Canadian Cyclist


May 1/11 13:54 pm - US Crits Speedweek: Terrapin Twilight Criterium men's results

Posted by Editoress on 05/1/11

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team Returns to US Racing with a Bang as Boy Van Poppel Takes Second at the 2011 Athens Twilight Criterium

The UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team marked its return to racing in the United States tonight at the 32nd Annual Athens Twilight Criterium in Athens, Georgia, and the Blue Train did not disappoint. Dutch speedster Boy Van Poppel (NED) took control of the race early and helped lead the highly-charged first year Pro Continental squad to a second place finish in front of what proved to be nothing short of an electrifying crowd in Athens. Van Poppel's podium visit marks the Team's 9th overall on the year and 24th top 10 finish of the season.

"Tonight, this Team rode an excellent race and we are proud of their effort," said General Manager and Team Director Mike Tamayo. "We've been racing in Europe for the past few months and the hard miles the guys have put in over there paid off tonight. They did an excellent job leading Boy Van Poppel out and Boy did his job getting us on the podium. We congratulate Luca Damiani (Team Kenda) tonight's winner, who rode well and was just a bit quicker than Boy."

When asked about his second place finish, Van Poppel stated, "I'm happy with my performance. This crowd was amazing and the energy level kept us going throughout the race. My Teammates were incredible and fortunately, we were able to do what we set out to do. This is going to be a great week and we're looking forward to tomorrow."

Van Poppel leads a UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team roster that includes last year's (2010) Athens Twilight Criterium champion, Karl Menzies (AUS), along with Adrian Hegyvary (USA), Hilton Clarke (AUS), Jonny Clarke (AUS), Jake Keough (USA), Andrew Pinfold (CAN), and Brad White (USA).

But before they took to the streets of Athens this evening the Team made a special visit to the children in the pediatric ward of Athens Regional Medical Center earlier this morning. "Visiting the kids at the hospital was a great experience for all involved. We always want to make sure we are inspiring and giving back to the kids every chance we get," said Tamayo. "Our title sponsor, UnitedHealthcare's UnitedHealthcare Children's Foundation (UHCCF), is the nonprofit organization we support. Riding for the kids tonight meant a lot to us so it was great having the opportunity to share with them this morning then race well tonight. Hopefully, that will inspire them even more."

