Canadian Cyclist


October 19/10 18:50 pm - University Cup Champions Announced

Posted by Editoress on 10/19/10

Queen's University and University of Guelph - 2010 University Cup Co-Champions October 17th in Port Hope, ON

The final race of the U-Cup season took place on this past Sunday at the Ganaraska Forest Conservation Area. After reviewing and re-calculating the scores, for the first time in University Cup history co-champions were announced!



University of Guelph Team


This is quite an amazing result given the number of racers and races involved in the four race series, plus a time trial and criterium. Both Queen's and Guelph fielded outstanding teams this year, and certainly embodied the fun spirit of U-Cup. Their names will appear together on the U-Cup trophy. The quality of competition this year was impressive, as was the number of first time racers who were able to see what cross country mountain bike racing was about. All races were luckily held under warm sun this year. Laughs and smiles abounded.



Queen's University Team


Racers representing 15 Universities and Colleges attended this year’s U-Cup events. All are looking forward to another great season next year. Congratulations, and all the best to those student athletes who are graduating this year.Trophy

University Cup Race # 4 - Results

Men's "A" Division (Expert)
1 Trevor Montague  (University of Guelph)
2 Bayden Pritchard  (University of Guelph)
3 Kelsey Krushel  (University of Ottawa)

Women's "A" Division (Expert)
1 Ashley Barson  (Fanshawe College)
2 Rachel O'Reilly  (University of Guelph)
3 Allison Beamish  (Queen’s University)

Men's "B" Division (Sport)
1 Robert Gutgesell  (University of Waterloo)
2 David Paradis  (UOIT)
3 Ross Hasley  (Queen's University)

Women's "B" Division (Sport)
1 Kimberly Hagesteijn  (Queen's University)
2 Jenni Vanos  (University of Guelph)
3 Alison Chan  (University of Guelph)

2010 University Cup – Overall Individual Champions

Men’s “A” Division  Etienne Moreau  (Queen’s University)

Women’s “A” Division  Ashley Barson  (Fanshawe College)

Men’s “B” Division  Dana Rea  (University of Guelph)

Women’s “B” Division  Kimberly Hagesteijn  (Queen’s University) 

Team Champion – University of Guelph / Queen’s University (Tie)

Courtesy David Wright, Ontario University Mountain Bike Race Council / U-Cup


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.