Canadian Cyclist


September 7/97 5:32 am - World Cup, Avenir, Vuelta

Posted by Editor on 09/7/97

You will probably have seen the results of the World Cup final earlier, but to recap: Alison Sydor finished second in the race and the overall standings to Italian Paola Pezzo. Lesley Tomlinson finished 9th in the race (6th overall), Chrissy Redden 14th (10th) Trish Sinclair 20th (no overall at this time) and Melanie McQuaid 27th (17th). We will give complete listings of all Canadians when we are back in the office on Monday. Tomorrow (Sunday) is the men‚s final. We are on the road from L.A. for much of the day, so we may not get a chance to post results until quite late. Tour de l‚Avenir Stage 2, Vannes Cholet, 195 kms: From Australian team management - Well we got our bunch sprint today but Jay Sweet was squeezed against the barriers and had to back out or fall. They rode well together to put Jay in the position to win. The overall situation changed very little. We'll try again tomorrow. 1 DE JONGH Steven NED TVM 4.19.49 2 HUNT Jérémy GBR GRANDEBRETAGNE 3 HONDO Danilo GER AGRO ADLER BRANDENBURG 4 PERRAUDEAU Olivier FRA VENDEE U 5 NAZON Damien FRA LA FRANCAISE DES JEUX 6 VAN FRACHEM Jarno BEL VLAANDEREN 2002 7 JALABERT Nicolas FRA COFIDIS 8 VAN DIJK Stefan NED PAYSBAS 9 WROLICH Peter AUT AUTRICHE 10 HATTON Sébastien FRA BIG MAT 74 WALTERS Mark CAN CANADA 95 BERNARD Alexandre CAN CANADA 113 HENDERSON Rodney CAN CANADA s.t. 134 BELZILE Guillaume CAN CANADA 1:04 136 RANDELL Andrew CAN CANADA 3:17 139 MORISSETTE Sébastien CAN CANADA 8:57 Vuelta a Espana (Tour of Spain) Stage 1, Lisbon - Estoril, 155.7 kms: 1. MICHAELSEN, Lars DEN TVM 4:01:32 2. CHIAPPUCCI,Claudio ITA ASICS - CGA 3. JALABERT, Laurent FRA ONCE 4. GUIDI, Fabrizio ITA SCRIGNO - GAERNE 5. BETTIN, Mauro ITA REFIN - MOBILVETTA 6. PETITO, Roberto ITA SAECO 7. FONDRIEST,Maurizio ITA COFIDIS 8. MAZZOLENI, Eddy ITA SAECO 9. GENTILI, M. ITA CANTINA TOLLO 10. OLANO, Abraham ESP BANESTO all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.