Canadian Cyclist


May 10/11 10:33 am - CCA Announces National Squad for GP Cycliste Gatineau

Posted by Editoress on 05/10/11

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) is delighted to announce the athletes for the 2011 Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau, to be held on May 19th and 21st in Gatineau, Quebec.

Six women will be wearing the Maple Leaf uniform at the (two) UCI Category 1 races for women in Canada: Annie Ewart (Victoria, BC), Julia Garnet (Saskatoon, SK), Cara Gillis (Fredericton, NB), Leah Guloien (Port Moody, BC), Clara Hughes (Glenn Sutton, QC), and Leah Kirchmann (Winnipeg, MB). The group will be directed by Denise Kelly, National Women's Endurance Development Coach.

"We are extremely pleased to field a competitive team for this major event for women's cycling in Canada. The Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau are Canada's top cycling races for women and attract some of the best in the world," said Vincent Jourdain, head coach of the Canadian Road Cycling Team. "The cycling races in Gatineau also represent a great opportunity for the people of the greater National Capital area to come and support current and future Olympians."

The time trial race will be held on Thursday, May 19th and the road race will be held Saturday, May 21st.

"I'm really honoured to be selected to represent Canada at the 2011 Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau. It is always a privilege to wear the maple leaf and it is especially exciting to do so at a race in Canada," said Leah Kirchmann, the U23 National Road Race Champion.

Kirchmann is making her second consecutive appearance at the Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau. In 2010, she finished sixth in the road race, four seconds behind the winner.

"Last year was a very positive experience for me. The organizers did a fantastic job putting on the event. It was exhilarating to race some of the best in the world without traveling across an ocean to do so. My objectives are to continue to improve and use my strengths to help my team have a successful season. I hope to have a strong race at Nationals in an effort to qualify for the Worlds Championships team for Copenhagen," added Kirchmann, who represented Canada at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India.

Clara Hughes of Glen Sutton, Québec will also be racing for Canada. Hughes is having a brilliant comeback to cycling, winning both the time trial and road races at the 2011 UCI Pan American Championships in Colombia this past weekend.

Canada's defending National Road Champion Joëlle Numainville of Montreal, Quebec won the 2010 edition of the road race. Numainville should be defending her 2010 title under the colours of her professional cycling team, 'TIBCO To-The-Top'.

The CCA would also like to note the participation of Team Juverdem-Specialized at the Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau, Canada's only UCI Women's Pro Cycling team.

Team Canada
Annie Ewart (Victoria, BC) Road Race; Time Trial
Julia Garnet (Saskatoon, SK) Road Race; Time Trial
Cara Gillis (Fredericton, NB) Road Race
Leah Guloien (Port Moody, BC) Road Race
Clara Hughes (Glen Sutton, QC) Road Race; Time Trial
Leah Kirchmann (Winnipeg, MB) Road Race


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.