Canadian Cyclist


October 21/99 10:09 am - Track Worlds, 'Cross Nationals, Quebec Awards

Posted by Editor on 10/21/99

World Track Championships - Berlin, Germany

Day 2 Evening Session

Women's Sprint - 1/8 Finals

Felicia Ballanger (Fra) beat Lyndelle Higginson (Aus) 12.091
Yan Wang (Chn) beat Jennie reed (USA) 12.535
Michelle Ferris (Aus) beat Katrin Meinke (Ger) 12.591
Tanya Dubnicoff (Can) beat Szilvia Szabolcsi (Hun) 12.074
Kathrin Freitag (Ger) beat Cuihua Jiang (Chn) 12.646
Oksana Grichina (Rus) beat Magali Faure (Fra) 12.324

Olympic Sprint Final

1 FRANCE (GANE, ROUSSEAU, TOURNANT) 44.848 (60.203 kmph)
3 GERMANY 45.364
4 AUSTRALIA 45.687
5 GREECE 45.666
6 JAPAN 46.328

Team Pursuit - 1/4 Finals

Russia (4:05.9) beat Australia (4:09.1)
Ukraine (4:04.7) beat Great Britain (4:07.7)
Germany (4:03.5) beat New Zealand (caught)
France (4:03.6) beat Spain (4:11.2)

In other Track Worlds news - it looks like Canada's 14th place finish in the Olympic Sprint means that they will not be able compete at the Olympics next year in this event (only top 12 qualify at the Worlds).

'Cross Nationals

We have been informed that one day licences will be available at the Nationals.

Quebec Cycling Awards
(courtesy Pierre Thibault, FQSC)

The FQSC will hold on Sunday October 24, in Mont Sainte-Anne, its annual awards presentation and will also induct three new members in the Québec Cycling Hall of Fame.

The Athlete by Excellence award will recognize the male and female performances in mountain bike, road/track and BMX. This year, the top female athletes clearly outperform their male conterparts.

Lyne Bessette, 10th in the road UCI ranking, and Geneviève Jeanson, twice world champion at the Junior World Championship are ex aequo winners of the road/track title. Mélanie Dorion takes the number one place in mountain bike with a 19th position in the UCI world ranking. Mélanie Desrochers, 38th in the UCI BMX ranking and participant to the World BMX Championhip wins the title in this sector.

Eric Tourville, Canadian cross-country champion, Charles Dionne, time trial Canadian champion and Patrick Dionne, participant to the World BMX Championship, all win the 1999 title in their respective discipline.

The Elite Club of the Year award goes to the Oryx-Procycle Team in mountain bike, to the Club Espoirs de Laval-Naya on road/track and to the Club BMX Mauricycle-La Tuque. The top international/national events of the year are the Tour Trans Canada on road, the Diesel-UCI Downhill World Cup event in Bromont and the Eastern Canadian BMX Championship in Crabtree.

The Québec Cycling Hall of Fame will induct three new members in 1999. Marc Lemay, former president of the FQSC and the CCA, is involved with the UCI Mountain Bike Committee since 1990. He has been particularly noticed for his contribution with the inclusion of mountain bike in UCI and the cross-country event at the Olympic Games since 1996 in Atlanta. He will be inducted in the builder category. In the athlete's category, Magella Tremblay and Marc Blouin will also join the prestigious group established since 1986. They have put their mark on Québec and Canadian cycling history with the Québec team and the Canadian cycling team in the '70, participating to many major international events.

Mountain Bike - Eric Tourville, Sainte-Foy
Road & Track - Charles Dionne, Saint-Rédempteur
BMX - Patrick Dionne, La Tuque

Mountain Bike - Mélanie Dorion, Deux-Montagnes
Road & Track - Lyne Bessette, Knowlton & Geneviève Jeanson, Lachine
BMX - Mélanie Desrochers, Crabtree

Junior Men
Mountain Bike - Mathieu Laurin, Vaudreuil
Road & Track - Dominique Rollin, Boucherville
BMX - Francis Hogue, Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines

Junior Women
Mountain Bike - Julie Sanders, Beauport
Road & Track - Catherine Pouliot-Bernard, Cap-Rouge
BMX - Annick Lévesque, Saint-Luc

Espoir Men
Mountain Bike - Frédéric Bussière, Sainte-Foy
Road & Track - Frédéric Millette, Repentigny
BMX - Alex Hébert, La Tuque

Espoir Women
Mountain Bike - Anne-Marie Jobin, Loretteville
Road & Track - Andrey Lemieux, Alma
BMX - Sabrina Montour, Saint-Louis-de-France

Master Men
Mountain Bike - Richard Tétreault, Drummondville
Road & Track - Marc Lapointe, Drummondville

Master Women
Mountain Bike - Nancy Manning, Chelsea
Road & Track - Wendy Van der Weyden, Pierrefonds

Mountain Bike - Lucie Marcoux, La Beauport
Road & Track - Nicolas Tremblay, Alma
BMX - Guillaume Pronovost, La Tuque

Mountain Bike - France Champagne, Charlesbourg
Road & Track - Lucette Bergeron, Laval
BMX - Daniel Demers, Pointe-du-Lac

Mountain Bike - Marc Deschênes, Alma
Road & Track - (Prix Richard Michaud) Bernard Vives, Ville Mont-Royal
BMX - Mario Béland, Cap-de-la-Madeleine

Development Club
Mountain Bike - club Viromax, Otterburn Park
Road & Track - club Espoirs de Laval-Naya
BMX - club BMX -Cap-de-la-Madeleine

High Performance Club
Mountain Bike - Equipe Oryx, Saint-Georges de Beauce
Road & Track - Club Espoirs de Laval-Naya
BMX - club BMX -La Tuque

Provincial Organization (Regional or Provincial)
Mountain Bike - Finale des Jeux du Québec - Alma
Road & Track - Finale des Jeux du Québec - Alma
BMX - Championship of Québec - La Tuque

National or International Organization
Mountain Bike - Downhill World Cup, Bromont
Road & Track - Tour Trans-Canada
BMX - Eastern Canadian Championships - Crabtree

Award of Distinction
Mountain Bike - Bill Hurley, Chelsea - XC Master World Champion 30-34

President Award
Road & Track - Geneviève Jeanson, Lachine - Double World Junior Champion

Quebec Cycling Hall of Fame

Athlete - Magella Tremblay, Montréal and Marc Blouin, Saint-Augustin de Desmaures
Builder - Marc Lemay, Rouyn-Noranda


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.