Canadian Cyclist


November 18/11 9:09 am - Garmin-Cervelo Unveils 2012 Team

Posted by Editoress on 11/18/11

Team Garmin-Cervélo went back to its roots for the unveiling of its 2012 roster with a gala team presentation in Boulder, Colorado. Hundreds of fans packed the Boulder Theater to meet the newest additions to the team and celebrate many argyle veterans.  Canada's Ryder Hesjedal returns to the squad.

The goals for 2012 continue to derive from the ethos of the organization, that of team achievement over that of the individual. This philosophy saw the team reach new heights in 2011, from the Classics to the Grand Tours and beyond.

"We had our strongest season in the history of the team in 2011, and we’ll be looking to build on that success in 2012," said Jonathan Vaughters, CEO, Slipstream Sports.

"Our roster has an outstanding mix of new and returning riders, with both veteran and young talent excelling in all disciplines of the sport. This will allow us to continue to do what we do best, win as a team."

The team is once again highlighted by sprint sensation Tyler Farrar who this year became the second American to win a stage in all three Grand Tours; David Millar, one of the team's founding members and an exceptional time trialist; general classification phenomenon Dan Martin; and team leader Christian Vande Velde.

Also returning to the team is Paris-Roubaix champion Johan Vansummeren, Tour de France top-ten Tom Danielson and current US Professional time trial champion David Zabriskie.

Slipstream Sports is dedicated to developing the next generation of cycling champions. As such Alex Howes, Raymond Kreder and Jacob Rathe are all moving up from Team Chipotle, the organization's Continental development squad. Peter Stetina, a graduate of the program, returns for another year while neo-pro signings Jack Bauer and Nathan Haas continue the development tradition.

Veteran additions to the team include Koldo Fernandez, Fabian Wegmann and Sebastien Rosseler, while the return of Robby Hunter will give a boost to the team's lead-out train.

2012 Team Garmin-Cervélo Pro Men:

Jack Bauer
Tom Danielson
Thomas Dekker
Tyler Farrar
Koldo Fernandez
Murilo Fischer
Nathan Haas
Heinrich Haussler
Ryder Hesjedal
Alex Howes
Robby Hunter
Andreas Klier
Michel Kreder
Raymond Kreder
Christophe Le-Mevel
Martijn Maaskant
Dan Martin
David Millar
Ramunas Navardauskas
Tom Peterson
Jacob Rathe
Alex Rasmussen
Sebastien Rosseler
Peter Stetina
Andrew Talansky
Christian Vande Velde
Sep Vanmarcke
Johan Vansummeren
Fabian Wegmann
David Zabriskie

Johnny Weltz
Bingen Fernandez
Eric VanLancker
Geert Van Bondt
Charly Wegelieus

Director of Competition:
Allan Peiper


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.