Canadian Cyclist


May 15/11 17:56 pm - Tour de Grove: Women's Stage 3, Numainville wins

Posted by Editoress on 05/15/11

Full results from the 3rd stage at the Tour de Grove in St. Louis, MO


Numainville Wins Twice in St. Louis

Joelle Numainville of Team TIBCO/To the Top was an absolute force in St. Louis this weekend, earning two wins and a 2nd place in three races, and narrowly missing out on the sweep.

In Sunday’s race, Numainville was part of a seven-rider break that was driven by her teammates Jennifer Wheeler and Kendall Ryan.

“They did a lot of work today to make sure the break succeeded,” Numainville said.

With only one rider from Colavita in the break to Team TIBCO’s three, Colavita had the impetus to chase, but any move out of the peloton to get up to the break was quickly covered by Meredith Miller and Joanne Kiesanowski.

“Every time one of them tried to get off the front Jo or I was glued to their wheel,” Miller said.

With the numbers up front, Team TIBCO took control on the last lap, with first Ryan and then Wheeler providing the lead-out.

“They both worked really hard on the lead-out,” Numainvillle said. “I was right on Jen’s wheel going into the last corner. We were careful going through the last corner. Jen dropped me off and there was a crash behind so she kept going.”

Wheeler finished up in 3rd place to add to the weekend’s podium total.

In Friday’s win, with conditions wet on the course, the race ended up staying mostly together and as the laps ticked down, it became apparent that the race would end in a bunch sprint.

The Team lined it up on the front. In the long back stretch, Miller took the Team as far as she could and left it up to Kiesanowski to put Numainville in position for the final corner, with Ryan sitting on the Canadian champion’s wheel sweeping.

Numainville was first out of the last turn and stayed there to the line, with Ryan sitting right on her wheel to take 2nd.

Saturday’s race looked to be a repeat of Friday, with another bunch sprint at the end. But with wet conditions, the final corner proved to be very sketchy.

“We had it nailed again,” Miller said. “I knew that whoever came out of the last corner first would be in position for the win, so I knew it would be a race for that last corner. I was going as hard as I could on the back stretch.”

Miller dropped off Numainville heading into the final turn and she was indeed on the front, but then another rider dove the corner much too hard and lost her wheels and slid out. The crash caused a near disaster, with Numainville running over the other rider’s rear wheel, coming to nearly a complete stop and unclipping. By the time she got clipped back in and re-started her sprint, Edita Janeliunaite had gotten past her.

“If I had another 20 meters I think I would’ve caught her,” Numainville said. “It was very disappointing for the team to work so hard and put me into position and then have that work not result in the win. It was a tight corner and I had the line. I’m still not sure where the other rider came from.”

Team TIBCO/To the Top press release

Pro/1/2 Women
1 Joelle Numainville (Can) Team TIBCO/To The Top 1:04:30
2 Kate Chilcott (NZl) FCS Cycling Team 1:04:30
3 Jennifer Wheeler (USA) Team TIBCO 1:04:31
4 Lenore Pipes (USA) Guam National Team 1:04:39
5 Kendall Ryan (USA) Team TIBCO 1:04:49
6 Courteney Lowe (NZl) FCS Cycling Team 1:05:12
7 Lauren Hall (USA) Colavita/Forno d'Asolo p/b Cooking Lite 1:06:06
8 Meredith Miller (USA) TIBCO 1:06:09
9 Joanne Kiesanowski (USA) Team TIBCO/To The Top 1:06:10
10 Leah Kirchmann (Can) Colavita/Forno d'Asolo p/b Cooking Lite 1:06:10
11 Samantha Schneider (USA) Team TIBCO 1:06:11
12 Carrie Cash Wootten (USA) Pedal the Cause/Team Revolutio 1:06:11
13 Kacey Manderfield (USA) Pure Energy Cycling Team ProAi 1:06:11
14 Shailie Sanbrooks (Can) Ind 1:06:12
15 Amy Mcguire (USA) Wheelworks Racing 1:06:12
16 Edita Janeliunaite (Ita) Colavita/Forno d'Asolo p/b Cooking Lite 1:06:12
17 Emilie Flanigan (USA) Dogfish Racing Team 1:06:13
18 Sarah Huang (USA) Nova ISCorp 1:06:13
19 Jennifer Rasmusson (USA) Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder 1:06:14
20 Stacy Appelwick (USA) ABD Cycling Team 1:06:17
21 Whitney Schultz (USA) CheckMark p/b Veloforma 1:06:17
22 Christine Roettger (USA) Team Revolution 1:06:17
23 Laura Van Gilder (USA) Mellow Mushroom 1:06:20
24 Kelly Benjamin (USA) Colavita/Forno d'Asolo p/b Cooking Lite 1:06:46
25 Kathryne Carr (USA) Vanderkitten
26 Kristen Meshberg (USA) ABD Cycling Team
27 Elizabeth Lauer (USA) Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder
DNF Erica Allar (USA) BMW/Bianchi
DNF Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) Ind
DNF Amity Elliot (USA) Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder
DNF Kirsten Fee (USA) FCS Cycling Team
DNF Kelley Hess (USA) Team Kenda presented by Geargrinder
DNF Jill Kislia (USA) Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder
DNF Lindsey Kriete (USA) Team Kenda
DNF Heather Logan-Sprenger (Can) Colavita/Forno d'Asolo p/b Cooking Lite
DNF Laura Mccaughey (Aus) Salamander
DNF Vanessa Mckenzie (USA) Michelob Ultra - Big Shark Racing Team
DNF Jacqueline Kurth (USA) Team Kenda
DNF Aimee Allen (Can) MapleLeaf CC
DNF Aubree Dock (USA) Tulsa Tough Racing
DNF Jane Weakley (USA) Secret Cycling
DNS Rachel Byus (USA) FCS Cycling Team
DNS Sarah Demerly (USA) ABD Cycling Team
DNS Kristin Sanders (USA) Colavita/Forno d'Asolo p/b Cooking Lite


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.