Canadian Cyclist


June 3/11 8:47 am - CCA Announces National Squad for Tour de Beauce

Posted by Editoress on 06/3/11

The Canadian Cycling Association is proud to unveil the team who will compete at the 26th edition of the prestigious Tour de Beauce UCI 2.2 race held on June 14-19.

The team of seven riders is headlined by Dominique Rollin of Boucherville, QC, who rides for the UCI pro-continental team Francaise-Des-Jeux. Rollin, who fractured his right collarbone in a crash on the fifth and last stage of the Four Days of Dunkerque stage race in France, will be making his comeback at the Tour de Beauce.

"After a few tough weeks of doing rollers inside when it was +30 and sunny outside, I just got back on my bike outside on the roads and I am seeing my form coming back quickly," said Dominique Rollin. "I am really excited to come back to racing, and there is not a better way for me to comeback in a race that I truly enjoy and know, the Tour de Beauce."

In addition to Rollin, Rob Britton of the Bissell Pro cycling Team, Nic Hamilton of the Jelly Belly Cycling Team will also be members of the squad, leaving their pro teams to race for Canada. Both riders are fresh off the 2011 Amgen Tour of California.

Jacob Schwingboth, Cody Campbell, Adam Thuss and Cody Canning complete Canada's team.

"We are fortunate to have a high calibre Canadian presence in this prestigious international event. We will be looking to achieve our goal of scoring UCI America Tour points to improve Canada's ranking," said Matthew Knight, road coordinator at the Canadian Cycling Association.

The race starts on June 14th, and ends June 19th. The six-stage race is approximately 750 kilometres in total, and includes a 20 kilometre time trial on June 17th.

Team Canada:

Dominique Rollin (Française Des Jeux)
Rob Britton (Bissell Pro Cycling)
Nic Hamilton (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)
Jacob Schwingboth
Cody Campbell
Adam Thuss (Trek Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes)
Cody Canning (Trek Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes)


Courtesy CCA


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.