Canadian Cyclist


April 5/11 17:04 pm - Circuit Cycliste Sarthe: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 04/5/11

Today was the first day of racing at Circuit Cycliste Sarthe - Pays de la Loire, won by Daniele Bennati (Leopard Trek) . Team Spidertech p/b C10's Keven Lacombe finished 6th in the bunch sprint.

SpiderTech Team Director Steve Bauer describes today's race:

The game plan at the outset is to win the overall. Svein Tuft has been riding very strong and we believe he may be able to surprise in the Time Trial tomorrow. We knew Leopard Trek was bringing Benatti to win the stages and possibly the overall.

Our strategy was to be vigilant on the front of the race, not necessarily go into breakaways but to be sure to protect our interest in the overall if we needed to chase. We did not want to waste energy unnecessarily because we felt Leopard would control.

Sure enough, Leopard Trek took control of the race. Two of their riders went into a breakaway and the Leopard riders set tempo. The duo took the bonus seconds of three and two for both of the first sprints. After the first break was caught, Thomas Voekler was very active but to no avail. One Big Mat rider went clear with 83 kilometres to go, only to engage the Leopard team once more to control the race. Into the four final circuits of 6.4 kilometres each, it was evident that the most likely scenario of a bunch sprint would occur. Keven Lacombe wanted to do the sprint without support and not risking our team before the Time Trial. Keven finished an excellent sixth place.

"We are pleased with a relaxed, relatively easy day before the two split stages tomorrow with 97 kilometres in the morning and the all important 6.8 kilometre Time Trial in the afternoon. We are confident in Svein's ability to do a good ride," says Bauer

Lacombe commented after the finish: "I have good legs and felt strong in the final kilometres but I think I am still lacking some speed for the final 150-metre kick. The goals of the team are for General Classification and for Svein but I will still shoot for the sprints if the chance permits again."

Stage 1: Le Chateau d'Olonne to Saint Mars La Jaille, 189.9 km
1 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Leopard Trek 4:50:56
2 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne
3 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ
4 Juan Pablo Forero (Col) Colombia Es Pasion
5 Jure Kocjan (Slo) Team Type1-Sanofi Aventis
6 Kevin Lacombe (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10
7 Anthony Ravard (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale
8 Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
9 Mates Gnezda (Slo) Adria Mobil
10 Fabien Bacquet (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
11 Blaz Jarc (Slo) Adria Mobil
12 Ino Ilesic Aldo (Slo) Team Type1-Sanofi Aventis
13 Gregory Habeaux (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent
14 Tony Hurel (Fra) Team Europcar
15 Alexandre Geniez (Fra) Skil - Shimano
16 Romain Hardy (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
17 Michel Kreder (Ned) Team Garmin - Cervelo
18 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Team Garmin - Cervelo
19 Blaz Furdi (Slo) Adria Mobil
20 Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
21 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
22 Biel Kadri (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale
23 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) Ag2r La Mondiale
24 Rein Taramae (Est) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne
25 Johannes Frohlinger (Ger) Skil - Shimano
26 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia Es Pasion
27 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent
28 Marco Haller (Aut) Adria Mobil
29 Laurent Mangel (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
30 R‚mi Cusin (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne
31 Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil
32 Nicolas Bazin (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
33 Anthony Geslin (Fra) FDJ
34 Luca Barla (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
35 Luis Felipe Laverde (Col) Colombia Es Pasion
36 Daniel Lloyd (Gbr) Team Garmin - Cervelo
37 Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent
38 Thoi Rohrreger (Aut) Leopard Trek
39 Svein Tuft (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10
40 Ronan Racault (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
41 Davide Vigano (Ita) Leopard Trek
42 Sebastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
43 Ryan Anderson (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10
44 Francois Parisien (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10
45 Christophe Riblon (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale
46 Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne
47 David Zabriskie (USA) Team Garmin - Cervelo
48 Mitja Mahoric (Slo) Adria Mobil
49 Sylvain Calzati (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
50 Jonathan McCarty (USA) Team Spidertech p/b C10
51 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
52 Valery Kobzarenko (Ukr) Team Type1-Sanofi Aventis
53 Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne
54 Juan Pablo Villegas (Col) Colombia Es Pasion
55 Aleksandr Efimkin (Rus) Team Type1-Sanofi Aventis
56 Simon Geschke (Ger) Skil - Shimano
57 Hugo Sebastien Salazar (Col) Colombia Es Pasion
58 Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
59 Christophe Kern (Fra) Team Europcar
60 Romain Bacon (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
61 Matthieu Sprick (Fra) Skil - Shimano
62 Laszlo Bodrogi (Fra) Team Type1-Sanofi Aventis
63 Julien Loubet (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale
64 Peter Stetina (USA) Team Garmin - Cervelo
65 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar
66 St‚phane Bonsergent (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
67 David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin - Cervelo
68 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne
69 Cyril Bessy (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
70 Thierry Hupond (Fra) Skil - Shimano
71 Kevin Van Melsen (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent
72 Paul Poux (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
73 Thomas Degand (Bel) Veranda's Willems-Accent
74 Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
75 Luca Solari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
76 Gael Malacarne (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
77 Arnaud Gerard (Fra) FDJ
78 Javier Megias Leal (Esp) Team Type1-Sanofi Aventis
79 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar
80 Antonio Santoro (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
81 Jonathan Thire (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
82 Kevin Reza (Fra) Team Europcar
83 Jacobus Venter (RSA) Veranda's Willems-Accent
84 J.E. Chaves Rubio (Col) Colombia Es Pasion
85 Flavien Dassonville (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
86 Will Routley (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10
87 Benoit Vaugrenard (Fra) FDJ
88 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale
89 Johan Lebon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
90 Martin Pedersen (Den) Leopard Trek
91 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) FDJ
92 S‚bastien Joly (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
93 Yann Huguet (Fra) Skil - Shimano all s.t.
94 Oliver Zaugg (Sui) Leopard Trek 1:18
95 William Clarke (Aus) Leopard Trek s.t.
96 Anthony Charteau (Fra) Team Europcar 2:00


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.