Canadian Cyclist


November 16/11 14:45 pm - South Surry Cyclo-cross, BC Cup #5 report, results and photos

Posted by Editoress on 11/16/11

South Surry Cyclo-cross, BC Cup #5 held in Surry, BC on November 12th

Hypothermia!!!!  Happily, not a single racer went home with this as a prize on Saturday. With a forcast that called for both wind, rain, sleet and more obviously, bitter cold, we had a wonderous BC Cup #5 at the South Surrey bike park. One hundred and six racers graced the course with excellent results, and awesome prizes. Tiny bags of campfire were provided by Poler Stuff to ensure full functioning fingers.

The first race of the day was our 10:30 start: Cat 3-4 Men, Citizen Men, and Citizen Women. As the rain had yet to start, the racers contended simply with the strong headwind off the road start. This year's course featured more switchbacks, a flyover at the new SCORE park and a challenging run through the rhythm section of the bike park. The Cat ¾ race provided early action, with the group switching leaders and chase for the first 3 laps. The Citizen racers were not far behind. Cat 3-4 contenders Matt Hornland (Mighty), Brett Wakefield (Local Ride), Jacob Hartsoch (BFF), Paul McCloskey (Mighty) and David Morrissey (Escape Velocity) were the top 5, with top Citizen Men Rob Parkin, Garry Bone, Andrew Touvinen, James Ingham and Brian Reguly  and our three Citizen Women, Danielle Stevens, June Rosemary and Donna-Marie Tarver getting some R&B Beers and Rocanini Coffee. Our Mens U17 riders shredded as well, with Carsten Lapointe (Zimich Coaching) coming in F ahead of Pete Whalen (Local Ride) – they didn’t get beer.

Master 3-4 Men took to the course with the largest field of the day, as well as the first of the freezing rain. Thirty-one racers battled on the slippery course while Matt Barber and Nick Berry added color commentary and hot-dog handups. Our top five were James Cameron (Pro City), Simon Pulfrey, John Irvine (HR Block), Tyler Dumont (Physiomoves) and David Newbeck – top 3 took home some great stuff from Genuine Innovations, Lezyne, CatEye and RaceFace. Not to mention the beer and coffee.

Open and Master Women were battling it out as well during the 12 o’clock callup, with a bit smaller field. Open Women finished with a top 3 of  Jean-Ann Berkenpas (Xprezo), Sandra Walter (Local Ride) and Joele Guynup (Condo/Marin Bikes) and our Women’s Masters came in with Glenowyn Carlson (Team Alliance) taking first and Barbara Zimich down 1 lap. Gore and Brodie provided additional prizes!
Our final event, Master 1-2 and Elite 1-2 came up as the rain was at its worst – 60 minutes of suffering at the hands of mother nature and Jeff Hanninen’s wicked course design.

The Master 1-2's had an impressive field of 15, with the usual suspects commanding attention as they tore apart the course. In the top 5 you could see most of the BC Cup leaders vying for those all-important points. In order of finish: Bob Welbourn (Cannondale/CX West), Kim Steed (Steed Cycles), Derek Shiers, David Kvick (Rocky Mountain/Different Bikes), Jascon Fluckiger (Daryl Evans).

A smaller field, 5 elites started ahead of the Masters, with Kevin Noiles (Sportique) taking the Cima Coppi handmade arm warmers as a holeshot prize; Kevin Calhoun (Rocky Mountain) looked strong, though he had to be 'tired' from bringing all the amazing swag from Cycles Lambert to the race for our winners. As the course wore on, Drew MacKenzie was steady but succumbed to the effects of a running race the day before (I swear running is bad for you), though he’s got bigger designs on SSCXWC San Fran. Sven Sturm (TREK Red Truck) kept the smile on, with Mike Berkenpas (Local Ride) looking large and in charge on the rhythm section. Noiles took the day with a powerful showing, Sturm coming second and Berkenpas coming in 3rd.
The day ended with some BBQ servings from Nick Berry, and the Brodie Romax frame/fork drawprize going to Brent Hambleton.

