Canadian Cyclist


May 9/11 9:37 am - Blizzard Bike Club News

Posted by Editoress on 05/9/11

Blizzard Bike Club, Fort St John BC

Pat Ferris won the King of Spring and Jennifer  Szoo won the Queen of Spring trophy, Sunday on the Montney road circuit. The weather was superb for the 14 riders who came out.

Pat Ferris edged out George Gamble (Taylor) and Irvin Tang in a close, race end sprint finish. They all had a time of 1:50:23 hours for the 60 km distance. Roger St. Jean was 4th at 1:55:20, Gary Hilderman and Bruce Jamieson 1:58:43, Dean Lowry 2:06:26, Sam Keats 2:06:50, Owen Giebelhaus 2:12:13 and Davide Loro 2:21:24.

Richard Moody won the 20 km event with 43:47 minutes. Adam Currie was second at 44:42. Jennifer Szoo was first woman across the line at 44:51 to win the Queen of Spring trophy. Hilda Bilodeau was close behind in second at 45:40.

Thanks to Jamie Gamble for timing!

The pack of 14 started at the ‘Wood’ corner of the Montney road under warm and low wind conditions. Irvin Tang caused a split at the hill to the Beatton Park road. Pat Ferris, George Gamble and Irvin Tang left the pack behind. Roger St. Jean caught the lead group briefly but was dropped on a hill and chased on, alone.  The lead group headed for the finish line with Irvin Tang doing a strong early sprint which forced Pat Ferris and George Gamble to chase up. Pat Ferris caught and then attacked to get to the finish line just ahead of George Gamble and Irvin Tang. This is Pat Ferris third 'King' win in the past four years.

Coming up:

-Tuesday Duathlon at 7 pm from the Baldonnel School

-Thursday Baldonnel time trial at 7 pm

-Sunday is the first Challenge Cup race in Grande Prairie at 11 am (10 – BC time) starting at O’Brien Park.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.