Canadian Cyclist


June 11/11 15:39 pm - Clarendon Cup: Numainville wins UPDATED

Posted by Editoress on 06/11/11

Numainville opens Air Force Classic weekend with Clarendon Cup victory.

Having strength in numbers for a race is good. Having a sprinter who can payoff the strong work of her teammates in the finish is gold. And Canadian Road Champion Joelle Numainville of Team TIBCO/To the Top was golden this morning in Arlington, winning the Clarendon Cup after a long sprint ahead of Canadian Criterium Champion Leah Kirchmann. The Team showed its depth by also taking 4th and 5th with Joanne Kiesanowski and Samantha Schneider respectively



Canadian Criterium Champion Leah Kirchmann


“The girls rode really well today,” said Team Directeur Sportif Lisa Hunt. “Colavita was very aggressive but we were always in position to cover moves when something looked dangerous. And Meredith (Miller) and Jo put in strong attacks of their own in the middle of the race. Joelle got in a good move early as well and that put some pressure on the rest of the bunch.”

“It was a really animated race even though it was hot and long,” Miller said. “There were constant attacks throughout the entire race. There was only one time where there was a slight lull, and that didn’t last long. It was just on the whole time. It was good to see everyone racing so aggressively.”

Despite the steady stream of attacks from a number of different teams during the 50 km race, the race was all together with four laps to go. It was at that point that Tara Whitten, in her first race with the team, took to the front of the bunch and drove it.

“Tara did a great job in her first race,” Hunt said. “She hasn’t done a lot of criteriums and it took her a little while to get fully integrated. She’s super strong, and she got progressively better with positioning as the race went on. By the end, she put herself at the front more and more often.”

Team TIBCO had control of the front for much of the final laps until an attack by Janel Holcomb with two to go upset the apple cart a bit.

“I jumped to bring her back, “Miller said, “and it took me nearly a lap to reel her back in. Just as we were coming up on one lap to go, it was all back together.”

“The attack disrupted our lead-out a bit,” Hunt added. “But Joelle was in perfect position in the final lap in second or third wheel, and was able to come around and hold her sprint to the line.”



Joelle Numainville wins


The Air Force Classic continues Sunday with the Crystal City Cup, also in Virginia.

“Everyone did their jobs today,” Hunt said, “but tomorrow I want to be more on the offensive. I’m confident we can win again.”

Tomorrow’s is almost 2 km, longer than today’s course, but the race will be just 60 minutes compared to today’s 75 minutes.

“The sprint out of the last corner is 500-600 meters long,” Miller said, “so the lead-out train for Joelle will be crucial. Last year, the winner came from a three-person break, so we’ll also be on the lookout for that, too. We’re confident that we can win from a break, and we’re equally confident that we can repeat with the field sprint win. And because this is an omnium format here, with Joelle being first, Jo in fourth and Sam in fifth, we need to make sure that they get the most points too, since we’re not just focused on winning the day, but also winning the overall.”

Report courtesy Team TIBC/To the Top


Official results


1/2 Women
1 Joelle Numainville (TIBCO/To the Top) 1:14:55
2 Leah Kirchmann (Colavita Forno d'Asolo Pro Cycling Team)
3 Lauren Hall (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo)
4 Jo Kiesanowski (TIBCO/To the Top)
5 Samantha Schneider (TIBCO/To the Top)
6 Kacey Manderfield (Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA)
7 Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo)
8 Cath Cheatley (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo)
9 Emily Thurston (Battley Harley-Davidson)
10 Lauren Tomayo (Ind)
11 Jennifer Rasmusson (Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder)
12 Janel Holcomb (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo)
13 Carmen Small (TIBCO/To the Top)
14 Kelly Benjamin (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo)
15 Erin Silliman (VA Asset Group p/b Artemis/Trek)
16 Rushlee Buchanan (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo)
17 Lindsay Honaker (X/O Communications/Battley Harley-Davidson)
18 Tara Whitten (TIBCO/To the Top)
19 Megan Guarnier (TIBCO/To the Top)
20 Jennifer Maxwell (Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder)
21 Monika Sattler (X/O Communications/Battley Harley-Davidson)
22 Lenore Pipes (Guam National Team)
23 Kristin Sanders (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo)
24 Emma Swatman (Battley Harley-Davidson)
25 Rachel Warner (Missing Links Coaching & Training Systems)
26 Arley Kemmerer (CAWES p/b Specialized)
27 Emma Mackie (TIBCO/To the Top)
28 Meredith Miller (TIBCO/To the Top)
Pro/1/2 Men
1 Hilton Clark (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis) 2:16:36
2 Carlos Alzate (Team Exergy)
3 Scott Zwizanski (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis)
4 Robert Forster (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis)
5 Karl Menzies (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis)
6 Alexey Schmidt (Team Type I)
7 Luke Keough (Mountain Khakis Fuelded)
8 Martijn Vershoor (Team Type I)
9 Jake Keough (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis)
10 Volodymr Bileka (Amore-Vita)
11 Freddie Rodriguez (Team Exergy)
12 Kyle Wamsley (Bissell)
13 Roman Van Uden (Pure Black)
14 Daniel Holloway (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
15 Phillip Mamos (Amore-Vita)
16 John (Jackie) Simes (Jamis - Sutter Home)
17 Neil Bezdek (Mountain Khakis Fuelded)
18 Sergiy Grechyn (Amore-Vita)
19 Mark Langlands (Pure Black)
20 Thomas Soladay (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
21 Vladislav Bonsov (Amore-Vita)
22 Charles Hutcheson (X/O Communications Battley Harley-Davidson)
23 James Mccoy (Pure Black)
23 Mical Smit Larsen (Denmark National Team)
24 Jerome Townsend (Mountain Khakis Fuelded)
25 Andrei Klyuew (Amore-Vita)
26 Jacob Mueller (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Lateral Stress Velo)
27 Peter Hurst (
28 Todd Hesel (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Lateral Stress Velo)
29 Thacker Reeves (Chipotle Development Team)
30 Thomas Brown (Mountain Khakis Fuelded)
31 Joshua Dillon (
32 Charles Eldridge (Team Type I)
33 Timothy Brown (X/O Communications Battley Harley-Davidson)
34 Aldo Ino Ilesic (Team Type I)
35 Eric Schildge (Jamis - Sutter Home)
36 Kevin Gottlieb (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Lateral Stress Velo)
37 Andrea Grendene (Team Type I)
38 Marsh Cooper (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
39 Robin Carpenter (
40 Gavriel Epstein (Chipotle Development Team)
41 Christian Bbertilsson (CycleCity)
42 Andres Diaz (Team Exergy)
43 Adam Myerson (Mountain Khakis Fuelded)
44 Andrew Pinfold (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis)
45 Boy van Poppel (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis)
46 Jonathan Mumford (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
47 Jonny Clarke (United HealthCare p/b Maxxis)
48 Patrick Bevin (Bissell)
49 Shane Kline (Bissell)
50 Max Korus (
51 Soren Petersen (Denmark National Team)


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Object of class PDO could not be converted to string in /home/canadiancyclistcom/ Stack trace: #0 /home/canadiancyclistcom/ getrelatedgallery() #1 /home/canadiancyclistcom/ getDailyNewsArticle() #2 {main} thrown in /home/canadiancyclistcom/ on line 528