Canadian Cyclist


November 14/99 5:06 am - Illawarra CC Race Results 14/11/99

Posted by on 11/14/99

Criterium racing is always fast, add to that a strong north westerly, temperatures in the mid to high 20's and a club championship up for grabs and you have a great mornings racing and viewing.

Each of the four grades did not disappoint. D grade started the mornings racing with a reasonable sized field of eight riders taking part. The early pace setting was evenly shared around. About mid race distance Adam Hotchkis put the pressure on which split the field. Jaclyn Kejda, Josh Wall and Max Baker all made the cut. Hotchkis made most of the running from then on. As they approached the finish Hotchkis took off and was not headed to the line. Kejda came in second with Wall third. As Hotchkis was not a member, Baker was elevated to third place.

In the early laps of C grade it looked like the bunch would stay together, but at half race distance Mark Owen launched a blistering attack. Owen showed his strength by staying away lap after lap even though the bunch was trying to pull him back. The chase came with five minutes to go from Paul DuBois, Phil Cuifo and Adrian White. With a bit over a lap to go Cuifo surged and it looked like White was dropped, but the as the bunch slowed in the back straight White got back on and immediately counter attacked and was not headed all the way to the line. Cuifo was second with DuBois third.

The early stage of the B grade race was also steady until Andrew Telford attacked. As the bunch was trying to catch Telford, Mick Lockyer launched his attack, unfortunately Telford was unable to stay with Lockyer and went back to the bunch. Lockyer persevered and lap after lap he pulled further and further away from the bunch until he eventually lapped the whole field, a fine display of riding and power. Although several others attempted to get away non were able to until the last few laps when Mick Kejda did. Telford tried to catch him but was unable. At the finish it was Lockyer, Kejda and Telford. Dave Gray and Lionel Covington also put in strong rides.

Marcus Arnold went right from the start in A grade and gained a third of a lap in the first three laps. One of the hot favourites, Guy Mathiske left the bunch in pursuit of Arnold and caught him several laps later. Arnold tired and went back to the bunch and Mathiske thought better of staying out there by himself for the rest of the race and also went back. Chris Brown immediately attacked and over the next ten laps was able to lap the whole field, a terrific ride for the conditions especially taking into account the class of the field. Mathiske had tried to get away again with Austin Pitman but unfortunately Pitman punctured. Brown, Mathiske and Frank Tortorici pulled away from the rest of the bunch and stayed away till the finish where Mathiske just pipped Tortorici for second place in a very very tight finish.

Next week's race is race one of the summer 18km time trial series. The talking point is whether Jono Hall will be able to beat his own course record or not. Hall is resting/training in Wollongong at the moment in the lead up to the Oceania Games.


A Grade - 30 Minutes + 3 Laps
1Chris BrownLapped Field
2Guy Mathiske32:43
3Frank TortoriciS/T
4Brendan Cato33:18
5Tony PuloS/T
6Graham Creed33:29
Ryan ParkDNF
Mal HaighDNF
Austin PitmanDNF
Marcus ArnoldDNF
Brendan ScollaryDNF
B Grade - 25 Minutes + 3 Laps
1Mick LockyerLapped Field
2Mick Kejda27:36
3Andrew Telford27:45
4Garry Doughty27:49
5Lionel CovingtonS/T
6Justin Jarvis (Non Member)S/T
7Terry WallS/T
8Peter KellyS/T
9Gordon AllenS/T
10Dave GrayS/T
11Carlo Paiola (Non Member)S/T
C Grade - 20 Minutes + 3 Laps
1Adrian White23:04
2Phil Cuifo23:06
3Paul DuboisS/T
4Mark OwenS/T
5Matt Jones23:46
6Joe PerieraS/T
7Scott TurnbullS/T
8Grant FarrS/T
Bethany McCarthyDNF
Joe ChiaveriniDNF
Pat DelahuntyDNF
D GRADE - 15 minutes + 3 laps
1Adam Hotchkis (Non Member)17:34
2Jaclyn Kejda17:37
3Josh Wall17:40
4Max Baker17:53
5Rebecca BorgoLapped
Ian CooperDNF
John KejdaDNF
Ern Wickstrom DNF


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.