Canadian Cyclist


September 24/11 20:40 pm - US Gran Prix of Cyclocross: Planet Bike Cup: Men's results, Kabush 9th

Posted by Editoress on 09/24/11

US Gran Prix of Cyclocross: Planet Bike Cup in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin


The 2011 Exergy US Gran Prix of Cyclocross p/b Greenware® launched out of the blocks today with a full day of racing capped off by two stellar Elite races that offered several clues of what to expect for the rest of the season.

In the Elite Men's Race the consensus was the Rapha-Focus rider Jeremy Powers would take the Avid Shorty Ultimate Holeshot and he did not disappoint - but it was a battle with Telenet-Fidea rider and multi-time World Champion, Bart Wellens hard on his heels.

Powers, Rob Peeters, and Ryan Trebon form the lead group early on, with a chase that included Wellens, Driscoll, and Johnson.

As Powers and Trebon start to pull away, Peters was dropped while Wellens found his legs and came out of the chase group, forming the lead group of the day along with Powers and Trebon.

Powers, bunny hopping and riding the STANLY run up lap after lap, bobbled with one lap to go and lost a few crucial seconds that he would never reclaim. Trebon and Wellens surged up the road with Trebon throwing down a hard attack before the final run-up. Wellens couldn't match the lanky rider's power and Trebon soloed in to win ahead of the hard chasing Belgian.


1 Ryan Trebon (USA) LTS-Felt 0:58:59
2 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team at s.t.
3 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha/focus 0:22
4 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:39
5 James Driscoll (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:40
6 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:59
7 Ben Berden (Bel) Ops Ale-Clement
8 Christian Heule (Sui) Cannondale p/b
9 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis / Rocky Mountain all s.t.
10 Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder / Clif Bar 2:01
11 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike/blue Bicycles
12 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar both s.t.
13 Mark Batty (Can) Spidertech p/by C10 2:34
14 Bradley White (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team 2:47
15 Mitchell Hoke (USA) Team Clif Bar 3:00
16 Todd Wells (USA) 3:03
17 Yannick Eckmann (Ger) Pearlizumi/shimano s.t.
18 Adam Morka (Can) Trek Canada 3:22
19 Sean Babcock (USA) Kona s.t.
20 Ryan Knapp (USA) Bob’s Red Mill Cyclocross 3:27
21 Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/specialized
22 Russell Stevenson (USA) Raleigh both s.t.
23 Jacob Lasley (USA) Team Soundpony 4:13
24 Jake Wells (USA) Stan’s Notubes Elite Cyclocross s.t.
25 Tristan Schouten (USA) Iscorp 4:40
26 Mitchell Kersting (USA) Schellers s.t.
27 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona 4:55
28 Travis Woodruff (USA) Trek-Boulder/momentumendurance. 4:57
29 Tim Allen (USA)
30 Corey Stelljes (USA) Willy Bikes both s.t.
31 Nicholas Weighall (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized 5:12
32 Molly Cameron (USA) Metafilter-Portland Bicycle
33 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha/focus
34 Kevin McConnell (USA) Mercy-Specialized
35 Brad Cole (USA) Mercy Elite Cycling Team
36 Justin Robinson (USA) Cal Giant / Specialized
37 Andrew Reardon (USA) Bob’s Red Mill Cyclocross
38 Zoltan Tisza (HUN) Champion System Racing
39 Bryan Fawley (USA) Orbea USA
40 Kevin Fish (USA) Kccx/fuji By Challenge Tire
41 Scott McLaughlin (USA) SRAM
42 Eric Wondergem (USA) Hup United
43 Mike Sherer (USA) The Pony Shop
44 Isaac Neff (USA)
45 Mark Parmelee (USA) Cycletherapy
46 Peter Glassford (Can) Trek Canada
47 Chad Hartley (USA) Kenda Pro Cycling p/b Geargrinder
48 Michael Hemme (USA)
49 Josh Johnson (USA)
50 Adam Mills (USA)
51 Dallas Fowler (USA) Kuhl Midwest
52 William Butcher (USA) Team Magnus
53 Jay Strothman (USA) Rokkit Racing
54 Kyle Jacobson (USA) Iscorp/nova Cycle Sport
55 Jeremiah Gantzer (USA) Double I Cycling Experience
56 Daniel Gerow (USA) Wolverines/
57 Spencer Haugh (USA) Behind Bars/lgr
58 Lee Unwin (USA) Specialized/cycleops
59 Chris Mackay (USA)
DNF Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) DCM-GB Vorselaar
DNF Steve Tilford (USA) Tradewind Energy/eriksen Cycles
DNF Thomson Remo (USA) Team Wheel & Sprocket
DNF Joseph Schmalz (USA) KCXX
DNF Johnny Sundt (USA)
DNF Michael James (USA) Attitude Sports
DNF Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha/focus
DNF Brady Kappius (USA) Team Clif Bar
DNF Bill Street (USA) Kuhl Midwest Regional MB Team



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.