Canadian Cyclist


October 16/99 10:21 am - Sun Herald Tour, Lombardi, Vote!, Sprockids Award

Posted by Editor on 10/16/99

Sun Herald Tour, Australia

Stage 4 - Barwon Heads to Lome 70 km

1 Bart Heirewegh (Sunsmart) 1:35:48
2 Chris Lillywhite (City of Melbourne)
3 Tomas Konecny (Tyrepower)
4 Alessandro Pozzi (Caravello)
5 Michael Blaudzun (Home Jack & Jones) all s.t.
6 Graeme Miller (SEW - Eurodrive - Avanti) at 0:21
7 Brent McCaig (Transhepp)
8 Morgan Fox (Latrobe - Moe)
9 Eugene Moriarty (Latrobe - Moe)
10 Daniel Loprais (Tyrepower)

33 Eric Wohlberg (Australia Post) all s.t.

Stage 5 - Lome to Colac 58 km

1 Jan Hruska (Tyrepower) 1:22:40
2 Bart Heirewegh (Sunsmart)
3 David McKenzie (City of Melbourne)
4 Jamie Drew (Jayco - V.I.S) all s.t.
5 Eric De Clercq (Sunsmart) at 0:07
6 Brent McCaig (Transhepp) 0:37
7 Ciaran Power (Latrobe - Moe)
8 Christian Huele (Malaysia Airlines)
9 Morgan Fox (Latrobe - Moe)
10 Eugene Moriarty (Latrobe - Moe)

42 Eric Wohlberg (Australia Post) all s.t.


1 Bart Heirewegh (Sunsmart)
2 Tomas Konecny (Tyrepower) at 0:45
3 Nicolai Bo Larsen (Home Jack & Jones) 0:58
4 Jan Hruska (Tyrepower) 1:04
5 David McKenzie (City of Melbourne) 1:08
6 Michael Blaudzun (Home Jack & Jones) 1:22
7 Jamie Drew (Jayco - V.I.S) 1:24
8 Alessandro Pozzi (Caravello) 1:28
9 Corey Sweet (Echuca - Moama) 1:32
10 Eric Wohlberg (Australia Post) 1:39

Giro di Lombardi, Italy - Road World Cup

The final race of the World Cup is currently underway - the 262 kilometre Giro di Lombardi. Andrei Tchmil (Lotto) holds a comfortable 60 point lead over Michael Boogerd (Rabobank), but his title is by no means "in the bag". Stay tuned.


If you haven't noticed yet, there is a button in the upper left corner of your browser that, when clicked, opens a window for a one question survey. The first question concerns the location of national championships; specifically - should the CCA stick to the published plan of spreading them around the country, or should other factors (such as sponsor requests) limit the locations to major centres? Register your opinion.

Sprockids Founder Honoured

Doug Detwiller, founder of the tremendously successful Sprockids Mountain Bike Program, has been designated a Paul Harris Fellow by The Rotary Foundation. The international award is named after the founder of Rotary International.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.