher Jones (USA) 1:05:16
26 Mike Sherer (USA) The Pony Shop 1:05:23
27 Joseph Schmalz (USA) KCCX/Verge Presented by Challenge Tires 1:05:28
28 Cody Kaiser (USA) Team Spine 1:05:42
29 David Hackworthy (USA) Clement CX 1:05:48
30 Brad Cole (USA) KCCX/Verge 1:05:53
31 Eric Muehl (USA) Industry Nine Factory 1:05:55
32 Tom Burke (USA) Specialized Michigan 1:05:55
33 Craig Richey (Can) p/b Blue 1:06:02
34 Frank Spiteri (USA) Peninsula Velo/Pomodoro 1:06:22
35 Justin Robinson (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized 1:06:43
36 Jared Stafford (Can) Bikesports Racing 1:06:45
37 Jordan Roessingh (USA) ISCorp Cycling Team/Nova Cycle 1:07:21
38 Kevin Mcconnell (USA) Mercy-Specialized Lapped
39 Clayton Omer (USA) Papa Johns' Racing Team Lapped
40 William Butcher (USA) Team Magnus Lapped
41 Erik Hamilton (USA) Lapped
42 Andrew Reardon (USA) Van Dessel / Real Design Lapped
43 Michael Hemme (USA) Courage Lapped
44 Josh Johnson (USA) DRT Racing Lapped
45 Isaac Neff (USA) Alderfer Bergen Lapped
46 Scott McLaughlin (USA) SRAM Factory Team Lapped
47 Adam Mills (USA) Mercy Elite Cycling Team Lapped
48 David Sachs (USA) Vision Quest Coaching Lapped
49 James Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike Lapped
50 Jake Helmbrecht (USA) Freewheel Bike Lapped
51 Bryan Fawley (USA) Dallas Bike Works - Dallas Meta Lapped
52 Logan Vonbokel (USA) KCCX/Verge Presented by Challenge Tires Lapped
53 Zachary Edwards (USA) DRT Racing Lapped
54 Bill Street (USA) Sisu custom cycles Lapped
DNF Troy Wells (USA)
DNF Rene Birkenfeld (Ger) Stevens
DNF Jesse Anthony (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies Pro
DNF Steve Fisher (USA) Rad Racing NW / Hagens Berman Llp
DNF Lee Unwin (USA) CycleOps
DNF Eric Emsky (USA) p/b Blue Competition Cycles
DNF Gregg Shanefelt (USA) ZWS/Cyclesport


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.