Canadian Cyclist


November 21/99 9:45 am - McGrath & Sheppard Sign, 'CC Award Standings, 'Cross

Posted by Editor on 11/21/99

McGrath and Sheppard Sign With Haro

Team Haro/Lee Dungarees is pleased to announce both the re-signing of third year man Seamus McGrath and also the return of Chris Sheppard after a two year hiatus. Along with the riders, Haro welcomes Lee Dungarees (a division of Lee Jeans) as co-title sponsor. These two riders will compete in NORBA National Series, UCI Stage races, and select World Cup appearances. Of note: McGrath has qualified for the Canadian Olympic team and Sheppard is half way there. The riders are currently finalising negotiations with cosponsors.

Canadian Cyclist Awards

We are well into the voting for the 1999 Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards. In the Male Rider category, Gord Fraser has a commanding lead over Seamus McGrath and Roland Green, who are neck and neck for second. Genevieve Jeanson leads the Female category, but Alison Sydor is quickly making up ground - this may be a real battle. In the Best Individual Performance, Jeanson is well out in front, with as many votes as all other nominees combined. Eric Tourville is a distant second.

However, there is still nearly two weeks left to vote and, as we have seen in past years, the positions can change drastically within 24 hours. Register your vote at CC Awards.

SuperCup 'Cross #5 - Seattle


1 Bart Bowen 1:06:35
2 Marc Gullickson (Voo Doo / Boulder) at 0:34
3 Damon Kluck (Real Wheel/Voo Doo) 1:25
4 David Wyaudt (Palo Alto / Kestuel) 1:37
5 Justin Robinson (Vos Dos) 2:01
6 Johannes Huseby (Independent Fabrication) 2:19
7 Peter Webber (Independent Fabrication) 2:40
8 Jamil Hahl 2:53
9 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (B/D Couriers) 3:02
10 Brandon Dwight (Trek/VW/Powerbar) 3:08


1 Anne Grande (Red Line Racing) 48:44
2 Shari Kain (Polo Sport) at 0:21
3 Emily Thorne (ECV / Independent Fabrication) 0:57
4 Jen Dial (Independent Fabrications) 1:20
5 Rachel Lloyd (Gary Fisher / Saab) 1:30
6 Mary McConneloug (Gunnar Cycles) 1:45
7 Gina Hall (Clif Bar) 1:55
8 Stacey Peter (Safeway Saturn) 2:36
9 Katie Blincoe (Redline) 3:01
10 Ingrid Spies (Seattle Velo / Armondos) 4:04

Happy Birthday To...

Jason Crookham - today.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.