Canadian Cyclist


July 20/11 20:56 pm - Crankworx: Jeep Air Downhill results

Posted by Editoress on 07/20/11

Andrew Neethling and Anne Caroline Chausson win


The Jeep® Air Downhill took over the Whistler Mountain Bike Park with over 344 competitors ripping down the most famous DH course in the world, A-Line.  Brian Lopes was dethroned from his reign as king with South Africa’s Andrew Neethling taking over top spot ending Lopes’ streak of five wins in a row, scoring the fastest time of the day at 4:13.34.  

The Air DH course runs the entire length of A-Line, finishing at the base of the Whistler Mountain Bike Park with the legendary GLC Drop.  A-Line is arguably the most celebrated DH course in mountain biking, with nearly 50 jumps on the course.  A-Line is the benchmark all DH courses strive to emulate.  “Although the cold weather wasn’t ideal for the fans, the course couldn’t have been in better condition.” said Tristan Merrick, event announcer.  “The course conditions were pretty tacky.  A lot of the riders felt like their bikes were on rails.”  

“I had a really clean awesome run,” said Andrew Neethling, winner of the pro men category.  “Compliments to Lopes, I just put together a great run.”

Andrew Neethling (RSA), claimed first with a time of 4:13.34; Brian Lopes (USA) took second place with a time of 4:14.28; Mick Hannah (AUS), took third place with a time of 4:17.22.

In the Pro Women category, Anne Caroline Chausson (FRA), claimed first with a time of 4:33.16; Jill Kintner (USA) took second place with a time of 4:40.98; Sarah Leishman (CAN) took third place with a time of 4:42.48.


Pro Women
1 Anne Caroline Chausson (Fra) 4:33.16
2 Jill Kintner (USA) Transition /Red Bull 4:40.98
3 Sarah Leishman (Can) 4:42.48
4 Casey Brown (Can) 4:43.41
5 Claire Buchar (Can) Kovarik Racing 4:46.29
6 Leigh Donovan (USA) 4:46.75
7 Cierra Smith (USA) 4:48.50
8 Katrina Strand (Can) 4:48.54
9 Stephanie Nychka (Can) 4:48.35
10 Lisa Mason (Can) 4:56.55
Pro Men
1 Andrew Neethling (RSA) Giant Factory 4:13.34
2 Brian Lopes (USA) 4:14.28
3 Mick Hannah (USA) GT Bicycles 4:17.22
4 Marcel Gutierrez Villegas (Col) CG Racing Brigade 4:18.15
5 Steve Smith (Can) Devinci 4:18.20
6 Ian Morrison (Can) 4:18.24
7 Duncan Riffle (USA) Giant Factory 4:18.80
8 Curtis Keene (USA) Specialized 4:19.23
9 Mario Jarrin (Ecu) Zenith bicycles 4:19.55
10 Chris Kovarik (Aus) Kovarik Racing 4:19.78


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.