Canadian Cyclist


November 1/10 19:15 pm - 2010 BC Provincial Cyclo-cross Championships

Posted by Editoress on 11/1/10

Back for year # 2, the BC Provincial Cyclo-cross Championships are being held once again in spectacular Mahon Park, located in the heart of the City of North Vancouver, on Sunday, November 28th. Hosted by the Rocky Mountain/Different Bikes Cycling Team, racers can expect a new, very fun, fast yet technically challenging course - one that is worthy of a Provincial Champion.

After a great BC Cup Cyclo-cross series so far this year, with attendance at each event getting bigger and bigger, expect to see the province's best racers come out and battle for the prestigious honour of being Provincial Champion. Look for last year's Elite Men's Provincial Champion Evan Guthrie (Rocky Mountain) to be back to defend his title against a stacked field, with the likes of Tyler Trace (Trek - Red Truck), Craig Richey (, Rob Britton (Bissell Pro Cycling), Drew Mackenzie (Island Racing Club) and Kevin Noiles (La Bicicletta Pro Shop). Don't be too surprised if some sleepers show up out of the woodwork, like Rocky Mountain - Maxxis rider Geoff Kabush or Bend, Oregon's favourite Canadian cyclo-cross racer Chris Sheppard (Rocky Mountain p/b Shimano), or even full time roadie but true cyclo-cross lover United Healthcare/Maxxis team rider Andrew Pinfold. The calls have been made, so get training...

On the Elite Women's side, look out for UCI World # 1 ranked MTB rider Catherine Pendrel (Luna Pro team) to make an appearance after honing her 'Cross skills this fall. Not to be outdone, the Elite Women's field also features the likes of Jean Ann Berkenpas (Local Ride Racing), Mical Dyck (Trek Canada), Dawn Berg (Oak Bay Bikes) and Joele Guynup (island Racing Club).

In what is perhaps the hottest category going in the BC cyclo-cross, expect the Master Men's race to be a throw-down of epic proportions. Some serious competition has been battling all season long with Kim Steed (Steed Cycles), Bob Welbourn (Glotman Simpson), Bard Collins (Cannondale/BSP), Graeme Martindale (Frontrunners) all battling it out each weekend. Throw in a mix of the Vancouver Island's strong men like Norm Thibault (Frontrunners), John Fokkema (Rocky Mountain) and Steve Bachop (Island Racing Club) and the game is on...

Check out the following promotional video:

All registered racers will have the opportunity to enter a draw to win a 2010 Rocky Mountain Solo CXR frame and fork!

Pre-registration is now available online via Cycling BC:

Race Schedule:

10:00 am - 30 minute race
Citizen Open (for one-event and citizen license holders, Men & Women)
Junior Women 17-18
Under 17 (Men & Women)

11:00 am - 40 minute race
Master Men 50+
Master Women 30+
Junior Men

12:00 pm - 45 minute race
Master Men 30-39
Master Men 40-49

1:00 pm
Senior Women 19-29 (45 minute race)
Senior Men 19-29 (60 minute race)

For all event details, schedule, start times, driving directions check out the official race website at

There are lots and lots of great prizes to be awarded and some draw prizes that are worth sticking around for. Make sure you are present, as there will be no mailing...

A special thanks goes out to all of the sponsors who make this race possible: Cycles Lambert, Different Bikes, Rocky Mountain Bicycles, Planet Foods, Kicking Horse Coffee, Honey Stinger Ultima, Pedros, Lezyne, Maxxis, GORE Ride On Cables, Selle Italia, BC Bike Race, Cycling BC, Mark James Group and the City Of North Vancouver.

Any questions or comments on the event, contact the organizer: Kevin Calhoun at


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.