Canadian Cyclist


January 16/00 2:52 am - Illawarra CC Track Results 5/1/00

Posted by on 01/16/00

Well the racing this weekend was held in hot dry conditions. All grades were well patronised. Craig Williams had his work cut out for him in the A Grade with the likes of Adam Rourke (Nowra), Frank Tortorici, Michael Lockyer and the return of Mark Jewel after a few years away from racing.

B Grade was also quite an event, with the average speed for the race being just under 37km an hour. Anthony de Boer was in an aggressive mood, attempting to make a break on the first lap up a small rise. This was short lived however as the main bunch chased him down again after leaving him out front. On the last lap Robert Calladine made his move and attacked the bunch putting a sizeable gap, de Boer also made the effort to bridge the gap to Calladine and did so successfully. De Boer and Calladine managed to stay away until the end despite the efforts of Dave Morris and Peter Kelly to close the gap.

The riders in C Grade were kept on their with the return of experienced riders such as Jason Johnson and Tom Harrison as well as the keenness of Bethany McCarthy and new rider Dylan Forbes. Although reluctant to take the lead of the group, the pace was still high and all had to push themselves to the end. Adam Hotchkis showed that he will be a good sprinter with some fitness and was able to hold out from a fast finishing Forbes and Adrian White.

Next Week - Feature Race - Volunteer MarshalsResults:

A Grade
Craig Williams57:14
Paul Bradburn
Frank Tortorici
Tony Pulo
Adam Rourke
Marcus Arnold
Austin Pitman
Mark Jewel
Michael Lockyer
Tim Devlin
Brian Joyce
B Grade
Anthony de Boer60:31
Rob Calladine
Dave Morris60:44
Gordon Allen
Jo Periera
Paul du Bois
Peter Kelly
Phil Jones
Allan Onions
Paul Cuifo
Eddy Greggatto
Scott Turnbull
Andrew Telford
C Grade
Adam Hotchkis65:05
Dylan Forbes
Adrian White
Bethany McCarthy
Peter Daly
Josh Wall
Steve Ruskin
Jason JohnsonDNF
Tom HarrisonDNF


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.