Canadian Cyclist


June 4/11 21:56 pm - Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay: Stage 3

Posted by Editoress on 06/4/11

Results from the 3rd stage of the Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay


The Danish team retained their hold of the leader's jersey on stage four of the Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay, which will now be worn by Christopher Juul-Jensen, who finished 11th. However, Kazakh rider Arman Kamyshev was the fastest at the end of the 141 kilometre race's third stage.  Algerian Youcef Reguigui and Italian Boem Nicola battled hard for the victory, but both had to admit defeat, finishing in second and third place.

"Our goal today was to keep our hands on the yellow jersey," confided the new leader of the overall ranking. "Tomorrow's strategy will be the same. I'm confident. All the team riders are riding well," added the U23 National silver medallist.

Under a blazing sun, the 64 athletes still listed took off on the 14.1 kilometre course, which they had to complete ten times. The members of Denmark's team were controlling the peloton most of the race in order to protect the yellow jersey.

During the first 100 kilometers, none of the breakaway attempts ended up successful, even though two fugitives tried to prove the opposite. The duo saw their advantage melt like the snow under the sun, when the Danish machine went on the seventh lap. Once the junction was made, many competitors also gave it a shot.

Attacks followed one another at a frenetic pace. About 20 cyclists were finally able to pull out from the bunch at the bottom of the next to last ascension of the famous Desmeules climb. The leading group slowly disintegrated in the last loop to 12 riders. Kamyshev took possession of the white jersey of Best Young Rider.

The polka dot jersey (Mountain Classification) stayed in possession of French Warren Barguil, while Italian Nicola Boem claimed the green jersey (Points Classification).

The 2011 Coupe des Nations – Ville de Saguenay will come to an end Sunday, with the 128.4 kilometre final stage.




Stage 3: Kénogami Road Race, 141 Km
1 Arman Kamyshev (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan 3:28:36
2 Youcef Reguigui (Alg) UCI Mixed Team
3 Nicola Boem (Ita) Team Italy
4 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Team Germany
5 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Team Italy
6 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team France
7 David Boily (Can) Team Canada
8 Maxim Razumov (Rus) Team Russia
9 Nathan Brown (USA) Team USA
10 Miras Bederbekov (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
11 Christopher Juul-Jensen (Den) Team Denmark
12 Vladislav Gorbunov (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan all s.t.
13 Sebastian Lander (Den) Team Denmark 0:19
14 Yauheni Patenka (Blr) UCI Mixed Team s.t.
15 Yannick Mayer (Ger) Team Germany 0:40
16 Hugo Houle (Can) Team Canada
17 Gavin Mannion (USA) Team USA
18 Maxim Pokidov (Rus) Team Russia
19 Arvin Moazemi (Iri) UCI Mixed Team
20 Natnael Berhane (Eri) UCI Mixed Team
21 Igor Frolov (Rus) Team Russia
22 Arnaud Demare (Fra) Team France
23 Artis Pujats (Lat) Team Latvia
24 Klemen Stimulak (Slo) Team Slovenia
25 Guillaume Bonnet (Fra) Team France
26 Roman Dronin (Uzb) UCI Mixed Team
27 Jimmy Turgis (Fra) Team France
28 Tanner Putt (USA) Team USA
29 Simon Nuber (Ger) Team Germany
30 Jesper Hansen (Den) Team Denmark
31 AdÏs Flaksis (Lat) Team Latvia
32 Emilien Viennet (Fra) Team France
33 Tsgabu Grmay (Eth) UCI Mixed Team all s.t.
34 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan 0:50
35 Hansen Lasse Norman (Den) Team Denmark 0:52
36 Romain Guillemois (Fra) Team France
37 Asbjørn Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Denmark
38 Daniil Fominykh (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan
39 Evan Huffman (USA) Team USA
40 Roman Katyrin (Rus) Team Russia
41 Jimmi Sørensen (Den) Team Denmark
42 Walter Filad Escobar López (Gua) Team Guatemala
43 Alder Torres Yuman (Gua) Team Guatemala all s.t.
44 Janis Dakteris (Lat) Team Latvia 1:14
45 Ilya Davidenok (Kaz) Team Kazakhstan 2:23
46 Alexander Grigoryev (Rus) Team Russia s.t.
47 Massimo Coledan (Ita) Team Italy 2:41
48 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Team Canada 3:13
49 Simon Lambert-Lemay (Can) Team Canada 3:49
50 Gianluca Leonardi (Ita) Team Italy 3:50
51 Ryan Eastman (USA) Team USA s.t.
52 Loris Paoli (Ita) Team Italy 4:02
53 Max Walsleben (Ger) Team Germany s.t.
54 Owen Harrison (Can) Team Canada 4:03
55 Jure Bitenc (Slo) Team Slovenia
56 Stuart Wight (Can) Team Canada
57 Aljaz Hocevar (Slo) Team Slovenia
58 Robert Jenko (Slo) Team Slovenia all s.t.
59 Mario Vogt (Ger) Team Germany 7:09
60 Max Walsleben (Ger) Team Germany
61 Fabian Thiel (Ger) Team Germany
62 Andrea Dal Col (Ita) Team Italy all s.t.
63 Armands Bîcis (Lat) Team Latvia 9:37
64 Jani Music (Slo) Team Slovenia s.t.
DNF Pavel Gorenc (Slo) Team Slovenia
DNF Eamon Franck (USA) Team USA



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.