Canadian Cyclist


October 4/11 13:35 pm - Vanier Park Cyclocross: Report and Results

Posted by Editoress on 10/4/11

Local Ride Bike Shop Cycling Team on Podium in BC Cup Race

Great showing for Local Ride Racing at Vanier Park Cyclocross Event on October 2nd in Maple Ridge, BC

The Maple Ridge based Local Ride Racing Team presented by Local Ride Bike Shop had a fantastic showing at the BC Cup Cyclocross #2 race at Vancouver’s Vanier Park yesterday.

Local Ride Bike Shop Owner Barry Lyster’s daughter, Maggie Coles-Lyster, 12, of Maple Ridge finished first in the U17 women’s race, while U17 men’s rider Pete Whalen of Pitt Meadows took second place in his category.

Other podium results for Local Ride Racing include Brett Wakefield’s (Maple Ridge) second place in the Cat 3/4 men’s competition after a fierce battle to the finish, and Sandra Walter’s (Coquitlam) second place in the Elite Women’s race behind XPREZO-BORSAO Team rider and winner Jean Ann Berkenpas of Maple Ridge. Local Ride’s Jenny Lehmann (Vancouver) finished fifth. The squad’s Paul Craig (Pitt Meadows), Andrew Kerr (Pitt Meadows), Steve Devantier (Pitt Meadows), and Mike Berkenpas (Maple Ridge) missed the podium, but put in solid efforts in their respective races.

Local Ride Racing is in good form as the squad’s hometown race approaches. Pumpkin Cross presented by Local Ride Bike Shop will haunt the Maple Ridge Equi-Sport Centre on October 23 with a Halloween-themed race BC Cup Cyclocross Series race.

Organizers of Pumpkin Cross have always encouraged participants to dress up, even enticing competitors with a cash bonus if they can win their race in costume and a prize for overall best costume.

There’s a category for everyone from beginner to elite – Pumpkin Cross even offers a free kid’s race and a $10 race entry for youth Under 17.

Report Courtesy Local Ride Bike Shop/Team

Open Women
1 Jean Ann Berkenpas (XPREZO-BORSAO)
2 Sandra Walter (Local Ride Racing)
3 Kelly Jones
4 Leah Guloien
5 Jenny Lehmann (Local Ride Racing)

1/2 Men
1 Tyler Trace
2 Andrew Pinfold
3 Kevin Noiles
4 Kevin Calhoun
5 Evan Guthrie

Citizen Women
1 Talita Almeida
2 Allison Harriman
3 Amy Soori-Roth

U17 Men
1 Carsten Lapointe
2 Peter Whalen

U17 Women
1 Maggie Coles-Lyster

Cat 3/4 Men
1 Trevor Pearson
2 Brett Wakefield
3 Nigel Kinney

Citizen Men
1 Dylan Doubt
2 Troy Neale
3 Scott Wheeler
4 Stephen Ptucha

Master Men 3/4
1 Simon Pulfrey
2 John Irvine
3 Josh Weiss

Master Women
1 Kelly Wilcox
2 Heather King
3 Barb Zimich
4 Lesley Trivett

Master Men 1/2
1 Bob Welbourn
2 Kim Steed
3 Brad Collins
4 David Kvick
5 Jeff Cummings

Full results


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.