Canadian Cyclist


December 25/10 19:03 pm - Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards - Update

Posted by Editor on 12/25/10

In the first 24 hours of voting for this year's Canadian Cyclist Awards we have seen double the number of votes cast from last year. In the voting for the top Female rider, double world track champion Tara Whitten leads mountain bike World Cup champion Catharine Pendrel by a slim margin.

For the top Male rider of the year, Tour de France star Ryder Hesjedal holds a considerable lead in the standings, ahead of national time trial champion Svein Tuft, with Road Worlds bronze medalist Guillaume Boivin in third.

The Best Individual Performance had an event added a few hours into the voting, when we initially (and accidently) left out the world title performance of Lyne Bessette and Robbi Weldon in the Tandem Road Worlds at the Para-cycling championships. This has now been added.

Ryder Hesjedal's 4th place in Stage 3 of the Tour de France jumped out to an early lead, but other events are gradually eroding that lead. In a three-way tie for second (and not far back from first) are Hesjedal's second at Amstel Gold and each of Tara Whitten's world title performances at the Track Worlds.

It is still early in the voting, so any rider or performance can still claim a 2010 Canadian Cyclist of the Year award. Place your votes Now!


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.