Canadian Cyclist


October 21/99 6:52 am - Illawarra CC Race Results 17/10/99

Posted by Editor on 10/21/99

Another great day's racing was held at West Dapto last weekend, forty two riders took part in the 37.5km scratch races. The fine weather and very little wind saw all the grades record some very reasonable times.

Craig Williams continued on his winning ways but he had to work hard for the victory. Hans Batteard again started the race off at a blistering pace and was joined by Tony Pulo nearing the half way turn on the first lap. The two worked well together but the bunch brought them back by the end of the first lap. Brendan Cato rode well for his first race in A grade especially since he is on under 17 restricted gearing. Several other riders rode well on the day as well Brendan Scollary, Brian Joyce and Graham Creed. When Craig Williams made the winning move only Neil Williams was able to go with him, Craig won the sprint from Neil with Peter Jones taking out the bunch sprint.

B grade maintained a good average throughout the whole race distance, but that did not deter several riders from attempting to break away. Rob Calladine was very active during the entire race, Terry Wall and Peter Kelly also had a few digs during the race. As the riders ascended Hooker hill for the last time Mark Scott took the opportunity to attack, after gaining a small break Scott continued with the pressure and built a handy gap which he maintained all the way to the finish. Not wanting to contest a sprint finish Paul Blackwood launched his own attack with two kilometres to go and held off the chasing bunch to take out second place. In the bunch finish Mick Kejda rolled Garry Doughty on the line for third. Lionel Covington and Peter Evans also had good rides.

One of these days Phil Cuifo will attack at the start, as he always does, and not be seen again until the finish. Last Sunday was not his day but he keeps trying. The workload was evenly shared amongst most of the C grade bunch. There were not too many serious attacks due to the pace being kept constantly high by Paul DuBois, Scott Turnbull, Graham Ward, Eddy Gregoratto and Cuifo. When they lined up for the sprint it was the evergreen Gordon Allen who showed them a clean pair of heals, followed over the line by Paul DuBois and Sid Brown.

The D grade race was also a very close affair with most of the riders being evenly matched. The hard luck story belonged to Rebecca Borg who had to pull out due to mechanical problems. New rider Adam Hotchkis learnt quickly and rode well in the bunch. Matt Jones and Hotchkis broke away as they approached the finish with Jones' experience helping him out sprint Hotchkis for the win. The minor place was filled by Jack Laajoki.

There is no club race next weekend as the riders will be participating in the Rapidcool teams duathlon, starting at 10am from Dapto High.

Several riders have been flying the club colours at open events over the last few weeks. Jack Laajoki rode very well at the Australian Masters Games in Adelaide, he was able to finish in the top ten in all three races he contested. Last weekend was the Hunter Valley 2 day tour for masters and women. Bethany McCarthy rode exceptionally well in the B grade women's races to record a fourth in the criterium and fifth in the road race. Although they didn't figure in the overall placings, Frank Soto and Frank Tortorici rode well on both days and certainly enjoyed their racing.


A Grade
1Craig Williams0:57:25
2Neil WilliamsS/T
3Peter Jones0:57:42
4Brendan CatoS/T
5Austin PitmanS/T
6Richard LorencS/T
7Graham CreedS/T
8Brian JoyceS/T
9Tony PuloS/T
10Marcus ArnoldS/T
11Hans BatteardS/T
12Brendan ScollaryS/T
B Grade
1Mark Scott0:58:56
2Paul Blackwood0:58:57
3Mick Kejda0:58:59
4Garry DoughtyS/T
5Terry WallS/T
6Rob CalladineS/T
7Lionel CovingtonS/T
8Peter EvansS/T
9Mick LockyerS/T
10Anthony DeboerS/T
11Peter KellyS/T
C Grade
1Gordon Allen1:02:31
2Paul DuboisS/T
3Sid BrownS/T
4Phil CuifoS/T
5Joe PereiraS/T
6Carlo PaiolaS/T
7Mark OwenS/T
8Graham WardS/T
9Scott TurnbullS/T
10Eddy GregorattoS/T
11Pat Delahunty1:11:40
D Grade
1Matt Jones1:09:09
2Adam HotchkisS/T
3Jack Laajoki1:09:12
4Josh Wall1:09:18
5Max BakerS/T
6Ern Wickstrom1:15:10
Rebecca BorgMech Prob


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.