Canadian Cyclist


June 2/11 22:43 pm - Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 06/2/11

The first of of four stages of the Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay was won in a bunch sprint. Arnaud Demare (Team France) was victorious at the front of 58 riders, all finishing in the same time. Italies Sonny Colbrelli took 2nd and Canadian Hugo Houle was 3rd.

“I knew people were expecting me, and I was there” said the winner while he was still catching his breath. Visibly delighted by his performance, the winner of the fourth stage of 2010 added: “It is with great pleasure that I seized the yellow jersey”. Demare also put his 'hands' on the best young rider jersey and added to France’s lead in the Nations’ Cup ranking.

It was under an uncertain sky that the 67 riders started the 140.7 kilometre stage on Jonquiere’s streets. Early in the race, a breakaway of four cyclists went away. The fugitive quartet were caught just before completing the first lap. A few attacks were attempted during many laps, but none were successful.

Stage 1: Jonquière Road Race, 140.7 km
1 Arnaud Demare (Fra) Team France 3:21:46
2 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Team Italy
3 Hugo Houle (Can) Team Canada
4 Armands Bîcis (Lat) Team Latvia
5 Yauheni Patenka (Blr) UCI Mixed Team
6 Sebastian Lander (Den) Team Denmark
7 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Team Germany
8 Emilien Viennet (Fra) Team France
9 Nicola Boem (Ita) Team Italy
10 Yannick Mayer (Ger) Team Germany
11 Robert Jenko (Slo) Team Slovenia
12 Andrea Dal Col (Ita) Team Italy
13 Gavin Mannion (USA) Team USA
14 Tsgabu Grmay (Eth) UCI Mixed Team
15 Klemen Stimulak (Slo) Team Slovenia
16 Arvin Moazemi (Iri) UCI Mixed Team
17 Natnael Berhane (Eri) UCI Mixed Team
18 rtis Puj Ts (Lat) Team Latvia
19 Ilya Davidenok (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
20 Guillaume Bonnet (Fra) Team France
21 Youcef Reguigui (Alg) UCI Mixed Team
22 Asbjørn Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Denmark
23 Igor Frolov (Rus) Team Russia
24 Roman Dronin (Uzb) UCI Mixed Team
25 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
26 Jimmy Turgis (Fra) Team France
27 Vladislav Gorbunov (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
28 Tanner Putt (USA) Team USA
29 Arman Kamyshev (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
30 Alder Torres Yuman (Gua) Team Guatemala
31 Maxim Pokidov (Rus) Team Russia
32 Daniil Fominykh (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
33 AdÏs Flaksis (Lat) Team Latvia
34 Aljaz Hocevar (Slo) Team Slovenia
35 Hansen Lasse Norman (Den) Team Denmark
36 Christopher Juul-Jensen (Den) Team Denmark
37 Jesper Hansen (Den) Team Denmark
38 Walter Filad Escobar López (Gua) Team Guatemala
39 Romain Guillemois (Fra) Team France
40 Eamon Franck (USA) Team USA
41 Stuart Wight (Can) Team Canada
42 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team France
43 Fabian Thiel (Ger) Team Germany
44 Jimmi Sørensen (Den) Team Denmark
45 Simon Nuber (Ger) Team Germany
46 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Team Canada
47 Janis Dakteris (Lat) Team Latvia
48 Evan Huffman (USA) Team USA
49 Nathan Brown (USA) Team USA
50 Maxim Razumov (Rus) Team Russia
51 David Boily (Can) Team Canada
52 Alexander Grigoryev (Rus) Team Russia
53 Mario Vogt (Ger) Team Germany
54 Miras Bederbekov (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
55 Pavel Gorenc (Slo) Team Slovenia
56 Simon Lambert-Lemay (Can) Team Canada
57 Jani Music (Slo) Team Slovenia
58 Roman Katyrin (Rus) Team Russia all s.t.
59 Ryan Eastman (USA) Team USA 0:28
60 Massimo Coledan (Ita) Team Italy 0:44
61 Gianluca Leonardi (Ita) Team Italy s.t.
62 Owen Harrison (Can) Team Canada 1:26
63 Jure Bitenc (Slo) Team Slovenia 10:52
64 Loris Paoli (Ita) Team Italy
65 Max Walsleben (Ger) Team Germany both s.t.
66 Aldo Lore Zamora Arriaza (Gua) Team Guatemala 19:16
67 Christia Quicibal Estrada (Gua) Guatemala 35:17


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.