Canadian Cyclist


September 26/11 11:44 am - Saskatchewan Cycling Association Awards 2011 Achievers at AGM

Posted by Editoress on 09/26/11

The Saskatchewan Cycling Association awarded trophies to its top achievers during its annual general meeting held on Sunday, September 25th.

Joshua (Josh) Kropf, of Caron, won the Wotton Bowl, awarded for outstanding achievement in road or track racing during the past twelve months.

Kropf, a first-year Cadet (15 years old) racer, has been a solid leader, consistently competing in Midweek club races with top 5 results throughout the season. In provincial races, he placed in top spots in Category 4 races

Cory Zetterstrom, of Saskatoon, won Mountain Bike Top Rider of the Year, given for outstanding achievement in Mountain Bike Racing during the past twelve months.

For most athletes, a broken femur would signify the end of their season and potentially a long road of recovery before re-finding their lost form.  For Zetterstrom a broken femur in early June represented a challenge.  By combining his knowledge of kinesiology with sheer determination (and a lot of pain tolerance) Zetterstrom was on the trails just days after his surgeon said he would be allowed to walk.  He was back racing in the provincial series at the nine-week mark.  He finished 1st in the Elite men's provincial race and 1st overall in the Elite category for points, a remarkable comeback.

Brad Clifford, of Regina, won the Ken Wilson Achievement Award, presented in memory of Ken Wilson, in recognition of his extensive service to the Saskatchewan Cycling Association..

Clifford had signed on with the H&R Block pro team in the spring, coached by Housang Amri. He was named to Canada's National Team and raced in Belgium. In addition, Clifford has become a strong mountain bike racer, reaching second place in the Elite category at the provincial mountain bike races in (month?). In other races, Clifford placed: 2nd at Road Nationals in U23 Criterium and won the Provincial 15K  Time Trial

Joe Gomes, of Regina, won the Cycling Mileage Achievement Program (CMAP) Trophy, having logged 12,146 kilometres of cycling in the past 12 months, the most of any SCA member who kept track of their eligible distances.

Peter Steckhan, of Saskatoon, received Outstanding Volunteer in the Road Sector, awarded for outstanding contribution in the Road Racing, Track or Cyclo-Cross sector.

Steckhan has been a long-time member of Saskatoon's Cycledelia road race club, but in recent years has taken on a leadership role in both the club and the Saskatchewan Cycling Association. He has committed many hours' local and provincial events, as a racer, an organizer and a spectator. His membership on the provincial board of directors helped cycling's Technical Committee become more efficient and effective.

Brad Turk, of Saskatoon, won the Cameco Volunteer Award, for outstanding volunteer contribution in the Mountain Bike sector.

Turk, described as "amazing, tireless and good natured", is responsible for organizing the IMBA trail building course, creating several new trails at Blackstrap Provincial Park and fostering a working relationship with the Park staff that permits the Northern Bush Rastas and Bruce's Cycle Works clubs to increase the number of trails that exist in that park.  Riders of all abilities are discovering the beauty that the park has to offer and just recently the running clubs in Saskatoon have started looking to Blackstrap as a place to hold trail running events.  Thanks to Turk, the future of a multi-use trail system at Blackstrap looks bright.

Wayne Walker, of Saskatoon, received the President's Award, recognizing outstanding volunteer contribution toward the overall development or progress of the SCA and can only be received once in a life time. This contribution may include development of a club, sector, committee, event, athlete or team.

Walker is described as "a fantastic volunteer for our association." His first entry to the sport was in 1997 when his son Matt started to race mountain bikes.  He then took the mountain bike and road provincial officials courses in 2001. He joined the Development Committee as the Chief Mountain Bike Commissarie in September of 2002, a position he held until Sept 2005, when he was elected president of the Saskatchewan Cycling Association, a position he held through 2009.

Among Walker's contributions to the SCA:

•  official at the 2004 Sask Summer Games in Weyburn
•  took the National level mountain bike course in 2005
•  official at the 2005 Canada Games in Regina
•  official at the 2007 Western Canada Games in Edmonton
•  official at the 2008 Sask Summer Games in Lloydminister
•  chiefing mountain bike races and road races since 2001
•  organized Bikes on Broadway
•  attended out of province races as team manager
•  attended 4 Canadian Cycling Association AGMs
•  is a facilitator for the provincial mountain officials course

The Saskatchewan Cycling Association awarded five-year plaques to six members, in recognition of long-term volunteer service. Awards are presented for 5, 10 and 15 years of service on the SCA Board of Directors or the SCA Committees. On Sunday, plaques were awarded to:

•  Jason Christbason, Regina
•  Don Cook, Saskatoon
•  Mike Horn, Prince Albert
•  Jim Large, Moose Jaw
•  Pete L'Heureux, Swift Current
•  Peter Steckhan, Saskatoon

Additional at the Annual General meeting, the membership voted to change the SCA's Annual meeting from September to April.

Courtesy Denise Eberle, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Cycling Association


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.