Thank you again to everyone that came out, to the volunteers from Darly-Evans and Mighty Riders and we hope to see you out at CX Provincials Nov 27th, as well as the BC Cup Finals on December 3rd

Courtesy organizer


Photos by Doug Brons

Daryl-Evans Flikr


Full Results


Open Women
1 Jean Ann Berkenpas (Xprezo)
2 Sandra Walter (Local Ride Racing)
3 Joele  Guynup (Condo Group/Marin)
4 Nicola Mann
5 Beth  Hartsoch
6 Kelly  Jones (NS Sports Med/ Cannondale)

Elite Men
1 Kevin Noiles (Sportique)
2 Sven Sturm (TREK Red Truck)
3 Mike Berkenpas (Local Ride)
DNF Kevin Calhoun (Rocky Mountain)
DNF Drew MacKenzie

Master 1-2 Men
1 Bob  Welbourn (Cannondale CX West)
2 Kim  Steed (Steed Cycles)
3 Derek Shiers
4 David  Kvick (Rocky Mtn/Different Bikes)
5 Jason  Fluckiger (Daryl-Evans)
6 Guy Ridler (Simon's)
7 Chris Sayers (Pacific Multi-Sport)
8 Clayton Sansbury (HR Block)
9 Brent  Hambleton (Cannondale CX West)
10 Dave  Cressman (Cannondale CX West)
11 Mike Murphey (Steed Cycles)
12 Matt  Drown (Daryl-Evans)
DNF Joe  Wessel (KCU)
DNF James  Birkenbuel
DNF Colin  Campbell (Escape Velocity)
DNF Brad  Collins (Cannondale/BSP)

Master Women
1 Carlson Glenowyn (Team Alliance)
2 Barbara Zimich (Performance Coaching) -1 lap

Master 3/4 Men
1 James Cameron (Pro City Racing)
2 Simon Pulfrey
3 John Irvine (HR Block)
4 Tyler  Dumont (Physiomoves)
5 David  Newbeck
6 Mark  Oldenburg (Evolve Cycling)
7 Josh  Weiss (Daryl-Evans)
8 Ian  Hoffman
9 Niels Steiner (Free Agent)
10 Kalle  Karu
11 Ryan Newsome
12 Jason Rhodes
13 Darrin  Grund (Glotman Simpson)
14 Ryan Rickerts (Jack's Bicycles)
15 Robert Church (Glotman Simpson)
16 Jay  Loder (Mighty Riders)
17 Brian Wong (Glotman Simpson)
18 Jeff  Hanninen (Daryl-Evans)
19 Conrad Winters (Ballistic Velo)
20 Michael Dolling
21 James Beiler
22 Chiron Kantakis (Escape Velocity)
23 Ray  Lachance (West Coast Racing)
24 Tobin Copley (Escape Velocity)
25 Matt Kennedy
26 Paul  Craig (Local Ride Racing)
27 Ryan  Cousineau (Escape Velocity)
28 Kevin  Woods
29 Alex  Cojocaru  -1 Lap
30 Brian  Gunn  -1 Lap
DNF Eric Stromerson

3/4 Men
1 Matt  Hornland (Mighty Riders)
2 Brett Wakefield (Local Ride)
3 Jacob Hartsoch (BFF)
4 Paul  McCloskey (Mighty Riders)
5 David Morrissey (Escape Velocity)
6 Quentin Emerian
7 Roland Rabien (Tripleshot)
8 Richard Machhein (Local Ride)
9 Dylan Doubt
10 Dave Collins
11 Lucas  Gallagher
12 Ashley  Stotts (Mighty Riders)
13 Kurt  Withers
14 Dan Spry (Escape Velocity)
15 Andrei Tchourakou (Westwood) -1 lap

U17 Men
1 Cartsen Lapointe (Zimich Coaching)
2 Peter Whalen (Local Ride Racing)

Citizen Women
1 Danielle Stevens (Pro City Racing)
2 June Rosmary
3 Donna Marie Tarver

Citizen Men
1 Rob Parkin (Trek)
2 Garry Bone
3 Andrew Touvinen
4 James Ingham (Performance)
5 Brian Reguly
6 Robert de Rot (Ballistic Velo)
7 Troy Neale
8 Dustan Sept
9 Meshkat Javid (Mighty Riders)
10 Andrew Summers (Brodie)
11 Piers Cunnington
12 Andrew Appleton
13 James Davidson (Daryl-Evans)
14 Jamie Johnson
15 Raphael Fong
16 Marne Jackson
17 Brent Fahl (Boundary Bay) -1 Lap
18 Glen Reitsma (Velocity Cycling) -1 Lap
19 Matt Mcqueen  -1 Lap
20 Doug Brons (Escape Velocity) -1 Lap
21 Geoff Wherrett  -1 Lap
22 Drew Rickard (Ballistic Velo) -1 Lap
23 Audey Korpus  -1 Lap
24 Mike Pearson (Team Coastal) -1 Lap
25 Jonathan Stibbs (Daryl-Evans) -1 Lap
26 Jason Orlik  -1 Lap


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.