Canadian Cyclist


May 28/11 9:03 am - Tory Nyhaug Top Canadian at World Cup in Netherlands

Posted by Editoress on 05/28/11

Tory Nyhaug Top Canadian in Time Trials at Friday's BMX World Cup in Papendal, Netherlands

Coquitlam’s Nyhaug places 15th in Time Trials Superfinals; Kelowna’s Connor McCormack also advances to elimination rounds

Tory Nyhaug of Coquitlam, BC, was Canada’s top BMX rider today, finishing 15th in the Time Trials Superfinals at the 2011 UCI BMX SuperCross in Papendal, Holland.

On Friday morning in the qualifications, Nyhaug placed 16th in the field of 92 riders, enough to qualify for the Time Trials Superfinals held later in the day.

In the afternoon Superfinals, Nyhaug completed the challenging and technical course in 41.786 seconds, the 15th fastest time of the finals.

Nyhaug, one of Canada’s BMX superstars and an Olympic hopeful, is competing this season for the first time in the Elite category.

Friday, it was Jelle van Gorkom of the Netherlands who was the fastest, winning the time trials with a time of 39.830 seconds. Teammate Raymon van der Biezen placed second, followed in third by French rider Joris Daudet.

Connor McCormack of Kelowna, BC qualified in 63rd position for Saturday’s final rounds.

On the women’s front, no Canadian riders were entered in the event. Romana Labounkovà of the Czech Republic won the race, posting a time of 36.890 seconds. New-Zealand’s Sarah Walker was second, and Magalie Pottier of France placed third.

The track in Papendal, located at the Dutch Olympic training centre, has been described by most of the riders as one of most technical tracks on the tour.

Watch a recap of the  Time Trails Superfinals on Freecaster.

BMX SuperCross action in the Netherlands continues today with the presentation of the final rounds. Racing starts at 2pm (European time), and will start live streaming of the event at 3pm, all local times.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.