Canadian Cyclist


November 6/10 14:34 pm - National CycloCross Championships: Women and Jr Men UPDATES

Posted by Editoress on 11/6/10

The Elite women and Junior men are on course at the same time.  They will race for ~ 40 min (expected 4.5 laps)



After the short start lap

Junior Men:  Karl Hoppner (EMD Serono - Specialized CC) has the early lead


Women:  Wendy Simms (Ridley - FSA) got the holeshot.  Followed by Katy Curtis (Team Alberta) and Pepper Harlton (Team Alberta/Juventus Cycling Club).  Catharine Pendrel (Luna Pro Team) is sitting 5th followed by Natasha Elliott (Garneau- Club Chaussures)


Lap 1 (2:40 pm EST)


They are now out on the first full lap

Junior Men: Hoppner leading Felix Cote Bouvette (Vélo Sélect) by 3 sec and then Benjamin Perry (St. Catharines Cycling Club) is sitting 3rd at 4 sec back


Women:  There is a group of 4 away:  Simms, Curtis, Harlton,  and Elliot.  They have a 10 sec gap on Mical Dyck (Trek Canada).  Pendrel is 6th at 18 sec. Emily Batty (Trek World Racing) is 7th at 28 sec.  Leigh Hobson (The Hub Race Team) had a very bad start and is already 1 min back



2:50 pm


The sun has disappeared and the cloud cover is making it quite cold


Lap 3



At the half lap point

Junior Men:  Cote Bouvette has attacked and gone away.  There are 3 chasers: Tommy Beaulieu (Juventus Cycling),

Hoppner, and Perry now at 5+ seconds back.


Women:  At the end of lap 2 Harlton slid out on a corner while sitting 2nd on Simms wheel, allowing Sims to get away alone (briefly).  Curtis has now caught up to Simms and they have a 20 sec gap on Harlton and Elliot.  Pendrerl has now moved up to 5th, but is 40 sec back of the leaders





With 1 lap to go


Junior Men:  Benjamin Perry has now taken over the lead and has 20 seconds on Cote Bouvette.  Hoppner 3rd at 30 sec



Women:  Simms and Curtis leading.  Harlton with sitting 3rd at 10 sec back.  Elliot 4th at 15 sec. 



Large Map




Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.