Canadian Cyclist


August 31/97 22:40 pm - Killington, GP Eddy Merckx

Posted by Editor on 08/31/97

LIESWYN, LIVINGSTON WIN VISA RUTLAND CRITERIUM AT KILLINGTON STAGE RACE For Immediate Release, Aug. 31, 1997 Contact: Frank Stanley, USCF Communications Manager, (719) 578-4581 or (802) 422-3731 KILLINGTON, Vt. -- On a day in which the overall picture did not change much, John Lieswyn (Shaklee) and Karen Livingston (Saturn) won the VISA Rutland Criterium. „I have a lot to prove,‰ Lieswyn said. Lieswyn, 29, of Asheville, N.C., returned to the sport this year after an 18-month retirement. In his Shaklee debut, he joined Peter Pape (unattached) and Canadian Jacques Landry (Everfresh) and lapped the field. Pape crashed in the final laps and fell back to the field as Lieswyn won the race with Landry second. Norm Alvis (Saturn), Colorado Springs, Colo., broke away from the field late to place third. Tyler Hamilton (United States Postal Service), Nederland, Colo., remained in the overall lead, ahead of Chann McRae (Saturn), Plano, Texas, and Mike Engleman (Navigators), Hesperus, Colo. In the women‚s race, Livingston, of Gainesville, Fla., outsprinted five other riders to earn her second victory in three days. She won yet another sprint victory over longtime rival Kendra Wenzel (Saeco-Timex), McKenzie Bridge, Ore. „It‚s fun to have someone like that,‰ Livingston said. „It helps keep me on my toes.‰ The pair were joined by Pam Schuster (Klein), Northridge, Calif., and Cheryl Binney (Potomac Racing), Los Angeles, Calif., in the initial break, which was later joined by Sue Palmer (Saturn) of Canada and overall National Racing Calendar leader Susy Pryde (Saeco-Timex) of New Zealand. Overall leader Linda Jackson (Saeco-Timex) of Canada kept her overwhelming lead of 10:41 over Palmer heading into tomorrow‚s final Saab Road Race. Tomorrow‚s race will likely decide three national series ... Frank McCormack (Saturn), Leicester, Mass., leads the USPRO Tour with 105 points, with Scott Moninger (Navigators), Boulder, Colo., 81; Jonathan Vaughters (Comptel-Colorado Cyclist), Englewood, Colo., 78; McRae, 76; and Marty Jemison (USPS), Salt Lake City, Utah, 66; all still in range. First place overall at the Killington Stage Race is worth 50 points .. Vaughters and Pryde should clinch the overall titles in the National Racing Calendar standings. VISA Rutland Criterium, Aug. 31 Men, 45 miles 1. JOHN LIESWYN (SHAKLEE), Asheville, N.C. 2. Jacques Landry (Everfresh), Canada 3. Norm Alvis (Saturn), Colorado Springs, Colo. 4. John Peters (Comptel-Colorado Cyclist), Santa Rosa, Calif. 5. Chann McRae (Saturn), Plano, Texas. GC 1. TYLER HAMILTON (UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE), Nederland, Colo.; 9:51:21 2. Michael Engleman (Navigators), Hesperus, Colo., @:33 3. McRae, @:33 4. Lieswyn, @3:22 5. Landry, @3:31 6. Frank McCormack (Saturn), Leicester, Mass., @4:06 7. Mat Anand (Espoires Laval), Calgary, Alb., Canada, @4:24 8. Jonathan Vaughters (Comptel-Colorado Cyclist), Englewood, Colo., @4:26 9. Sylvain Beauchamp (Everfresh), Canada, @4:35 10. Bart Bowen (Saturn), Albuquerque, N.M., @4:42. Women, 25 miles 1. KAREN BLISS LIVINGSTON (SATURN), Gainesville, Fla. 2. Kendra Wenzel (Saeco-Timex), McKenzie Bridge, Ore. 3. Pam Schuster (Klein), Northridge, Calif. 4. Susy Pryde (Saeco-Timex), Auckland, New Zealand 5. Cheryl Binney (Potomac Racing), Los Angeles, Calif. GC 1. LINDA JACKSON (SAECO-TIMEX), Napean, Ont., Canada, 7:10:13 2. Sue Palmer (Saturn), Hamilton, Ont., Canada, @10:41 3. Pryde, @11:12 4. Wenzel, @11:19 5. Schuster, @11:25 6. Julie Hudetz (Saturn), Boulder, Colo., @11:53 7. Cybil Diguistini (Canadian National), Canada, s.t. 8. Binney, @12:03 9. Giana Roberge (Saeco-Timex), Saratoga Springs, N.Y., @12:06 10. Christina Redden (Canadian National), Canada, @12:09. GP Eddy Merckx - 61 km 1. Abraham Olano (Spa) Banesto 1:09:02 2. Chris Boardman (GB) Gan at 1:19 3. Sergej Gontschar (Ukr) AKI-SAFI 2:04 4. Marc Streel (Bel) Casino 2:51 5. Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Francaise des Jeux 3:53 6. Rolf Aldag (Ger) Telekom 4:13 7. Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina 4:37 8. Peter Meinert-Nielsen (Den) US Postal 4:41 9. Johan Museeuw (Bel) Mapei-GB 4:43 10. Bert Roesems (Bel) Vlaanderen-2000 5:16


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.