Canadian Cyclist


July 9/11 10:59 am - Windham World Cup: U23 Men report and results

Posted by Editoress on 07/9/11

Kerschbaumer Cruises to Victory at Windham World Cup

Series leader Gerhard Kerschbaumer (TX Active Bianchi) continued his supremacy of the Under 23 Men's World Cup cross-country with a convincing win at the fifth round in Windham, New York. Kerschbaumer rode away from second place finisher Matthias Stirnemann (Thoemus Racing) during the fourth of the five laps to cruise home with 59 second margin of victory in a time of 1:23:24.  Third place was Sebastien Carabin (Versluys-Evenza), who was 1:36 behind the winner.

With 700 feet of climbing per lap it was a course that clearly favoured those who liked the vertical, but flat tires also played a role. With a high speed descent, sharp rocks claimed tires on Marek Konwa (tenth), and Fabien Canal (seventh).  Both were ranked in the top five overall, but had to fight back after dropping many places.

Top North American was Evan McNeely of Canada in eighth, 3:54 behind the winner. Other Canadian results included Mitch Bailey in 14th, Jeremy Martin in 18th, Leandre Bouchard in 20th. Top US rider was Stephen Ettinger in 16th place. McNeely was very pleased with his result and is looking forward to the Canadian Nationals next weekend in Canmore. “I was much better prepared this week. The climbing on this course suited me well. It's very similar to Canmore with all of the vertical. The Nationals should be a good one.”


U23 Men, 20.65 km
1 Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) TX Active Bianchi 1:23:24
2 Matthias Stirnemann (Sui) Thoemus Racing Team at 0:59
3 Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Versluys - Evenza Team 1:36
4 Ruben Scheire (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team 2:23
5 David Fletcher (GBr) British National Team 2:51
6 Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team 3:06
7 Fabien Canal (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix 3:13
8 Evan Mcneely (Can) Canadian National Team 3:54
9 Piotr Brzozka (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team 4:06
10 Marek Konwa (Pol) Milka Trek MTB Racing Team 4:16
11 Zsolt Juhasz (Hun) Euro One - Cube MTB Team 4:52
12 Andy Eyring (Ger) 5:21
13 Fabian Strecker (Ger) 5:34
14 Mitchell Bailey (Can) Canadian National Team 6:08
15 Marc Metzler (Sui) 6:39
16 Stephen Ettinger (USA) BMC Development Team 7:23
17 Kerry Werner (USA) US National Team 7:31
18 Jeremy Martin (Can) Canadian National Team 7:36
19 Erik Groen (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team 7:51
20 Leandre Bouchard (Can) Canadian National Team 7:53
21 Jack Hinkens (USA) US National Team 9:08
22 Evan Guthrie (Can) Canadian National Team 9:55
23 Thomas Sampson (USA) US National Team 10:22
24 Benjamin Buchi (Sui) 10:46
25 Tyson Wagler (Can) 10:47
26 Kenta Gallagher (GBr) 11:19
27 Seamus Powell (USA) US National Team 11:23
28 Kornel Osicki (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team 11:54
29 Pete Ostroski (USA) US National Team 11:59
30 Jared Stafford (Can) Canadian National Team 12:31
31 Diego Rosa (Ita) Giant Italia Team 13:37
32 Russell Finsterwald (USA) Subaru - Trek 14:35
33 Andrew L'esperance (Can) Canadian National Team 15:12
34 Zachary Valdez (USA) US National Team 17:05
35 Mitchell Codner (Aus) -1 Lap
36 Zachary Hughes (Can) Canadian National Team -1 Lap
37 Noah Tautfest (USA) US National Team -2 Laps
38 Rafael Escarcega Salazar (Mex) -2 Laps



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.