Canadian Cyclist


February 3/00 11:03 am - Euro News (catching up)

Posted by Editoress on 02/3/00

European Racing Season Begins

Frenchman Emmanuel Magnien, badly injured in a crash last year, showed he had completely recovered by winning the Grand Prix La Marseillaise, the opening race of the European road cycling season on Tuesday.

Magnien, who rides for La Francaise des Jeux, was one of four riders who had gone off the front 80 kms from the finish line of this 135.5 km one day race. He (Magnien) outsprinted his three breakaway companions, Frenchman Christophe Bassons, Estonian Laurie Aus and Belgian Kurt Van Lancker.

Magnien's season came to an abrupt end last June in the Tour of Germany when he crashed into a barrier and was run over by a motorbike. He suffered multiple fractures, including a broken knee cap, and was not able to ride again until September.

GP La Marseillaise France 1.4
Gardanne to La Seyne-sur-Mer - 135.5 km

1. Emmanuel Magnien (FRA) Francaise des Jeux 3:24:33
2. Lauri Aus (EST) Ag2r
3. Christophe Bassons (FRA) Jean Delatour both s.t.
4. Kurt Van Lancker (BEL) Lotto 0:03
5. Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Francaise des Jeux 0:56
6. Sébastien Hinault (FRA) Credit Agricole
7. Nico Mattan (BEL) Cofidis
8. Lars Michaelsen (DAN) Francaise des Jeux
9. Christophe Moreau (FRA) Festina
10. Dimitri Fofonov (KAZ) Besson all s.t.

Kirsipuu Wins Opening Stage of Etoile de Besseges

Estonian Jaan Kirsipuu took the opening 145-km stage recording his fourth stage victory in this his third successive Etoile de Besseges. Kirsipu won two stages last year and one in 1998.

Stage 1: La Ciotat to Aubagne - 145.3 km.

1. Jaan Kirsipuu (EST) AG2R 3:23:52
2. Jo Planckaert (BEL) Cofidis
3. Paul Van Hyfte (BEL) Lotto both s.t.
4. Chris Peers (BEL) Cofidis 0:04.
5. Unai Etxebarria (VEN) Euskatel 0:18.
6. Wim Feys (BEL) Palmans-Ideal 0:19.
7. Nico Mattan (BEL) Cofidis 0:25.
8. Eddy Lambo (FRA)
9. Olivier Perraudeau (FRA) Bonjour;
10. Christophe Moreau (FRA) Festina all s.t.

Kirsipuu Finishes Second but Retained Overall Lead of Etoile de Besseges

Jaan Kirsipuu finished second behind Frenchman Jean-Patrick Nazon in Thursday's second stage of the Etoile de Besseges.

The Estonian AG2R Prevoyance rider, winner of the stage 1, is nine seconds in front of Belgian Jo Planckaert of Cofidis.

After several failed solo breakaways by other riders, Nazon, of Francaise des Jeux, won the sprint at the end of the 138 km stage around Miramas.

On Friday there are 2 stages, the first 116 kms from Nimes to Fumades followed by a 34-km team time trial.

There are 6 stages altogether with the final stage on Sunday finishing in the village of Besseges.

Stage 2
1. Jean-Patrick Nazon (FRA) La Francaise des Jeux 3:13:07
2. Jaan Kirsipuu (EST) AG2R
3. Oscar Cavagnis (ITA) Alexia Alluminio
4. Fabien De Waele (BEL) Lotto
5. Paul Van Hyfte (BEL) Lotto
6. Didier Rous (FRA) Bonjour
7. Jo Planckaert (BEL) Cofidis
8. Sebastien Hinault (FRA) Credit Agricole
9. Andrei Tchmil (BEL) Lotto
10. Unai Etxebarria (VEN) Euskatel all s.t.

1. Kirsipuu 6:36:41
2. Planckaert at 0:09
3. Paul Van Hyfte (BEL) Lotto 0:12
4. Chris Peers (BEL) Cofidis 0:21
5. Etxebarria 0:36
6. Wim Feys (BEL) Palmans-Ideal 0:37
7. Zbigniew Spruch (POL) Lampre s.t.
8. Hinault 0:39
9. Cavagnis s.t.
10. Nico Mattan (BEL) Cofidis 0:40


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.