Canadian Cyclist


June 4/11 0:14 am - Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay: Stage 2

Posted by Editoress on 06/4/11

Results from stage 2 of the Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay


Three members of Denmark's team finished in the top-5 of the Coupe des Nations - Ville de Saguenay's second stage. Hansen Lasse Norman, Christopher Juul- Jensen and Sebastian Lander dominated the standings, with first, fourth and fifth spot. Frenchman Guillaume Bonnet and Italian Leonardi Gianluca took the second and third steps on the podium.  In addition to winning the 148.4 kilometre stage, Lasse Norman took over the yellow leader's jersey, as well as the white jersey of Best Young Rider.

"It was very difficult. At 400 metres to the finish, I was fourth and last in the leading group. But I was able to come back and be the first to cross the line. I was lucky," said the Danish U23 National champion.

"It is my most important victory after the Juniors Worlds' individual pursuit [title]" added the athlete, who usually focuses on the track, with a goal of the Olympic qualifications for the London Games.

Armands Becis, from Latvia, successfully defended his green jersey of Best Sprinter, while the French rider Warren Barguil claimed the polka dot jersey of Best Climber.

The 66 participants had a fast start to the stage, with multiple attacks coming immediately. A few breakaways managed to gain a little time, but all of them were caught by the fast moving peloton. On the third of seven laps, four riders finally managed to break clear, and were joined by 12 others, who counter-attacked the peloton and joined the leaders by the end of the fourth lap.

A cat-and-mouse game began in the leading group, with many groups attempting to jump away. In this incessant back and forth movement, a few of the riders became exhausted and dropped off the front group. On the sixth lap, four riders eventually managed to break free of the lead group and head towards victory.

Racing resumes on Saturday in Kénogami, with a 141 kilometre road stage.



Quote from Team Canada Head Coach, Vincent Jourdain

“As predicted, the race was pretty hard. The attacks started really early. The guys started really well with David Boily and Simon Lambert-Lemay in the first attack. Then Hugo Houle found himself in the second attack, the one that proved to be decisive. Unfortunately for us, Hugo was the only Canadian rider in the attack and was not able to keep up with the French and the Danish teams, which had 2 or 3 riders in the break. Hugo did an extraordinary job to stay in front. He deserves the recognition.”


Stage 2: Route Ville de La Baie, 148.4 Km
1 Hansen Lasse Norman (Den) Team Denmark 3:44:23
2 Guillaume Bonnet (Fra) Team France
3 Gianluca Leonardi (Ita) Team Italy both s.t.
4 Christopher Juul-Jensen (Den) Team Denmark 0:02
5 Sebastian Lander (Den) Team Denmark 0:30
6 Nicola Boem (Ita) Team Italy
7 Emilien Viennet (Fra) Team France
8 Asbjørn Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Denmark
9 Arman Kamyshev (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
10 Klemen Stimulak (Slo) Team Slovenia
11 Arvin Moazemi (Iri) UCI Mixed Team
12 Hugo Houle (Can) Team Canada
13 Romain Guillemois (Fra) Team France
14 Jimmi Sørensen (Den) Team Denmark
15 Natnael Berhane (Eri) UCI Mixed Team
16 rtis Puj Ts (Lat) Team Latvia
17 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Team Germany
18 Tanner Putt (USA) Team USA
19 Nathan Brown (USA) Team USA
20 Tsgabu Grmay (Eth) UCI Mixed Team
21 AdÏs Flaksis (Lat) Team Latvia
22 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team France
23 Miras Bederbekov (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
24 Jesper Hansen (Den) Team Denmark
25 Pavel Gorenc (Slo) Team Slovenia
26 JÇnis D Kteris (Lat) Team Latvia all s.t.
27 Yauheni Patenka (Blr) UCI Mixed Team 0:55
28 Arnaud Demare (Fra) Team France
29 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Team Italy
30 Jimmy Turgis (Fra) Team France
31 Fabian Thiel (Ger) Team Germany
32 Vladislav Gorbunov (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
33 Mario Vogt (Ger) Team Germany
34 Gavin Mannion (USA) Team USA all s.t.
35 Youcef Reguigui (Alg) UCI Mixed Team 1:43
36 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan 1:45
37 Simon Lambert-Lemay (Can) Team Canada s.t.
38 Daniil Fominykh (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan 01:45
39 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Team Canada
40 Simon Nuber (Ger) Team Germany
41 Max Walsleben (Ger) Team Germany
42 Stuart Wight (Can) Team Canada
43 Ilya Davidenok (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
44 Jani Music (Slo) Team Slovenia
45 Yannick Mayer (Ger) Team Germany
46 Roman Dronin (Uzb) UCI Mixed Team
47 Evan Huffman (USA) Team USA all s.t.
48 Massimo Coledan (Ita) Team Italy 01:52
49 Ryan Eastman (USA) Team USA 02:25
50 Armands Bîcis (Lat) Team Latvia 03:14
51 Owen Harrison (Can) Team Canada
52 Robert Jenko (Slo) Team Slovenia both s.t.
53 Maxim Razumov (Rus) Team Russia 04:20
54 Maxim Pokidov (Rus) Team Russia
55 Roman Katyrin (Rus) Team Russia
56 David Boily (Can) Team Canada all s.t.
57 Jure Bitenc (Slo) Team Slovenia 04:28
58 Alexander Grigoryev (Rus) Team Russia 07:53
59 Igor Frolov (Rus) Team Russia 10:21
60 Eamon Franck (USA) Team USA 11:09
61 Andrea Dal Col (Ita) Team Italy s.t.
62 Alder Torres Yuman (Gua) Team Guatemala 15:09
63 Walter Filad Escobar López (Gua) Team Guatemala 15:20
64 Aljaz Hocevar (Slo) Team Slovenia s.t.
DNF Aldo Lore Zamora Arriaza (Gua) Team Guatemala
DNF Loris Paoli (Ita) Team Italy
DNS Christia Quicibal Estrada (Gua) Guatemala


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.