Press release


Pro Men
1 Luca Damiani (Kenda/5-Hour Energy Pro Cycling) 36:57.0
2 Boy Vanpoppel (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) 36:57.1
3 Christian Helmig (ELBOWZ RACING) 36:58.4
4 Andrew Dahlheim (BISSELL Pro Cycling) 36:58.8
5 Carlos Alzate Escobar (Team Exergy) 37:57.5
6 Eric Marcotte (SKLZ-Pista Palace) 37:58.4
7 Karl Menzies (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) 38:56.9
8 Stefan Swecker (FGS Elite Cycling Team) 38:57.1
9 Jacob Keough (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) 38:57.3
10 Eric Barlevav (Team Exergy) 38:57.5
11 Luke Keough (Team Mountain Khakis p/b Smart) 38:57.8
12 Hilton Clarke (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) 38:58.0
13 Joey Rosskopf (Team Type 1-Development) 38:58.1
14 Paddy Bevin (BISSELL Pro Cycling) 38:58.5
15 Tom Scully (Chipotle Development Team) 38:59.6
16 Yosvany Falcon ( Pro Cycling Tea) 38:59.8
17 David Guttenplan (Four2One Sports/ Chemstar-Unite) 38:59.8
18 Euris Rafael Vidal (Foundation/CRCA) 38:59.9
19 Raymond Kreder (Chipotle Development Team) 39:00.2
20 Clayton Barrows (Stan's NoTubes / AXA Equitable) 39:00.3
21 Adam Thuss (Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes) 39:00.8
22 Lisban Quintero (Foundation/CRCA) 39:01.1
23 Neil Bezdek (Team Mountain Khakis p/b Smart) 39:01.6
24 Adam Carr (Wonderful Pistachios) 39:02.0
25 Zachary Davies (Fly V Australia) 39:02.2
26 Brian Toone (Tria Market p/b 39:02.8
27 Gavriel Epstein (Chipotle Development Team) 39:03.3
28 Timothy Brown (XO Communications / Battley Har) 39:03.4
29 Joseph Schmalz (ELBOWZ RACING) 39:03.7
30 Jordan Heimer (Locos Grill & Pub) 39:03.7
31 Tyler Jewell (ELBOWZ RACING) 39:03.7
32 Serghei Tvetcov (Aerocat Cycling Team) 39:03.8
33 David Forkner (Foundation/CRCA) 39:05.3
34 Christopher Monteleone (Kenda/5-Hour Energy Pro Cycling) 39:05.5
35 Ed Veal (Jet Fuel Coffee/La Bicicletta) 39:05.8
36 Colin Jaskiewicz (Unattached) 39:06.0
37 Emerson Oronte (Jelly Belly Cycling Team p/b Ke) 39:06.4
38 Alder Martz (Hincapie Development team) 39:06.8
39 Clay Murfet (RideClean p/b Patentit) 39:07.7
40 Thomas Brown (Team Mountain Khakis p/b Smart) 39:08.1
41 Oscar Clark ( Pro Cycling Tea) 39:08.7
42 Ryan Dewald (XO Communications / Battley Har) 39:12.0
43 Michael Niemi (Gearlink Racing Inc.) 39:12.1
44 Evan Fader (Kelly Benefit Strategies/LSV) 39:12.1
45 Thacker Reeves (Chipotle Development Team) 39:12.2
46 Mat Stephens (ELBOWZ RACING) 39:12.3
47 Patrick Allison (Tria Market p/b 39:12.4
48 Artur Sagat (LITESPEED-BMW) 39:12.7
49 Daniel Zmolik (Stan's NoTubes / AXA Equitable) 39:12.9
50 Britton Kinnard (Harpeth Bicycle Racing Team) 39:13.1
51 Travis Livermon (Team Mountain Khakis p/b Smart) 39:13.2
52 Heath Blackgrove (ELBOWZ RACING) 39:14.2
53 Alejandro Guzman (Foundation/CRCA) 39:14.5
54 Brendan Cornett (Locos Grill & Pub) 39:14.6
55 Jared Nieters (XO Communications / Battley Har) 39:14.8
56 Robert Giannini (Locos Grill & Pub) 39:15.4
57 Michael Midlarsky ( Pro Cycling Tea) 39:15.6
58 Frank Travieso ( Pro Cycling Tea) 39:15.9
59 Kyle Knott (Team Globalbike p/b Catoma Adve) 39:16.0
60 Ryan Fleming (MetLife Cycling Team) 39:16.0
61 Karel Sumbal (Gearlink Racing Inc.) 39:16.2
62 Adam Myerson (Team Mountain Khakis p/b Smart) 39:16.3
63 J. Gabriel Lloyd (MetLife Cycling Team) 39:20.8
64 Cody Johnson (DIY Music p/b AYC) 39:20.9
65 Ty Magner (Team Type 1-Development) 39:20.9
66 Charles Eldridge (Team Type 1-Sanofi Aventis) 39:20.9
67 Jerome Townsend (Team Mountain Khakis p/b Smart) 39:20.9
68 Brad White (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) 39:21.0
69 Austin Roach (MetLife Cycling Team) 39:21.0
70 Remi Mcmanus (Team Exergy) 39:21.0
71 John Loehner (Stan's NoTubes / AXA Equitable) 39:21.0
72 Julian Cabra (Metro Reprographics) 39:21.0
73 Alexander Bremer (Foundation/CRCA) 39:21.1
74 Chad Burdzilauskas (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team) 39:21.6
75 Brendan Sullivan (Iron Data Racing) 39:21.7
76 Mike Stone (Hincapie Development Team) 39:21.8
77 Justin Lowe (Hincapie Development team) 39:22.4
78 Benjamin Zawacki (Team Mountain Khakis p/b Smart) 39:22.6
79 Andrew Gonzales (ELBOWZ RACING) 39:22.7
80 Daniel Ramsey (Full Circle Sports) 39:22.7
81 JD Bergmann (Team Clif Bar) 39:22.8
82 Craig Logan (ind) 39:28.0
83 Tim Hall ( 39:29.0
84 John Stowe (Georgia Neurosurgical Institute) 39:29.2
85 Stephen Leotis (Hub) 39:29.3
86 Josh Oxendine (DIY Music p/b AYC) 39:29.7
87 Joseph Whitman (Stan's NoTubes / AXA Equitable) 39:32.6
88 Adam Britton (Metro Reprographics) 39:33.2
89 Edison Turner (Hincapie Development team) 39:34.3
90 Steven Meyer (Jet Fuel Coffee/La Bicicletta) 39:35.4
91 Kevin Hazzard (Jet Fuel Coffee/La Bicicletta) 39:35.5
92 Juan Pablo Dotti (Aerocat Cycling Team) 39:35.8
93 Benjamin Smith (Locos Grill & Pub) 39:36.5
94 Joshua Carter (Aerocat Cycling Team) 39:38.1
95 Andrew Crater (Aerocat Cycling Team) 39:40.5
96 Nicklaus Kiernan (ELBOWZ RACING) 39:42.0
97 Isaac Howe (Kenda/5-Hour Energy Pro Cycling) 39:44.3
98 Robert White (Kenda/5-Hour Energy Pro Cycling) 39:47.5
99 Jonathan Clarke (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) 39:57.2
100 Craig Dodson (Richmond Pro Cycling) 40:05.7
101 Andrew Pinfold (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) 40:12.4
102 Jason Short (Hotter'N Hell Hundred / MSU Cyc) 50:23.4
DQ Tyler Karnes (Hincapie Development team)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.