Canadian Cyclist


August 20/11 11:46 am - World Cup Val di Sole: U23 Women's XC report and results

Posted by Editoress on 08/20/11

Yana Belomoyna (Infotre-Bi & Esse - LeeCougan) took her second consecutive win in the Under 23 Women's cross-country World Cup in Val di Sole, Italy, at the World Cup Final.  Canadian national champion Mikaela Kofman (Team Canada) was the top North American in ninth.

Belomoyna has missed most of the World Cup series, but last week in Nove Mesto, Czech Republic, and now this week, she has shown that she will be a medal favourite for the world championships in less than two weeks.  The Ukrainian dropped World Cup leader Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Lapierre) early in the race to ride to a minute and a half victory over the Ferrand prevot, with Paula Gorycka (CCC Polkowice) taking third.

Ferrand Prevot easily took the overall title, with 490 points to second place Barbara Benko (Focus MIG) with 395.  Elisabeth Sveum (Merida Smart Safety) took third overall.  Kofman was the top North American, in 13th place.



U23 Women, 19.2 km
1 Yana Belomoyna (Ukr) Infotre - Bi & Esse - Leecougan 1:11:20
2 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Lapierre International at 1:31
3 Paula Gorycka (Pol) CCC Polkowice 1:45
4 Barbara Benko (Hun) Focus MIG Team 2:24
5 Helen Grobert (Ger) 3:00
6 Ekaterina Anoshina (Rus) 3:18
7 Vivienne Meyer (Sui) Colnago Farbe Sudtirol 3:37
8 Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut) Scott 4:18
9 Mikaela Kofman (Can) 3Rox Racing 4:54
10 Serena Calvetti (Ita) 5:30
11 Rebecca Henderson (Aus) 6:13
12 Lorraine Truong (Sui) 6:22
13 Samara Sheppard (NZl) 6:57
14 Sabrina Maurer (Sui) 7:30
15 Katherine O'Neill (NZl) 7:57
16 Candice Neethling (RSA) 8:07
17 Mona Eiberweiser (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team 8:10
18 Elisabeth Sveum (Nor) Team Merida Smart Safety 8:34
19 Kathrin Stirnemann (Sui) Central Haibike Pro Team 8:50
20 Marta Tereshchuk (Ukr) Infotre - Bi & Esse - Leecougan 9:22
21 Michelle Hediger (Sui) Fischer - BMC 9:27
22 Rebecca Beaumont (Can) Team Canada 10:12
23 Mariske Strauss (RSA) 10:29
24 Rozanne Slik (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team 11:24
25 Laura Valentina Abril Restrepo (Col) 11:52
26 Hana Jezkova (Cze) GT Czech Team 12:05
27 Nicole Hanselmann (Sui) 12:42
28 Tanja Starkermann (Sui) Fischer Junior MTB Team 13:06
29 Cornelia Schuster (Ita) 14:12
30 Michaela Malarikova (Svk) -1 Lap
31 Marta Pastore (Ita) Team CBE Tecnoimpianti A.S.D. -2 laps
DNF Caitlin de Wet (RSA)
DNF Anna Oberparleiter (Ita) Infotre - Bi & Esse - Leecougan
DNF Daniela Rojas (Chi)

Final Overall standings


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.