Canadian Cyclist


November 14/10 19:01 pm - Hammer and The Anvil: Day 2

Posted by Editoress on 11/14/10

Locals win again at second race of cyclocross double-header

Sunday’s race in the Ride With Rendall double-header in Nepean once again fell to Ottawa-area residents Natasha Elliott and Derrick St. John.

Elliott (Garneau-Club Chaussures) easily rode away to victory on the technical course at the Nepean National Equestrian Park, this time ahead of Sophie Matte (Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery) and Julie Lafreniere, who swapped their podium positions from Saturday’s race.

The elite men’s race again got off to a blistering start and by the end of the first lap Saturday’s top two, St. John and Evan McNeely (EMD Serono-Specialized) opened up a gap over the rest of the field. But a tired McNeely wasn’t able to stay on St. John’s wheel and dropped back. While he held St. John at 10 seconds for a few laps, he gradually faded to finish 39 seconds back.

Meanwhile, behind the two leaders, Osmond Bakker, Matteo Dal-Cin, Conor O’Brien and Marc Boudreau formed a chase group which soon shattered under pressure from Bakker, who crossed the line in third, 2:34 behind the winner but 20 seconds ahead of Dal-Cin. Six seconds later O’Brien took a tight sprint for fifth ahead of Boudreau and Nathan Underwood.

Organizer Glen Rendall said the double-header weekend will be back in 2011 and he’s working on a bid for the 2012 national cyclocross championships.


By Kris Westwood


U13 Men
1 Stewart Melville (Kanata)
2 Liam Kerr (The Cyclery) 1:16
3 Connor Melville (Kanata) -2 laps
U13 Women
1 Rebecca Melville (Kanata)
U15 Men
1 Derek Gee (Ottawa Bicycle Club)
2 Albert Picard (VCM Cycle Regie) at 3:26
3 Alex Heroux (Nepean) 5:37
Master C Men
1 Chris Black (Ride With Rendall)
2 Cornelius Cluge (Cycledelia Road Racing Club) at 0:20
3 Peter Schuck (Ride With Rendall) 0:30
4 Drew Edwards ( 3:22
5 Paul Miller (Aquila Racer Sportif) 1 lap
Master B Men
1 Rob Orange (Ride With Rendall)
2 John Gee (Ride With Rendall) 0:36
3 Steve Bouvette (Velo Select) 0:44
4 Kris Westwood (The Cyclery) 0:59
5 Hans Loeffelholz ( 1:12
Master A Men
1 John Fee (The Cyclery)
2 Shawn Marshall (Les Rouleur de l’Outaouais) s.t.
3 Matt Surch (Tall Tree Cycles) at 0:36
4 Michel Henri (Iris) 1:30
5 Rob Parniak (Tall Tree Cycles) 1:49
U19 Men
1 Johan Patry (Ride With Rendall)
2 Edouard Tougas (Velo Select) 2:17
3 Derek Gee (Ottawa Bicycle Club) -5 laps
1 Natasha Elliott (Garneau-Club Chaussures)
2 Sophie Matte (Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery) at 2:11
3 Julie Lafreniere (Kunstadt Sports) 2:26
4 Jennifer Stevenson (7th Groove) 3:24
5 Trisha Spooer (Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery) 3:32
Elite Men
1 Derrick St. John (Garneau-Club Chaussures)
2 Evan McNeely (EMD Serono-Specialized) at 0:39
3 Osmond Bakker (La Bicicletta) 2:34
4 Matteo Dal-Cin ( 2:54
5 Conor O’Brien (EMD Serono-Specialized) 3:00



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.