Canadian Cyclist


May 29/11 8:11 am - World Cup Offenburg: Men's XC UPDATES

Posted by Editoress on 05/29/11

The men are about to start their 7 lap (plus start loop) race, up one from previously planned, since the U23 men were so fast yesterday.


Our coverage brought to you with the support of Velirium


-145 entrants, 5 Canadians: Geoff Kabush, Max Plaxton, Derek Zandstra, Andrew Watson, Raphael Gagne

Track will be very fast.... and it is a hot day

Music is pounding, beer gardens very busy - including the one back in the woods at the Snake Pit

Lots of 29er use - both hardtail and FS. 


Start loop

Jaroslav Kulhavy (Specialized Racing) gets the holeshot and comes across in 1st spot, followed by Julien Absalon (Orbea), Nino Schurter (Scott - Swisspower MTB - Racing), Marco Aurelio Fontana (Cannondale Factory Racing)

Kabush 17th, Zandstra 34th, Plaxton 69th


Lap 1

Just a long long line of riders as they head out on the first full lap


Belgium's Sven Nys is missing from this weeks lineup.  After crashing and not finishing last week it was discovered, on X-ray, that he has a 1/2 cm tear in the muscle by his knee.  They hope that he will be able to return to competition by Mont Ste-Anne as he is the (only) Belgian hopeful for an Olympic spot.


8:09 am

On the descent, Absalon has taken the lead.  Absalon has won on this course every year since Offenburg was added to the World Cup schedule.


Through the feedzone for the first time, Absalon with Kulhavy at 1 second, Fontana,  and just a long line


8:40 am ET

Fontana has caught and passed Absalon.  Kulhavy 3rd,


Lap 2

as they head out for the 2nd lap it is Absalon leading Kulhavy. Schurter, Fontana and Maxime Marotte (BH - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry )at 1 sec

José Hermida  (Multivan Merida Biking Team) and Christoph Sauser (Specialized Racing) at 2 sec

Kabush 23rd at 47 sec, Zandstra  well back 52nd, Watson 101


8:23 am


Fontana back at the front on the descent


8:25 am ET

Through the feedzone, still 12 riders in contention with Fontana still in the lead spot

Geoff Kabush does not seem to be doing well in the heat and getting passed by a number of riders after the feedzone


8:29 am ET

Schurter has taken over the front position, Absalon 2nd , Sauser 3rd

9 riders in total have separated off the front now

Nino Schurter (Scott - Swisspower MTB - Racing)

Julien Absalon (Orbea)

Marco Aurelio Fontana (Cannondale Factory Racing)

Maxime Marotte (BH - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry)

Christoph Sauser (Specialized Racing)

Burry Stander (Specialized Racing)

José Antonio Hermida Ramos (Multivan Merida Biking Team)

Thomas Litscher (Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team)

Jaroslav Kulhavy (Specialized Racing)


Lap 3  8:31 am ET

Marotte across the line first with Absalon on his wheel. Schurter, Kulhavy, Sauser, Fontana, Hermida, Stander all within 5 sec

Todd Wells 18th at 42 sec.  Kabush 39th at 1:43 back.  Zandstra 44th at 1:52. Watson 94th, Gagne 121st

Plaxton DNF



8:38 am ET

Down the descent, Schurter leading, Fontana, Schurter, Absalon, Marotte, Hermida and Litscher the lad group


8:40 am ET

Through the feedzone, the group of 9 still basically all together with Stander at the front


8:44 am am ET

At the Snakepit and heading to the line to start Lap 4.  No change. Stander still leading a group of 9


Lap 4

Heading out onto lap 4 Stander at the front then Schurter, Fontana, Absalon, Sauser, Kulhavy, Marotte, Hermida, Litscher all within 3 seconds.

Wells 17th at 49 sec, Zandstra 36th at 2:09, Schultz 48th, Kabush 57th 2:59 back, Watson 81st


Hermida has flatted, and the front group will now be 8


8:53 am ET


Absalon has attacked and gotten a small gap on the descent to Wolfs drop. 


Through the feedzone Absalon has a 5 sec gap on 3 chasers: Kulhavy, Schurter and?


Now gaps are forming in the lead group.  Stander has been dropped and Sauser is having some technical issues


Zandstra is riding well and is moving up steadily.


8:58 am ET

Absalon is now leading with a gap of 5 seconds on Kulhavy.  Another 8 seconds to Fontana, Schurter and Marotte


9:01am ET -

Up the short climb Absalon leading Kulhavy


Lap 5 - 3 to go

Absalon leading Kulhavy by 7 seconds. 

Marotte, Stander, Fontana and Schurter at 25/26 sec. 

Sauser 7th at 27, Litscher 8th at 57 sec

Ivan Alvarez Gutierrez (Giant Italia Team) 9th at 1:36

Rudi Van Houts (TWC Tempo) 10th at s.t.

Wells 15th at 1:53

Hermida 21st at 2:21

Zandstra 33rd at 3:17

Kabush 62nd at 5:11



9:09 am ET

Absalon through the feedzone with a widening gap - 23 seconds - on Kulhavy

Chasers: Sauser, Marotte, Stander and Schurter at another 25 sec


9:13 am ET

At the Snakepit.  Absalon's gap is opening, now 29 sec, but the chasers (Stander, Marotte) have closed it to Kulhavy.  Schurter is gapped



Sauser has flatted


Lap 6  9:16 am

Absalon hits the line to start lap 6 and his gap to Kulhavy is 32 sec.  Marotte and Stander are at 53 sec

Schurter 5th  at 1:29, Fontana  6th at 1:44, Litscher 7th at 1:46, Gutierrez 8th at 2:14, Van Houts

Wells 19th at 3:07, Zandstra 27th at 4:11. Schultz 45th at 5:18, Kabush 62nd at 7:33, Watson 70th at 8:07


9:22 am ET

On the World Class drop descent and heading to the feedzone.  Absalon, with Kulhavy at 41 sec.  Marotte cashing alone at 12 sec.  Stander at another 10 sec


9:30 am ET

As they head to the end of the lap, and start of final lap, NO change to top 5


Last Lap

9:31 am

Absalon hits the line with a gap of 32 seconds on Kulhavy.  Marotte 3rd at 51 sec, Stander 4th at 1:02. Fontana 5th at 2:29, Schurter 6th, Coloma 7th all  at s.t.

Wells 23rd at 4:31

Zandstra 28th 4:51


There is a battle for the 5th podium spot with 7 riders all together.


9:37 am ET

Coming down the climb to Wolf's Drop. Absalon goes through wth a gap of ~ 30 seconds on Kulhavy.  Marotte at 46 seconds.


Through the feedzone for the last time
Absalon, Kulhavy at 3 sec, Maritte at 46 sec, Stander at 1:09

Fontana leading 5 riders.  Another sprint for the final podium


9:42 am

Absalon through the Snakepit for the last time and looking comfortable. .. with a gap of 30 seconds on Kulhavy.  Marotte is slowly closing the gap to Kulhavy, but it won't be quite good enough.


Absalon makes it 5 for 5 in Offenburg




1 Julien Absalon (Orbea)  1:46:21

2 Jaroslav Kulhavy (Specialized Racing), at 0:29

3 Maxime Marotte (BH - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry) 0:41

4 Burry Stander (Specialized Racing) 1:05

5 Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Wildwolf - Trek Racing) 2:30






Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.